I Wrote That?! or Epiphany #214

Every three to six months my writing takes a leap up a level or two. It’s amazing and wonderful to gain new skills and insight. It’s crushing to reread my “finished” manuscript.

During my few months away from my YA and my adult book, I took Margie Lawson’s Deep Editing Packet as a self-study.

I thought I had a handle on cliches and rhetorical devices. Revisiting my adult manuscript, I found almost 1-2 cliches a page in the first two chapters.

*Head Desk*

I didn’t employ the power of three in rhetorical devices.

*Head Wall*

I missed opportunities with the stimulus-reaction-recovery process.

*Head in shredder*

And suddenly, advice I thought I had processed and responded to appropriately,  I realize I never fully addressed. UGH!

How did I miss all this? How had I gone through multiple drafts and beta readers without catching these things?!

Because you don’t know what you don’t know. Just because you can’t see it, doesn’t mean it isn’t there. It just means you can’t fix it yet.

Yet.

Because everything can be fixed in time.

Still as I prepare my manuscript for the Writer’s Digest Conference in January, I can’t help mumbling, “Dumbass,” to myself and smiling because no matter how smart I think I am, writing provides the opportunity to move from idiot to almost knowledgeable over and over again in a lifetime.

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I Wrote That?! or Epiphany #214

  1. maryam says:

    I am editing my novel again and feel like a dumbass too. How did I not see all the things I can see now? UGH.

    Good luck with the Writers Digest conference. I did it last Jan. I thought it was just ok, and not very well organized. Hopefully it will be much better this year.

    • Then I am in the very best company because you’re first two pages were sheer genius at Backspace! Mine were so underwhelming I tore them to pieces. I went to WDC last year too. I liked the craft panels best. The Pitch Slam was chaotic but I got to pitch 7 agents. I’m also going to the SCBWI conference in January to give my YA story another shot. Winter is my season of revisions.

  2. berry says:

    Good job. Keep at it. It’s a work in progress.

Leave a Reply

