Did I write that?

Ever had a moment like that? Where everything is blurry and you have no clue how you let it slip by? Well, I got hit in the face with that on Friday and Saturday. I thought my YA manuscript was in great shape. I had gotten feedback on the first 3 chapters from several published writers and agents via auctions. I had my shit together.

Wrong. The first 3 chapters rocked. Then chapter 4 things got a little boring. Then chapter 5 and 6 required extensive reworking of dialogue. And chapter 7 sucked until the second half.

I was horrified. How did I miss this?

Truth? My writing improves with each revision. The more I write the better it gets. And I had the entire book at the same level. Then I got feedback and brought the first 1-3 chapters up and up and up. I made my way through the rest of the novel, thinking I caught my mistakes. Bad dialogue tags, too much telling, long scenes that weren’t needed were cut.

But the simple fact was I didn’t do a good enough job. Once someone else pointed out what was wrong–I went through the normal stages, denial, anger and finally acceptance. Once I accepted it, I could suddenly see so much that needed work. Ouch. So I spent the past couple days revising ch. 5-7. It’s a 16 chapter book. But I’m over 1/3 of the way there. I just have to step it up a notch.

Meanwhile this post from Upstart Crow Literary Agency has got me setting a new goal. I want to write 1000 words a day in my paranormal romance novel. Right now I’m at 42,320 words. I think I can finish it in 75,000-80,000 words. So that is 32,000-37,800 more words to write. Thanks to CTRWA’s awesome plotting session, I have the synopsis plotted out. I just need to sit down and write it.

So starting today, I will clock 1000 words a day 5 days a week. And each blog post will include a daily word count–to keep me on track. I want to have this story polished and ready to shop around at the RWA conference in June. So I need it finished by end of January so I can take it through 2-3 rounds of revisions before the conference. Ambitious? Of course. Would you expect otherwise from me?

 

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Did I write that?

  1. berry says:

    I guess anything can be improved. Even if you think its great, it probably can be better.

    Glad you are working hard to get it done. Shows determination.

    Good luck and keep on going.

Leave a Reply

