Favorite Blog Q&A, Lucky 7 Game, Sunshine Blog Award

First off, a huge apology. I’m almost a month behind schedule with this Q&A, award, links, and game of writer tag. I really appreciate when someone notices my blog and takes the time to let me know I’m doing something right, but I was slammed with revisions and didn’t have time to  put together a proper post.

Big thank you to Lauren over at Tales of A Charm City Chick for recognizing my blog as one of her favorite blogs! Wow. Smile stretching from ear to ear. As part of this, I’m going to answer some questions and pass along the award to others.

Note: there is no need to pass this along. It’s more of a shout out and a celebration of blogs. So if I name your blog as one of my favorites, feel free to pass it along or just accept it and not do anything. 🙂

1. What is the best thing that happened to you in the last 36 hours?

My excerpt is up on Amazon with two reviews.

2. What are your pet peeves?

Inconsiderate behavior. Hypocrisy. And when the dvr forces me to watch the same limited commercials. Grrr.

3. Did you have an imaginary friend growing up or did you want one? Tell us all! When did you part ways? Was it gradual?

I used to think my stuffed animals could come alive and so I treated them like they were alive. Does that count? Um. I still think when I sleep they might hang out and do stuff.

4. If you had the power to declare a national holiday what would you declare and why?

Ladies Hold Your Men Accountable Day. It’s time for women to stop blaming each other and start holding guys accountable for their actions. If I see one more woman lash out at the “other woman,” I will scream. Who made promises to you and then broke them? The guy. So why are you attacking the girl he cheated with. He probably lied to her too.

5. If you could live anywhere in the world where would it be? (You have the capital for this one, don’ worry)

Nai Harn in Phuket. It’s sooooo beautiful.

6. What do you think of celebrity gossip?

Why are we all so concerned with them? Bo-ring.

7. What’s the theme song of your day, week, year, or life?

Today it’s Sorta Fairytale by Tori Amos.

8. If you came with a warning label what would it be about?

Hurricane winds without warning.

9. Favorite quote or joke that you made up?

Blanking on this one. Yeah, I got nothing. I’m never funny on command.

10. OCD?

I hate when people touch my stuff. Look, don’t touch. And never ever borrow my shoes. Ever.

11. Best pick up line anyones’ ever fed ya?

Are you from England?

No.

Oh cause you look like you’re from England.

(WHAT does that look like?!)

 12. Tell us something embarrassing about your brain.

Sometimes when I’m nervous it says the wrong words. I’ll mean to say “fasten” and “flatten” comes out of my mouth. Close but not quite right.

Here are some of my favorite blogs:

Lucky 7 Meme Tag Game

Girls With Pens  and Carrie Rubin tagged me in this fun little blogging game called Lucky 7 Meme or 777 going around where writers tag each other in a virtual game of IT.

The rules:

  • Go to page 77 of your current MSS/WIP
  • Go to line 7
  • Copy down the next 7 lines, sentences, or paragraphs, and post them as they’re written
  • Tag 7 other authors (I’m only going to tag 4 and again–this is completely for fun, feel free to not participate and I will still ❤ your blog)

These seven lines are from my YA story.

Three snake rings writhed across her right hand. She’d twisted and braided her long hair into an elaborate up-do. Morgan conservative.

I was as ready as I’d ever be, slathered in SPF 70 waterproof sunscreen with my UV-coated parasol shading my face. A waterproof case held my Mac, and a backpack had been stuffed with everything I needed to survive a few days on the isle.

Seth started to venture into the water, but Evan’s words stopped him. “The rip tides are less than 50 meters from the shore.”

I’m only going to tag 4 other writers…(No pressure to play, purely for fun)

Sunshine Award

And lastly, but never leastly, I was also re-gifted the Sunshine Award from Michael at I Have A Dream. Thank you so much Michael! It’s a great award and I want to pass it along again because I’ve met so many new bloggers who deserve it.

Here are the official Rules:
Thank the person who gave you the award.
Write a post about it.
Answer the questions that come with it.
Pass lt along to ten people and let them know they’ve received it.

Here’s my version of the rules:

Thank the person who gave you the award.
Write a post about it.

Link to the ten questions since I posted answers before.

Pass it along to 4 new blogs.

If you receive it, there is zero pressure to pass it along. Bask in the glow of your wonderfulness. If you want to pass it along, that’s great. But you don’t have to.

Link to my ten questions.

And here are the blogs I am awarding The Sunshine Award to because they bring rays of brightness into my day.

