One Thousand Words a Day…or die

So Monday morning, I sat down and faced a blank page. I wanted to write 1000 words, but *gasp!* faced a new scene. What to do?

I played the what if game. What if x came over? And 500 words flew onto the page. It was crappy dialogue but it was dialogue. And then I thought but what if y came over first? And 1ooo words filled the page. I am now going over it and tweaking it. But I’m amazed that in 2-3 hours I could get that much wordage down. Of course, it’s rough and needs oodles of editing. But word count is growing.

That was my biggest worry–that I’d get sidetracked my other stuff and not get back to my work in progress. So I think I will set my goal to 5K a week, with a minimum of 1000 words a day. And if I happen to write more so be it. Then I can take a day to edit it instead of only writing forward.

So yesterday’s wordcount went from 42,400 to 44,360.

I’ve also decided to get the dog a 1/2 hour walk everyday. And happy news I’ve been on my low carb diet for a week and am starting to look like my old self. Or the beginnings of it!

I’m also delighted to meet up with a friend from CTRWA (M.) this evening and swap pages. I think my YA needs more feedback on the later chapters so this is a godsend.

This entry was posted in Ramblings, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to One Thousand Words a Day…or die

  1. berry says:

    It’s good to set goals. Walking dog is good for both of you. Writing is your outlet. Keep on diet. It’s good for your health. Good for you emotionally. Trust me.

Leave a Reply

