Why You Shouldn’t Write to Music

  • I react to sounds. Music inspires emotion inside me. It fills me with feeling. Feeling I mistakenly think I’ve infused into my words when it’s really feeling that is not translated onto the page.
  • Your reader will not be listening to the same music and experiencing a similar reaction when they read your book.
  • The rhythm of your words must carry the story.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Why You Shouldn’t Write to Music

  1. Novel Girl says:

    I think music creates a mood in your head that sparks creativity. It creates a certain rhythm and flow to your words.

    However, loud, head-banging music probably won’t be all too productive to your writing either. Lol. It can just distract you, too.

    Music and writing? It’s a very individual thing.

    • I’ve always drafted each manuscript to music. There are a few CDs I listened to countless times to get me in the zone for that book. Unfortunately, during revisions I found all the emotions the music conjured up in me weren’t in my actual manuscript. The words weren’t doing what I thought they did for the reader. So I no longer revise to music because it tricks me.

      I agree that it’s an individual choice. I wanted to point out the potential downside because it just happened to me. 🙂

  2. berry says:

    I work out to music. Music is a powerful tool. Dies magic.

  3. Exiled Star says:

    Different strokes for different folks. Writing to music works for me sometimes. Other times, it distracts me.

    Final editing is best done in silence, so you can hear the cadence of your words inside your own head.

    My .02.

    • And very valuable .02. 🙂 For the longest time I wrote and revised to music. But on this book, I realized how much I relied on the music to evoke the emotion and that the words themselves weren’t doing as much as I thought they did. So maybe draft to music, revise in silence?

Leave a Reply

