How I Celebrated Making it Another Round in ABNA

Yesterday, after I made it another round in the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award contest, my oldest friend, Lindsay, took me to lunch at an old place I loved as a kid…Shady Glen up in Manchester, CT.

They have the best vanilla milk shakes–super vanilla.

And the burgers. 4 slices of cheese fried to crispy perfection.

We split an order of onion rings and fries. Crispy and not oily. The krinkle cut fries were delish.

For dessert Linds got the dark cherry chocolate chip and I got the chocolate mint chip. The ice cream was beyond compare. The cones were so yummie too.

And a huge thank you to The MadGayMan who awarded me the MadGayMan (MGM) Award yesterday! The funniest, cleverest and nicest post I’ve ever read about myself. ๐Ÿ™‚

This entry was posted in Award, Contest, Personal and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to How I Celebrated Making it Another Round in ABNA

  1. Samir says:

    My mouth is watering… Um, I am referring to the food pictures!

  2. Marc Schuster says:

    Sounds like my kind of place!

  3. Cat Forsley says:

    ALL I CAN SAY IS YUM ! AND FUN !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    I LOVE THE AWARD YOU GOT —-
    HOW CUTE AND SWEET ….

    PS- I KINDA WANT A BURGER NOW ๐Ÿ™‚ LOL
    AND IT’S EIGHT IN THE MORNING ๐Ÿ™‚

    I THINK YOU SHOULD WRITE ABOUT FOOD MORE OFTEN ……!!!!!!! LOL !!!!
    AND MILKSHAKES – MY FAVE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    CONGRATS TO YOU SWEETHEART ——
    AND SEEMS LIKE YOU HAD A BLAST XO
    ALL THE BEST ALWAYS XXC

  4. Everything’s coming up roses…uh, burgers and ice cream just for you! Enjoy!

  5. winsomebella says:

    That meal looks like a classic–just like your novel will be :-). Congrats on all you’ve accomplished.

  6. So glad you celebrated and enjoyed, Kourtney! Cheering for you. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • It was a really lovely lunch and it left me full for 7 hours. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Back to eating healthy. But the splurge was worth it! And thank you so much for your support of my blog and my writing. It’s so lovely to have you in my corner.

  7. Jenny says:

    This diner looks like a place that should be on Diners, Drive-ins and Dives. Yummy.

    Love the write up by MadGayMan! So funny and sweet. What an award he gave you. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Sending out more good vibes to you and your novel. What’s the next stage and when will you know?

    • It was actually! My friend told me as we ate our lunch. So yummy!

      Isn’t he talented? I mean he made me like myself even more. ๐Ÿ™‚ Seriously, that award is such an honor. It’s been a ridiculously good week in my life. I’m so thankful for it.

      Thanks so much. PW is reading my entire manuscript. I will find out if I make the semi finals–only 50 of the 250 advance onward. The results are posted April 24th.

      Amazon is working through the glitches, some are fixed some are not. The paragraphing and page breaks are wonky in my excerpt and the description still has a missing apostrophe and emdash. I swear none of these are my typos. It’s Kindle formatting issues. Because the excerpts have to be downloaded to Kindle to read them. I’m hoping they resolve them by next week. Fingers crossed. I don’t want to refer people to it until it looks like it should.

  8. crubin says:

    Quarter-finalist, Mad Gay Man Award, what’s next? Good things come in threes, you know. Oh, wait, maybe it was that fabulous meal. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  9. jmmcdowell says:

    Mmm, talk about comfort food! Shake and an ice cream cone? My inner 9-year-old is about to make some demands! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Hoping for the best with your manuscript and the next round on Amazon!

  10. klynwurth says:

    Kourtney, I am sooo excited for you! Even just knowing you by blogging, and enjoying your writing and concern for others, I’m happy you’re working your way up in the competition. You deserve good things. Blessings!

    • Kelly, thanks so much! Honestly, I was most excited to share the news with my writer friends on the blog because I know you get it. You understand how many no’s I heard and how hard it was to keep putting my work out there. I’m so thankful for your support through the contest. Fingers crossed I keep progressing! Aw, I wish I could give you a real hug, but *hug* (cyber version). ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. mj monaghan says:

    Congrats on moving to the next level, your MGM award, and the vanilla milkshake!!

    You’ve worked very hard, my friend.

    • Thanks! It was one heck of a week. The Amazon contest, the MGM award and the best milkshake and cheeseburger in the world. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m doing my best, entering contests, querying–getting my work out there and seeing what can happen.

Leave a Reply

