Birthday Traditions

 

Every year, I have specific things I do around my birthday. Some happened once and then evolved into my personal traditions.

I take stock in my life. Yeah that’s a heavy one.

This includes thinking of friends and family and evaluating who makes my life better by being in it. I reach out to anyone I lost touch with or haven’t heard from in a while and genuinely want in my life.

The other biggie is looking through old photo albums to remember who I’ve been over the years. That parts of me I lost and miss and the parts that grew in their place. I try to figure out how much of the current me I like and how much of the old me I’d like to bring back. Not that it’s always possible to do so. But it’s good to keep a ledger.

This photo album search also resurrects some wonderful and some sorrow-filling memories. It’s a cathartic thing. In the end, I usually am happy with who I am and who I’ve been and I learn to appreciate myself more.

And lastly, and easiest, I consider what goals I had for that year. Did I meet them? Did I do what I set out to do with that year of my life?

And those are my little birthday traditions.

What do you do to mark another year passing?

This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Birthday Traditions

  1. berry says:

    I thank god I’m alive one more year time is precious. Life is too. Savor every moment. The world is your oyster.

Leave a Reply

