The Importance of Balance

The most critical aspect of a writer’s life is balance. Too much typing can lead to carpel tunnel. Too little typing and that manuscript remains unfinished.

Too little exercise leaves you lethargic. Too much exercise cuts into your writing time.

Too little socializing cuts into your real world experiences, the ones that fuel the page. Too much socializing leaves you exhausted emotionally with nothing to give your pages.

Think of your life as a city. The roads, the buildings, the sidewalks, the subways. They all have a limit. They all need to be utilized. But over-usage will damage them. Run them down faster.

Right now I’m struggling to find my balance between editing, drafting, reading, and the other 10,000 things in my life. But I recognize the need for it and I’m doing my best to move toward it.

How do you find balance? How do you juggle all your responsibilities?

This entry was posted in Personal, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Importance of Balance

  1. J.C.V. says:

    I have not found balance. I am a mess most of the time. When I do sit down to write after taking my kid to school, going to the gym and after showering, I block the world out. I only get about three to four hours of writing completed in a day. I desire to write more, but responsibilities have me all tied up. The only thing I did find was that I could read while doing the stationary bike at home. For awhile, I was thirsting to read, but had little time to do so. You are doing a good job. Your task list is much more writer focused than mine.

  2. It's the little things that make life great.berry says:

    One word. Moderation .

  3. Balance is one of my continual works in progress, so I feel your strain. I find taking breaks to rest and switch gears helpful… Can seem contrary (who has time, right?) but my productivity seems to go up when I do so. Venting and chocolate also help. 😉

    • August, it’s good to know I’m not alone. I thought I had a good handle on balance last week, but then I got struck down with a killer sinus headache for two days. Realized I’d been ignoring my body in a foolish attempt to get all my edits done. I let myself sleep all weekend and I am heading back to the editing this afternoon. Definitely going to budget in more time away from the computer. Chocolate is a magical cure for almost everything. I had chocolate covered pretzels this weekend. 😛

  4. jmmcdowell says:

    I’m a Libra, and we’re known for our balancing acts. Truthfully? I think people love the prospect of us falling from the tightrope…. 😉

    We all find balance in our own way. If we’re serious about adding writing to the million other things we do every day, we find what works. For some, it’s getting up an hour before anyone else in the house. For others, it’s staying up an hour later. Someone else writes on the bus or train during the work commute. Reading while on the treadmill works for some. Hey, some people can write on the treadmill. (Woozy stomach here.)

    I try not to look at necessary tasks as “chores,” but I’ll admit that’s not easy when I’m looking at laundry or cleaning the bathroom. But I do let my mind wander while I’m doing them – to either recharge or to hear the characters from a novel giving me a new scene.

    But taking care of ourselves physically is the best way I know to stay balanced.

    • Very jealous of you Libra! I wish I was more like you. Unfortunately, I’m a Scorpio and renowned for my extremes.

      Very well said. Great examples of how to make writing time work with any schedule. I guess I’m struggling with striking the right balance. I always think i can do more. But I forget to question if I should. What the tradeoff of that extra hour writing is going to cost me in terms of tomorrow’s productivity.

      I can’t imagine writing on the treadmill, I’m so uncoordinated, I’d break an ankle. 🙂

      I absolutely agree about the need to take care of our bodies to maintain balance. On that note, I’m going to do some stretches!

  5. Robin Hawke says:

    I don’t. There’s always a part of my life out of balance! Enjoyed this post.

Leave a Reply

