SCBWI Winter Conference

Today I’m attending the writer’s roundtable intensive all day workshop at the kickoff of the International SCBWI Winter Conference in New York. This is my first SCBWI conference so I’m excited to see how it rolls out.

My all day workshop has 8-9 writers sitting at a table with an agent or editor. Our first 500 words will be critiqued. I’m looking forward to the feedback and the opportunity to get my revised work in front of an agent or editor.

At a minimum, I’ll come away with useful feedback. And if I dream big, an editor or agent will like it enough to request pages.

The conference has some amazing panels in its schedule. When I signed up for the conference, the registration included language about not blogging about copyrighted material presented in the workshops and about not transmitting any part of the conference.

This means next week’s conference blogs will be less detailed than my usual ones. I’ll try to include useful tidbits and insights while respecting and adhering to SCBWI’s rules.

If you have any questions about the SCBWI Winter Conference, please fire away. I’ll answer them below or if they require a longer response, I’ll incorporate them into next week’s blog posts.

This entry was posted in Conferences, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to SCBWI Winter Conference

  1. jmmcdowell says:

    That feedback will be invaluable, and I know you’ll make it work for you. Enjoy!

    • Thanks JM. The feedback was completely contradictory. I’ll have to mull it overfor a while before revising. Met some lovely writers. 🙂

      • jmmcdowell says:

        Oh, didn’t Limebirds recently have a post about that very topic?! Definitely mull it over — some will be worth following, some not. This far along, I think you can trust your instincts to make the right call.

        • They did. Limebirds rocks! It hard when an editor thinks your two pages stink and an agent says they aree great. I’d like to believe the agent. But I have to weigh what the editor says. Will take a few days to see things clearly I guess. 🙂

  2. ottabelle says:

    Silly rules :p I hope everything goes well!

    • I try to be mindful of copyright, but I like to share enough info so tht readers get something out of the post and maybe buy the speaker’s book. This time I’ll keep it more to my experiences i guess.

  3. Best of luck, can’t wait to hear how it goes!

  4. Have a blast! Can’t wait to hear more. 🙂

  5. What an adventure – can’t wait to hear your observations

    • Karen, it’s been a crazy 12 days. Met so many gifted writers. I’m in awe of some of the pitches I heard and some of the pages I read. I’ll be blogging about SCBWI this week, starting Tuesday. 🙂 Hope you enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

