Abbey Cooper: Psychic Eye

Victoria Laurie’s Psychic Eye series is off to a great start with me. I’m a bit behind but I’m a fast reader. Besides, I love having several books ahead of me to look forward to. The first book, Abbey Cooper: Psychic Eye, is a total page turner that kept me on the edge of my seat. I picked up the other books in the series and am awaiting their arrival from Amazon.

Abbey’s the kind of protagonist I like. She’s got a complicated relationship with her family (even her beloved sister), she’s taken some hits in life and keeps going, and she’s got a great sense of humor. Her struggle to pay bills and renovate her newly purchased fixer upper house are the perfect foil to her profession as a psychic. Something grounding in a very ungrounded life. She tries her hand at online dating and brings a yummie man into her life…again with some unexpected complications. Nothing’s easy, even for a psychic and I think that’s what makes her so  likeable.

The mystery is very well written and I broke my rule about only reading on the subway. (So the rule is: Read other authors on the subway, work on my novels at home). I ended up finishing her book a couple nights ago.  I also picked up her ghost hunter series and I plan to read them too.

The mystery itself had a nice amount of twists and revelations that kept me wondering who the killer was and how he might strike again. I don’t want to give too much away, but definitely worth checking out if you’re into paranormal mysteries.

As a side note, I thought it was very cool that Victoria Laurie is a psychic intuitive herself and modeled Abbey after parts of herself.  It leant an authentic feel to the entire story.

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Abbey Cooper: Psychic Eye

  1. berry says:

    Would like to read it myself. I love mystery stories. You have been quiet for a few days. Missed your blog. It’s part of my daily routine now.. I need to read it like I do my paper. Thanks for your insights and thoughts. Makes one think.

    • Mysteries are my favorite genre. I devour them. Sorry, I took Thursday off from blogging this week and decided to do a Saturday post instead. I try to do 5 posts a week. Sorry for messing up your daily routine. 🙂 Glad you enjoy the posts.

Leave a Reply

