How to Apply for A Visa to China

1) Check out the Chinese Embassy Visa information and figure out what type of Visa you need.

I’m a tourist visiting for less than 30 days and needing a single entry into the country. So I’m Type L single entry.

2) Get a passport photo taken at the local CVS/Walgreen/photo place.

3) Since I don’t have time to go in person to the embassy to drop off and pick up my paperwork, I enlisted the aid of an visa agent that was listed on the embassy’s website. For a $40 fee they make sure your paperwork is in order and handle the drop off and pick up for you. Then they send your visa to you.

4) I checked out the websites and chose US-China Business & Culture Exchange Center, Inc.

5) On their website, I followed their instructions and downloaded and filled out the required forms.

6) I went to the U.S. Post Office to buy the money order (cost $1.50)

7) I assembled all my paperwork, passport photo, money order, and passport and sent it priority mail with delivery confirmation.

About 10 days later, I received my passport and visa from the visa agent.

This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to How to Apply for A Visa to China

  1. Gerard says:

    Wow. That sounds pretty efficient for government service.

  2. berry says:

    That was pretty quick. Where else are u going. Be careful in Asia.

    • Super fast turn around time. I was expecting it back in Juneish. We’re hitting Shanghai, Xi’an, Beijing, Hong Kong, Phuket beaches in Thailand, and Seoul. With a two day meetup in London so we can do the big flight together. 🙂

Leave a Reply

