truth

Has anyone ever refused to believe what you said, despite the fact that you had proof? As if by sheer force of will they could change things. It’s impressive. It’s also rather ridiculous.

I can decide the sky is black and refuse to believe anything to the contrary, but it doesn’t mean the sky is black. It just means I refuse to see the truth. Ah, there I go. Boiling it down and making it black and white. If I said you yelled and you said you didn’t, whose view do we trust? If I say you were mean and you say you were insensitive, who’s right? If I tell you something didn’t happen and I can prove it didn’t happen, you should believe me? But you won’t always. Ego gets in the way. Personality clouds perception.  Sometimes, the truth is not something we are willing to face.

Even as I write the word, I giggle. Because I know my truth or my perception of the truth about most things. But is there a 100% incontrovertible truth? They always say there is his side, her side and the truth. Can any of us really get at the truth? Or do all the trappings of being human make it impossible?

This entry was posted in Ramblings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to truth

  1. Gerard says:

    It is amazing how two people can witness the same incident, yet have a cpmpletely different perspective on what occurred. Many times it depends on vantage point, but it might also depend on preconceived notions that even they might not know they have. We all see things through different colored glasses…and the truth in many situations is fleeting. In personal relationships, many additional factors come into play. I guess that’s what keeps like interesting and at the same time frustrating. There are times when the truth in 100% incontrovertible…at least to some people. 🙂

    • Nice way of putting it. 🙂 Yeah, personal relationships are definitely the most difficult arena to find truth in. Emotions heighten and blur things. Definitely a ton of factors at play there.

  2. berry says:

    Truth is relative. The saying truth will set you free is bs. It only gets in the way. Sure tell your best friend she’s getting fat. Or tell a pal he’s going bald. That will surely set you free of them for life. Human nature means people believe what they want to. Yes, they even lie. And the bottom line is the truth always hurts.

    • It’s funny cause everytime the doctor tells me to lose weight, I get upset. But I know I need to. This year when she says it I’m going to smile and agree. Because she is absolutely right.

  3. Emma says:

    A very interesting post and perfect for a little discussion 🙂

    Well, I have to say that I totally agree with Gerard, I couldn’t have said it any better.

    Admittedly, different opinions and views can be frustrating–especially when it comes to relationships–but isn’t that the beauty of life that we all see things differently. I mean, wouldn’t it be boring if we all just had one perception of reality? If there were only one invariable truth? If there were nothing to differ over?

    Like Pablo Picasso once said “If there were only one truth, you couldn’t paint a hundred canvases on the same theme” and that’s what makes life so beautiful, especially for those who see it from the artistic point of view.

    • Well put Emma! Almost makes me glad that there are disputes over what happened. There definitely is that Ah Ha moment when you get where someone else is coming from, especially if they matter to you. i guess though a part of me likes to be right or do the right thing. And in order for that to happen, there has to be a universal truth that doesn’t vary. Though I guess I have to settle for being right based on my own perceptions of things. 🙂

Leave a Reply

