Tell me a fable

So rewind to 1997. This was a fav song of mine. Fable by Robert Miles. As I came home tonight, out of the hellish heat of the subway and into the cool 80 something degree breeze above ground, a story started to weave its way in my head. Out of nowhere. Thoughts came together and I had the concept for a short story. Maybe another novel. I don’t understand how this happens. A line rolls around in there and suddenly, a character is speaking to me.

Someone I’ve never knew existed, but somehow I’ve tuned into her wavelength. Her words and her world start appearing in my mind. I race into my apartment because I know I have to get this down before it slips away. And two sentences turn into two pages hand written. A new idea. Something to get back to. Someone else who begs for their story to be told.

It’s so cool. When it begins. A seed germinating in my mind. Because it will grow into this big old tree in time. And I’ll forget that moment when it all began. I’ll forget what it felt like the first time she talked to me and whispered bits of her story to me.

And it never is a conscious thing. It’s always a random moment of enlightenment. And from there it goes on to become so much more.

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Tell me a fable

  1. berry says:

    Wow that’s sort if scary. Like the show medium. Some voice calling you. Give us a clue as to the story. Maybe. Well we look forward to reading.g it. Someday soon I hope.

    How’s the summer for you. Missing work are you.

    • It’s more like lines forming in my head and someone narrating to me. Only I prefer first person so it’s like they talk to me. Story is a YA paranormal involving a 16 year old girl whose parents go through a bitter divorce…the twist is they are all supernatural beings…can’t say more until I start working on it. 🙂

  2. Lucas says:

    I’m with berry I’d love some clues as to this new paranormal family’s lifestyle. Can’t wait to hear more about their special gifts.

  3. Emma says:

    Okay, I won’t be the third person to ask you for a little more information on the family and plot. So I’m just stating that I’d be more that interested to know a little more details 🙂

    • Thanks Emma! The thing is with a new idea, you kinda have to keep it close to the vest and nurture it. Once you’ve developed it and written it, it’s totally cool to start talking about it. But until then, I like to nurture it. Kinda like a seedling. Too much exposure and it dies an early death.

Leave a Reply

