Enjoy What You Do

So I have been hard at work for the past month preparing to enter my paranormal romance into the Brenda Novak Mentorship Contest. I received beta reader feedback. I made edits. I proofed it. I reproofed it. Hell, I edited it one last time. I can’t read the first 50 pages one more time.

This is an amazing contest though that was part of her auction for Diabetes in May. I’m excited to have the opportunity to enter it. Sometimes, you just have to focus on the trying. On putting yourself out there. Not thinking about the end result. If you focus on whether or not you will win, you kinda can’t enjoy playing the game. I’d rather enjoy my life and my experiences. I’ll do my best and if I win–that would be mindblowingly awesome. And if I lose, I keep going. Keep trying.

A year ago, I had no idea about auctions and contests. I’ve learned so much and come such a long way since my November 2009 Backspace Conference. I’ve had so many people share their experiences, give words of encouragement, and I feel like I’ve become a part of a community of writers (published and unpublished).

So tonight, I print out the 4 copies of my first 50 pages. Tomorrow, I go mail them out at the post office. And then I move on to drafting more of the book and querying for the other novel. There is a long, long list of things to do. And I will check off as many items as I can.

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Enjoy What You Do

  1. berry says:

    Good Luck. Sounds like you enjoy your work.

  2. Emma says:

    Wow, you are really busy participating in seminars, conferences, contests, and auctions. You always seem to find the most interesting and promising things, how do you do that? Where do you find all those great opportunities? I like what you said about if you lose you keep going. Not giving up and persuing your dreams is important but can be very hard sometimes. But if you keep trying you will finally succeed and it will be worth all the effort and work eventually.

    • Yeah I have a habit of taking on too much, but always managing to get it done. I read lots of agent and author blogs. You’ll find loads of information there. Also Writer’s Digest and the Writer Magazine (magazines and websites) are filled with info on contests, seminars, and conferences. Romance Writers of America and Mystery Writers of America are also two organizations I belong to that provide info on these types of opportunities. Yeah, it’s probably the hardest thing I’ve ever done. But I reached a point where I couldn’t not try. So I keep trying. 🙂

Leave a Reply