This entry was posted in Award, Personal and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Favorite Blog Q&A, Lucky 7 Game, Sunshine Blog Award

  1. Aw thanks Kourtney *hugs*. And looking like you’re from England is a huge compliment trust me 😉

  2. themadgayman says:

    Thanks for the mention hon. 🙂 So what are the rules? You won so many awards that I’m confused about what I won and what to do!

  3. crubin says:

    Thanks so much, Kourtney! I really appreciate the nod. I also understand and share your #12 speech flubbing. Words come out of my fingers much better than my mouth. I’d never make it as a politician for that reason. I’d be the female Joe Biden, only worse. 🙂

    You are getting quite the awards list in your sidebar! But I think it’s nice to have them there. That way other bloggers know what you’ve already received and can avoid duplication.

    Oh, and your seven lines leave us wanting more. 🙂

    • You are very welcome! You have one of the best blogs out there. And I like that this one is a chill award, no need to do anything unless you want to. 🙂 Yeah, I hate when someone asks me a question in a group. I usually flub most of the words in my response. I almost want to say, Email me and I’ll get back to you.

      I will add the Meme there too. It gives me a warm fuzzy feeling to see them there everyday I must confess.

      Thanks, the other book dropped the reader into a sex scene and I just didn’t want to post that out of context. 🙂

  4. Jenny says:

    Congratulations on your awards and your excerpt up on Amazon! You go, girl! I loved learning more about you.

    Tell me, what are we seeing in the second picture? It looks like something is on fire. What is that big dome building?

    • Thanks! I try to keep it interesting. 🙂
      Ah yes, that is in Hong Kong on Kowloon. The dome lights up at night and changes colors. It was really cool and I thought it would be fun to put on the blog.

  5. Okay, I am loving #4. Will you please write a post on the topic? 😉 (No pressure! LOL) Congrats on your two Amazon reviews. I hope/plan to add to your stash soon.

    • LOL. I may write a bit of a rant on it. It’s one of those things that is so illogical and wrong. But I’ll put it on my blog topic list. 🙂 Thanks! I really appreciate it. I think it looks good if a contestant has several reviews. 🙂

  6. Whew! (Now, don’t you feel better all this is completed?) Well done.

  7. Laura says:

    Aww thank you 🙂 I’ve had a bit of a busy week and haven’t checked blogs in a few days… you’re stuff is up on Amazon!! I must read immediately! I actually had a dream about it the other day – that I was reading it hehe.

    • Totally understand. 🙂 I got hit with a stomach virus and didn’t get a chance to read blogs yesterday. Yes, you can go to Amazon and type my name and my page comes up. It’s pretty neat! Hope you enjoy it. Wow, I am honored to be in your dreams or at least have my excerpt there. Hope it lives up to your expectations. 🙂

  8. Thanks for the 777 tag you’re it! I’m curious to know what those seven lines are gonna be.

    I’ll check out the other blogs and I liked the pickup line – hadn’t heard that one before. 🙂

    • You’re welcome. It’s fun to read a few lines at page 77. That scene is where a group of teenagers head out to the site of a 127-year-old unsolved murder–a castle on a private isle off the New England coast. LOL. I never heard it after that one time. I was back in college in DC. 😉

  9. 4amWriter says:

    Congrats on all those fun awards/games! I love your 7 lines; I could totally picture the setting which is pretty durn good for 7 lines!

    I am also OCD over my stuff, particularly food. Hubby thinks I was starved in a past life. I blame my older brother for chasing me around the house with an eye plucked off a lobster. True story, sadly. 🙂

    Have a fab day!

    • Thanks I thought it would be a fun post to put together. Glad to hear that–I generally hate setting. Dialogue I love, but setting bores the pants off of me. It’s one of those things I always have to add in later.

      LOL. One time someone ate my cheese at work and I flipped out. I mean I paid for the cheese. Would that person go in my wallet and take a dollar? Then don’t steal some of my cheese. 😉 Um, that sounds like a perfectly reasonable reason to be protective of your food. 🙂 I’d have been tramatized by that.

      Have a great day!

  10. jmmcdowell says:

    Aw, gosh, thanks for the shout out, Kourtney! My Saturday post is going to get a little longer now. 🙂 And I’m totally with you on #2! I may just have to use some of those in my reply. 🙂

    Keep up the great work!

