Writer’s Digest Conference in NYC Starts Today

I’m at the Writer’s Digest Conference in NYC today! I’ll be tweeting about it this weekend @Kourhei and blogging about my favorite panels next week.

I’m super excited to be here again. Last year, I learned so much, met some cool people, garnered several requests for my YA manuscript and learned how to breathe while pitching.

Hoping this year’s event further improves my craft and that I get requests on my adult manuscript.

Here’s what the conference schedule looks like.

If you have any questions about the conference, please comment below and I’m happy to share anything I learned. Even stuff like what to wear, how to strike up a conversation with a stranger, when to approach a writer you love for an autograph or who the best speakers were.

This entry was posted in Conferences and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Writer’s Digest Conference in NYC Starts Today

  1. Have a blast and knock’em dead!!

  2. Have a great time and soak it all up!

  3. jmmcdowell says:

    Enjoy the conference and good luck with the pitch!

    • The panels today were awesome. Chuck Sambuchino taught everyone how to pitch, Donald Maass talked about the 21st century novel, and AJ Jacobs talked about writing about yourself in the digital era. I’m practicing my pitch. Can’t believe it will be over in 21 hours!

  4. J.C.V. says:

    Awesome! I wanted to go, but…:( didn’t. Best of luck finding that great agent. Please share your tips and wisdom learned there. I’m cheering for you!

    • It’s a great conference for when your query is perfected and you have a pitch ready to go because the pitch slam lets you pitch tons of agents. 🙂 maybe next year you can go? I ended up pitching 9 agents and getting5 requests and 2 referrals so that felt pretty awesome. 🙂 I’ll share more in my posts next week on the conference. 🙂

    • Thank you very much J.C.V! I’m grinning here. It means a lot to have a fellow blogger recognize my blog. I’mon my iPad until February but as soon as I get back to my laptop I’ll blog about this award! Thanks again!

  5. jmmcdowell says:

    Wow, congrats on the requests and referrals! Sounds like you got a successful pitch there!

    • JM,thanks. The pitch is thanks to the Backspace Agent Author Seminar, the agents critiqued the heck out of my query and I revised it into the backbone of my pitch. Excited to get requests and referrals. Hopefully, one of them will lead to an agent. 🙂

  6. It's the little things that make life great.berry says:

    How was it. How do u dress.

    • Went great! Got six requests though I think one was a pity request. I’ll still send the materials just in case. I also got a couple referrals to agents who might like my work. That was an unexpected bonus. I dressed business casual. Black slacks, black skirt, polka dot sweater, argyle sweater, turtle necks underneath and loafers, boots, and heels. The trick is layers since the conference rooms run hot and cold. BTW, I did not wear all of this at the same time, way too hot. :p

Leave a Reply

