Night of the Living Deed–book review

Today I had a bunch of appointments, which meant lots of waiting…and I got to finish E.J. Copperman’s Night of the Living Deed! This is the first book in “a haunted guesthouse mystery” series. People, I read this book in 2 days. This is super fast for me. Normally, it’s a book a week in my spare time. So that means–it’s really good!

The plot is well executed and clues are carefully laid out throughout. I’m starting to think I am not so good at solving mysteries though because I couldn’t figure it out until it all played out. 🙂

The characters are quirky and lovable. Even the contentious ghost Maxie has redeeming qualities (which you won’t see until the end).  The single mom renovating the house is a great protagonist and I enjoyed seeing everything through her eyes. I love love love the ghost aspect of the story. And the dynamics between the characters–they play off each other beautifully.

The setting–Jersey Shore sans Snooki–is perfect for the book.

The blurbs on the book are completely on target. This is a great tale. I skipped watching TV to finish it tonight.

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Night of the Living Deed–book review

  1. berry says:

    Is reading that good. You make each book sound great. You should market your book that way. I just don’t like to read. Probably missing out on a lot. I’ll just read your blogs and the summary of each book and that will feel like I read it. Cool beans.

    • I do love reading. Picturing it all unfolding in my mind is such a stress reliever. I try not to give too much away in my reviews, so you might want to check out the actual book if something strikes your fancy.:)

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Night of the Living Deed–book review « Kourtney Heintz's Journal -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

