Revision Day

When you write “The End” it really is the beginning of the next phase with the manuscript. You aren’t saying goodbye. You’re saying hello to 3-4 months of revising.

And as I wrote “The End” I knew the first 5 chapters would need major revisions. Because the story went in a different direction than I originally pictured. Shit.

I also had agent, editor, and contest feedback on the first 50-80 pages that I now had to incorporate.

I didn’t want to change anything until I knew where the story ended up.

Today had been rough going. Because I had to change a few things, which lead to 1000 new words being drafted. And rearranging of scenes. And earlier revelations of stuff.

I think it’s coming along, but I dreaded it this morning. When I sat down, knowing I had to add a couple new scenes. I cringed. Revising I like, redrafting is more of a challenge. Because new words take so many rounds to revise.

But they were needed. So I’ll probably spend the rest of this week on this chapter. Which has now become two chapters. But I think it’s necessary. I think it helps the story. Lord I hope so.

It’s amazing how a few tweaks can ripple and require new scenes.

Gotta admit, writing is pretty cool. One of the few things where you get to the end and can fix the beginning. 🙂

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Revision Day

  1. berry says:

    Yes I wish life could be like that too. Easy button even better. Revising is good. Makes the book alll the better. Change is growth. You are growing as a writer.

    • it would be pretty cool if we could go back in time and redo things in real life. Guess I’ll just have to enjoy doing that on paper. I think it is improving the book. Hope so anyway. 🙂

  2. Jennifer Fusco says:

    I’m right there with you, girl. Monday the 11th, the revising begins.

    • It’s crazy how much the beginning changes. Even with a good outline. The characters hijacked the story toward the end and made it their own. Which required more ground work laying in the beginning. 🙂 I’m not even going to mention how badly written some of it was. Eek. The beauty of coming back months later I suppose. Good luck revising! 🙂

  3. tracy says:

    Don’t think about how badly written it was, though. All rough drafts are rough by definition. What’s awesome is that it is all on paper and that you have a lot to work with/from. I think that revisions are my favorite part (well, at least the first 6 revisions of Mae were fun, anyway) because you see how it all comes together and you really get to make it shine. Roughs are so hard to write because it is so grueling getting necessary things on the page. You got the stuff on the page, now you get to make it sing. I know that your revisions will be awesome, guys!

    • So true Tracy! 🙂

      I kinda took an unorthodox route to writing this novel. I wrote the first half and polished it up with multiple beta readers and rounds of revisions. Then I submitted it for partial critiques in the fall to agents/editor/authors from charity auctions I won. I wanted to see if I was on to something (test the waters). So the first half is already at draft 20. When I got their feedback, I waited until I finished the rest of the book to go back and make an overhaul of the whole book. I think that’s why it surprises me so much. Because I really thought the beginning was good. And it was good. As of 6-8 months ago when I sent it off. But having that long time in between helped me see it more clearly and also develop my writing skills. 🙂

      Though I think I prefer the drafting process. It feels more creative. And I don’t second guess myself. I just spew words on paper to get it down.

Leave a Reply

