Delayed Gratification and the Harry Potter Series

So I have a little secret that I can finally share with the world. I just finished the last Harry Potter book. But Kourtney, it was published in 2007! Yup. And I avoided all spoilers for 3 freaking years.

Because I wasn’t ready to say goodbye to the Potter books. I loved Harry, Hermione and Ron. They felt like old friends and I refused to say goodbye.

It was one of the main reasons I started writing my book. So I’d have characters to come back to as often as I wanted.

Finally with the first installment of the final book coming out as a movie, I decided now was the time to read it. I started in late October and finished last week. It was awesomeness. Totally worth the wait. Like a chocolate cake after 2 years of strict dieting. I was delighted to have another Potter to read. The final one. Sigh.

Was it worth it? Definitely. Would I do it again? Yup. Am I sad to say goodbye to the beloved characters? Of course.

Have you ever held onto the last book in the series, refusing to read it? Because you knew it would be so good and leave you bummed that there weren’t more? What got you over the doldrums?

This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Delayed Gratification and the Harry Potter Series

  1. Lucas says:

    I agree the last HP was amazing. It felt so completely different from the first book in the series. I’m glad you finally read it! The journey to find the Horcruxes was exciting.

    I’m feeling a bit the same way about a series I’m reading. Although the author is currently working on the final installment so I still have time 😉

Leave a Reply