    • Thanks JM! And no pressure, you don’t have to post about it unless you feel like it. You still remain one of my fav blogs. 🙂 Those things really irk me. Feel free to use them in your #2. 🙂

  11. Novel Girl says:

    Thanks for the shout out. I love that you look like you are from England. But you are not. Unfortunately I look like a wog and I am a wog. Not so special. Lol

    • You’re welcome!
      I looked up wog–a Mediterranean migrant to Australia–the word doesn’t sound so nice but Mediterranean sounds lovely. 😛

      • Novel Girl says:

        I can’t believe you don’t know what a wog was. I thought it was a worldwide term (Urgh, makes me feel like such an “Aussie”). In the 60s, 70s and 80s it was used as a derogatory term in a similar way that black Americans were referred to but now wogs use it to call other wogs. I find I can make fun of myself (Italian heritage).

        • I might just be Amero-centric. 🙂 I’ve never been to Australia and only a few time to the UK. Aussie English and UK English are pretty unfamiliar to me. 😛 I visited wiki to find out what it meant. I like when people reclaim negative words. 🙂

  12. Debra Kristi says:

    Congratulations on #1! That has to be a giddy feeling. 🙂 I love #8 and can relate so to #6 and #12. My tongue is always screwing me up. And that funny thing? I usually think of it an hour later. LOL. Thank you for sharing your lucky 7. They were a delight! This looks like a fun place, I will enjoy visiting often.

    • Thanks! It’s pretty cool. And very unexpected. 🙂 I try to explain to people I am so much better on paper than in person. 😉 Glad you liked my lucky 7 lines. Stop by anytime! It was lovely to see you here. 🙂

  13. mj monaghan says:

    Congrats on all your awards, Kourtney. All well-deserved.

    My favorite line of your post:
    “Hurricane winds without warning.”

    That seems to be classic Kourtney, and I don’t even know you that well! 🙂

    Lastly, thanks for the Lucky 7 tag, my friend!

    • Thanks MJ!

      LOL. A dear friend of mine once described me as a hurricane. “You never know what will stir her up or where she’ll hit but she will come at you with everything she’s got.”

      You’re very welcome. I’d love to read some lines from your story. 🙂

  14. Cat Forsley says:

    THX SO MUCH SWEET K XO XOXOXO 🙂 AMAZON KOURNTEY YES!!!!!!!!!

    ALL CUTE THINGS ABOUT YOU –
    “DO NOT TOUCH MY SHOES !!!!!!!!!!!!! ” LOL

    AND FOR YOU XOXOXOXOXOXOXOXO

    • You’re welcome! Aw thanks! Yeah, I’m an ogre when it comes to shoes. I can’t stand anyone else’s feet in my shoes. Thanks! Love Tori, love this song so much. 🙂

      • Cat Forsley says:

        HAVE A WONDERFUL WEEKEND MISS K
        SAME WITH THE SHOES = ME !!!!!!! LOL
        I LOVE VINTAGE CLOTHES —– NEVER SHOES THOUGH 🙂 LOL ………..
        PLS LET ME KNOW AS THE AMAZON TIME GROWS CLOSER AND CLOSER ,,,,,:) SUPA EXCITED FOR YOU – GONNA BE OFFLINE THIS WEEKEND – AT LEAST TRY !!!!!! LOL
        A TINY BREAK – BUT YOU CAN ALWAYS MAIL ME ON MY ADRESS ON MY GRAVATAR THINGY 🙂
        GO TEAM K AND
        YEAH YEAH YEAH 🙂
        I WILL CHECK AND SEE ON MONDAY 🙂
        HUGE HUG
        XX
        C

        • Hi Catherine! I think it’s very good to disconnect from time to time and get out there and live life! LOL. I can’t stand shoe sharing. A t-shirt or even pants, I can do but shoe just creeps me out. 😉

          It’s still a few weeks (April 24th) until they announce the Amazon semi-finalists. 🙂

          Hope you have an awesome weekend!

          Hugs,
          Kourtney

  15. Cat Forsley says:

    APRIL 24TH ! WILL REMEMBER THAT 🙂
    I WAS VINTAGE SHOPPING YESTERDAY …..
    I LOOKED AT THE SHOES AND JUST TURNED MY HEAD …..UGHHHHH 🙂 LOL …….
    FUNNY !!!!!!!!!
    HAVE A GREAT SUNDAY – 🙂
    YEP DISCONNECTION FROM THE NET IS SOOOOOOOOOOOO HEALTHY …………..
    🙂 XOXO C

  16. Pingback: Awards: FOR ME! « The Diary of a Mad Gay Man

Leave a Reply

