Update on New Year’s Resolutions

Time to check in on those pesky resolutions I made January 1.  It’s been 10 months almost…

Resolution #1: Lose 35 lbs in 2011 and keep it off.

Progress: Lost 22 lbs total and then gained four back in September. So right now just 18 lbs toward my goal. But I couldn’t exercise the past two months due to pinched nerve in my leg. And I was overeating again. Hoping to get closer to my goal by Dec 31.

Resolution #2: Finish drafting my second novel by May 2011.

Dunzo!!!!  Finished drafting March 31! Finished editing July 1. Started querying agents in mid September.

Resolution #3: Send out queries until someone falls in love with my YA novel.

Progress: Sent out 117 queries for my first book. Waiting to hear back on a full request, but also realizing this book may not sell.

Resolution #4: Meditate and play with Emerson more.

Progress: Taking walks 3-4 times a week with Emerson. When we don’t walk, we play. Meditate a couple times a week–need to work on that.

Resolution #5: Speak my mind  when asked.

Progress: Find I enjoy saying no. It’s nice not to bow to social pressure and do things I hate. People tend to appreciate tactful honesty a few weeks after the fact.

And now that my summer travels are over, we will return to a 5-day-a-week blog and shift the focus back to my novel writing. Though I must admit, I enjoyed travel blogging. It was a needed break from novel writing that allowed me to keep writing daily.
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Update on New Year’s Resolutions

  1. berry says:

    Keep working in them. Good job. Weight is hard for a lot od us. I know!!!!!!

    • Thanks. I’m happy to say I’ve made progress on all of them throughout the year and achieved a couple. Some require more work but it’s good to have goals. 🙂 Weight is a real tough one. With most things I can stop doing them, but food you gotta have 3 times a day. And that’s so many potential screw ups a week. 🙂

Leave a Reply

