Bluebell Cafe

image

image

image

In search of a breakfast place on my birthday, I tripped over Bluebell Cafe on 3rd ave near 22 nd st. Close to Lyric Diner.

I resigned myself to a so-so breakfast at Lyric, but the birthday gods saw fit to toss Bluebell Cafe in my path.

Thank you birthday gods!

The minute you walk in you experience country living in a city setting. The music is country or old school earthy folksy rock. Immediately returning you to a slower time.

The restaurant reminds me of an old aunt’s living room. Their are kitschy knick knacks on the walls, but they don’t over whelm the place. The tables have hand painted blue bells on them and rattan woven place mats. Reminds me of a dining room in a Connecticut ranch.

The ambience cannot be beat. Best birthday breakfast setting. But it gets better.

The servers are pure down home friendly and helpful. They welcome you with their smiles and their attitude freeness. Adored the vibe in the place. So UN-New York.

When I order my coffee, I asked for half a cup so I could add lots of milk. The server smiled and brought me my own creamer.

They offer refills on the coffee too.

I went with the Bluebell Breakfast for $9. Two scrambled eggs, home fries, buttermilk biscuit, bacon, and fresh fruit.

Everything was freshly made and a delight to the tastbuds. This is the kinda breakfast you tel your grandkids about. It’s that tasty. The fruit included cantaloupe, pineapple, and grapes. The perfect ending to a perfect breakfast.

I’ll definitely be heading back there.

Best NYC breakfast ever.

This entry was posted in Food and Cooking, Personal and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bluebell Cafe

  1. berry says:

    Don’t eat cantaloupe.killing people lysteria. Yikes.

    • Thanks for the tip! 🙂 Personally I hate cantaloupe and honey dew they taste gross and feel slimy in my mouth. It was the only thing left on my plate when the waiter took it away. LOL.

Leave a Reply

