Ending Your Novel

So I am in the final stretch of revising my YA novel. But the ending is bothering me.

Why?

Because I need to wrap up the main plot and story, but leave a few subplots dangling since it is a series. And I already got rid of the last chapter because it felt like a double ending.

You know, where the book has a natural ending, but you want to add more in so you create a secondary ending which ends up with less punch.

So I fixed that problem, but now I’m struggling with the new ending point. Because I see that I could end a chapter earlier but that would cut out a pivotal scene that is important to the next book and can’t happen anywhere but here.

Ugh. I think I’m going to have to sleep on this one.

Maybe it’s time to do the pros/cons list. You know the one you usually write before you break up with someone or foolishly take them back?

How do you know where and when to end your story? Do you have trouble crafting that last chapter/scene?

 

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Ending Your Novel

  1. Meg says:

    I solved it with a six page Epilogue. I’m very happy with it.

  2. berry says:

    I hate endings. Esp. To a good book.

Leave a Reply

