Lady Gaga Telephone Video

Just caught the new Gaga video Telephone. I know I’m way behind. I think that woman is uber talented. I didn’t want to miss a second of her onscreen antics and couldn’t eat my dinner until it ended. She is such a visual artist. I am so glad she came along because she really sparkles. Whatever she’s doing, she’s doing it her way and I really respect that.

I read online how India Arie was saying the video is socially irresponsible. Art is not supposed to be socially responsible. And if it is, where do you draw the line? Because it has to be across the board. So all those rapper and hip hop videos that display women as meat and sex objects must be done away with as well. To me, they send a far worse message than this video does. Watching the video, it felt like a parody of oversexed movies. We’ve seen these scenes before in movies and on television. She has just put them together in such a way that you can’t help but react. To me, that is what art is supposed to do. Make you think. Stir you up inside. Make you question things. Poke fun at society.

From where I’m sitting, that is what Gaga does and she does it amazingly well. Here’s a great article on all the symbolism and influences on the video. Whether you like her, hate her, approve or disapprove, she has got you thinking and feeling. To me, that is what life is all about. So thank you Lady Gaga for stirring things up.

This entry was posted in Ramblings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lady Gaga Telephone Video

  1. berry says:

    Not a big fan. But she does bring some pizazz to a somewhat boring industry of late. Everyone sounds the same. She is the Madonna of 2010. Great political essay contained in your comment.

Leave a Reply

