Thoughts on Bin Laden’s Funeral

Normally, I try to keep politics out of my blog. But since I lived in New York City during 9/11 and its aftermath, it’s personal to me.

I watched my city burn. During the immediate days after  September 11th, the city became a ghost town. Everyone hesitated to venture out.

Whenever I went outside, the air singed my nostrils, reminding me of how much had been destroyed. Precious lives lost. Innocent people that became the victims of a deranged madman.

I don’t talk about it much. I’ve never even written about it.

But I read this article  about how Muslim clerics are up in arms about the way Bin Laden was laid to rest at sea and it absolutely infuriated me. So I’ve taken in my blog.

Osama Bin Laden is a man who had zero respect for human life. He snuffed out thousands of lives without any concern for their religion or their right to be given a proper funeral. He didn’t care.

Families here were never given the remains of their loved ones to conduct a proper funeral.

Yet, some religious leader will say he was not buried according to Islamic law. Really?

How does that work exactly? I mean he massacred thousands of people. Is that living his life in accordance with Islamic law?!

So why in death should Islamic law suddenly matter if he violated it by the very terms of his existence?

We are talking about an international terrorist here.

Why would he be granted more respect than his victims ever received?

How does someone who had no respect for human life, merit respect of his religious beliefs?

This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thoughts on Bin Laden’s Funeral

  1. Emily says:

    I really couldn’t have put it any better myself. You just found the right words here and I agree about 100% with how you see it. Why should someone who obviously cared so little about human life be given something that he refused to give to the thousands and thousands of victims of the terrible attacks. All I felt, or still feel, for this man is pure hate and disgust and I am glad to know that he no longer lives on the same Earth as I do. Unfortunately, his death won’t be the end of the constant threat islamic terrorists pose to every free society on the planet. I can only hope that they will one day realize that what they are doing is wrong and finally end this war.

    • Thanks Emily! I try my best to remain logical. But it’s hard. For me, WTC was my true north in the city. Whenever I got off the subway as a newbie, I looked for it and then could find my way. I started my first real job there. It was just a building, but it meant something special to me.

      The horrific way those people died. The staggering loss of innocent human life forever stained that man’s hands. His actions and way of life violated everyone’s basic freedoms. I am happy that he no longer inhabits this planet.

  2. Gerard says:

    I agree with what has been written. Sometimes evil needs a helping hand to find its grave, wherever that grave may be. The US went the extra yard to conduct religious formalities. Too bad if some are offended. Maybe they should talk to the September 11 survivors before complaining about religious formalities.

    • I agree with your comment. I thought the whole argument lacked any basis in reason or logic. It just made zero sense to me. The US was the “bigger person” and definitely went the extra yard here.

Leave a Reply

