Rewrites are feeling good

As a writer, I struggle with my ego and my desire to be published. It’s hard to know what criticism to accept and run with and what to hear but decide not to implement. Anyway, I finished revamping the entire book The Curse of the Radcliffe Rubies. It is now down to 92,450 words. From a record 104,000 in November. My goal was 95K. So I am thrilled to have a shorter more palatable novel in terms of word count. I am excited to have improved my editing skills to the point where I could zero in on all the 12K words that were not needed. I think I cut 3-5 scenes at most. Mostly it was about finding repetition and redundancies and clearing them out.

As I was making the last of the edits, I got excited to see how the story wrapped up.  I outlined and wrote and rewrote this story 300 times. So I know it by heart. But on every rewrite, I change it. So I wasn’t quite sure how it would wrap up. I have to say, I think my writing is improving with each version. What I wrote in 2006 and 2008 was unpublishable. But I didn’t see it at the time. Hindsight. Probably the most useless tool we have. It’s like not being able to smell smoke until the fire encircles you. Yeah, that’s helpful.

But by pushing forward and refusing to give up on the story, I think I have told a much better story. I loved the plot and the characters from day one. It was just a matter of getting my writing skills to a level where they could do justice to it. I think I am fast approaching that point. At least, I hope I am. I’ve gotten great advice from some stellar agents and I’ve run with it. (Hopefully, in the right direction.) I’ve got a one day seminar in April and a 3 day writer’s conference in May. Those will be the testing ground, I guess.

But for now, I want to take a moment and bask in the fact that I finished all my edits to the entire novel. It feels pretty freaking awesome to hit that milestone.

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Rewrites are feeling good

  1. Gerard says:

    Not being a writer, I really never thought about how much work goes into writing a novel. I read a good book and move on to another one, without thinking about the energy and committment it takes to develop characters, plot, and overall tone, and then refine it into a readable, marketable product. I wish you all the best. So far, I really like what you’ve posted.

    • Thanks! I was a bookworm all my life, but until you sit down to write one, you never appreciate what the writer goes through. Because all you see if the polished finished product. When I decided to write a novel I had no idea what I was in for! But it’s been a fun, exciting, frustrating, hair pulling journey. And even when I think the book is finished, there are more revisions on the horizon when I get an agent and finally an editor. Thanks for following the blog and I’m really glad you like it. 🙂

  2. berry says:

    You have put your heart and soul into this novel from what you say here. Hope you have success and look forward to reading more of it.

    • Thanks! I have poured a lot of energy and emotion into the novel. At times it’s a bit tiring, but it’s always worth it to me. I’ll post another excerpt on my website soon. 🙂

  3. Emily says:

    Just came across your web site. It looks real interesting. I’ll keep checking back to see when you post more of your writings. I like your blog.

    • Thanks! My web designer will be happy to hear it. He put so much effort into crafting it, putting up with all my requests and questions since I know very little about web page design. Please do check back. There is more to come. Thanks. It’s really fun to write it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

