Why do I say Um so Much?

Seriously. Whenever, I am giving a brief presentation or talk “Um” slides into the pauses. Why can’t I just freaking pause?!

I was practicing a 10 minute overview of charity auctions for writers today. And of course, I said Um like…um…well 100 times.

I’m not kidding. That little word keeps popping out of my mouth. So bad.

Grrr. I gotta stop saying it.

And then there is my need to rock back and forth as I talk. Like a crazy person. Not good. Not good at all.

Mind you I have given presentations to hundreds of people during college and grad school. At work, I presented to groups of 10-30 people.

But it never ever gets easier. I get serious pre-talk jitters.

The only upside is that I screw up all my practice runs and then my actual presentation is usually pretty smooth.

Fingers crossed.

How do you deal with nerves during public speaking?

This entry was posted in Events, Personal and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Why do I say Um so Much?

  1. Gerard says:

    My job requires me to do a lot of public speaking. I’m not a natural so every time I get anxious. Once I get going things usually get smoother and it all works out. But sometimes it feels like I’m talking with a mouthful of broken glass and all my sentences get screwed up along with verb tense and all the other niceties of the English language. Not a pretty thing to see or hear. It’s an endless struggle but I do get through it.

    • Mouthful of broken glass–totally happens to me too. 😉
      Whenever I try to ad lib I can’t find the verbs I need. It’s a mess.

      I usually bullet point everything out so I never lose my train of thought, but still when I lose my place on the page, the ums start coming out.

      Worst public speaking experience? 8th grade confirmation practice where I was supposed to read this really long prayer. Except I got nervous and my eyes skipped every other line. About half way through the reading, I realized what I’m doing and was overcome by a giggle fest. The priest looked like he wanted to kill me. But when it came time for the actual ceremony, I read it perfectly. 🙂

  2. berry says:

    Um is a space filler when you are nervous or trying to search your mind for next segment. Albeit it is annoying. I evaluate my teachers and um is an absolute nono in their lecture.

    Takes time to rid your speech of it. But it happens. Be confident like you are in a play reciting lines.

    • It’s hard because you have to be super aware to catch it before it escapes your lips. Been practicing. I kind have to speak faster and stick to the script to prevent um from rearing it’s ugly head. 😉

Leave a Reply

