The Precipice in the Present

It’s so much easier to see where you’ve been than where you are going.

I can look back at my life and connect the dots. See what led to successes and misses.

I can weave a beautiful tale of how things came to be.

But at the time, I had no idea where each dot would lead.

It’s scary and exciting. Right now I’m at another dot. A blip on the map of my existence. No idea where I will be next.

There are many many possibilities, but I have no idea where they will lead.

Like a hawk sitting on a precipice, unsure if I will soar or plummet again.

But for the moment I’m going to delight in making it this far.

This entry was posted in Querying, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to The Precipice in the Present

  1. Love the picture – (it’s water and boats) but at second glance, after reading, it fits so well: from point to point, waves, and floating above unknown.
    You’re just so good at putting life into words…and brave enough to leap. (it’s the only way to get anywhere)

  2. themadgayman says:

    I know the feeling. Things are never certain and the only thing you can do to make positive change is to move forward. Trust your instincts. It will all work out in the end, whether you believe it or not. Until then, continue writing such beautiful literature.

  3. crubin says:

    Ahhh, the ever elusive goal of just living in the present. Glad you are able to embrace it. 🙂

  4. jmmcdowell says:

    Fantastic imagery, and we can’t succeed if we don’t try. Sending you positive thoughts and crossing my fingers for you!

    • Thanks JM! So very true. After all the deadlines, I’m in that period where I have no idea what will come of it. I’m waiting on the next round of Amazon contest. Waiting on fulls to agents. Waiting on partials to editors. Wondering if any of the work I’ve done will bring about an agent or a book contract. Or lead to rejection and more revisions. Really trying to stay in the moment and work on my critique partner’s pages and drafting my next novel, but it’s kinda scary to put all that stuff out there and wait. To not have a clear picture of what next yet.

  5. That’s a little bit Zen. I think, really, that chance plays a much bigger role in our lives than we think.

  6. Lafemmeroar says:

    Very very true. I feel the same. I love the last line … we need to appreciate the present and what we’ve accomplished … thus far. We are all beautiful works in progress.

  7. val says:

    Kourtney,
    My dear father “shuffled off this vale of tears” 20 years ago, but he had a lot of short phrases that often come to mind. (A favorite of mine was “ignore stupidity” :- )

    But the one that I believe applies here is “No such thing.” There is no such thing as plummeting, only soaring, from that precipice. That’s what precipices are for.

    No choice but to soar. It’s all Spirit knows—soaring—and you ARE Spirit, just experiencing all this “life” stuff right now in the body you’ve been given for this “time” sequence.

    Nothing equals a time to plummet! “No such thing.”

    Soar, Baby, Soar!

    “Don’t resist the voice; let it guide you.”

    And PS –Keep writing! It cures all that ails us :- )
    Val

    • Val,

      Thanks for sharing such inspiring words! It’s wonderful that your father’s words stay with you still. 🙂 I’ll try to remind myself of your words when I’m afraid of plummeting. I love them “No such thing.”

      I’m working away on my next story. 🙂 It definitely helps distract me.

      Kourtney

  8. It's the little things that make life great.berry says:

    Good for you. Take ur time. Life is what you make of it. Make it great.

    • Thanks Berry! I’m doing my best. I’ve tried to stay in the moment more. But sometimes it’s easier to trace my trip backward than to figure out where it will go next. 🙂

  9. Lovely, Kourtney. Thanks for the inspiration!

    • Glad you liked it, August! You are the most inspirational blogger I know so that is a huge compliment. 🙂 I still use the phrase active gratitude often and reference you to friends. 🙂

  10. Lovey and inspiring! It’s easy to beat ourselves up for not making it far enough and forgetting how far we’ve come already!

    • Thanks Victoria! I do that too. But I also try to look back and think of everything I’ve done to get here. The scary part is where I’ll go next. If all that hard work will pay off or not. 🙂

Leave a Reply

