I’m going to LA in August

I signed up for the 41st Annual International SCBWI Summer Conference in LA in August! So excited. For so many reasons.

Firstly, SCBWI is an AMAZING organization. I can’t wait to attend the 4 day event. I grew so much as a writer after attending the SCBWI Winter Conference in NY. Top notch panels. Fantastic workshops. Excellent opportunities to meet with fellow writers.

Secondly, I get to room with my fabulous critique partner, Kat Bender! We get to hang out and talk about our stories in person–not just over email!

Thirdly, one of my oldest friends, J, lives in LA and I am going to fly in early and spend a few days gallivanting with him before the conference! Going up the CA coast.

Fourthly, one of my writing friends that I met at Killer Nashville, Rae-Ann Parker, is going to be attending the conference so I get to catch up with her too!

I can’t wait to meet so many many talented pre-pubbed writers, buy autographed copies of pubbed author’s books, and interact with agents and editors.

It’s a not to be missed event for YA authors!

Can’t wait for the end of July to come!

This entry was posted in Conferences, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

54 Responses to I’m going to LA in August

  1. Novel Girl says:

    It’s a TBM (To Be Missed) event if you live in Australia. Cue Rebecca (Me).

    Damn it! I swear I’m bunking over in the US for a while. Who’s house can I rent a room from? Any takers?

    • Or it’s the perfect excuse for a summer vacation. ๐Ÿ˜› Conferences are expensive especially when there is airfare and hotels. But this is supposed to be the YA conference to attend. So I’m digging into my savings and going. ๐Ÿ™‚ and I’m adding in as much as I can in CA while I’m there.

  2. kford2007 says:

    Oh, wow! Have fun and keep us up to date on all the happenings.

  3. Exciting! Hmm… Lunch or coffee??? ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Smart to add a coastal drive inโ€”so gorgeous.

  4. crubin says:

    Just make sure to do some shopping on Rodeo Drive with the celebrities. Maybe you can buy a purse for ten grand. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Carrie, I can window shop on Rodeo. ;P I tend to spend my money on conferences and charity auctions for writers where you get editor and agent critiques.

      • crubin says:

        I hope you know I was kidding. I have plenty of handbags from Target, and they suit me just fine. ๐Ÿ™‚ Although, when we were in LA several years ago, my husband and I walked along Rodeo Drive just to celebrity watch. We saw Tim Robbins with his son (no entourage) and Prince in a purple suit getting out of his limo (big entourage). I think I know which type of celebrity I’d be. And it doesn’t involve purple…

        And now that I’ve completely drifted from your original topic, I will kindly remove myself from your blog. At least for today…

        • Yup, I figured you were kidding. Sorry if my reply didn’t convey that! Who but the Kardashians can drop 10k on a bag? ๐Ÿ™‚ I used to live in San Diego so I’ve been to LA a few times. My friend J and I usually pop over to Rodeo for the sights. We once shopped with Tom Hanks in Prada. Literally, every item my friend touched Tom trailed behind him and picked up. It was pretty funny. Glad to hear you would not be wearing a purple suit on Rodeo. ๐Ÿ˜›

          Lol. The drifting makes the conversation continue into new waters. I like it!

  5. Wow, can you fit me in your carry on?

  6. It's the little things that make life great.berry says:

    Good for u.

  7. jmmcdowell says:

    It sounds like a fun trip! It’s always great to catch up with long-distance friends, and also getting to a big conference is the icing on the cake!

    • Normally, I shoot for NY conferences because I can take the train into the city and crash with friends and family. Cuts my costs by 75%. But my crit partner will be there to share the room cost. ๐Ÿ™‚ And it’s my big trip this year.

  8. Sounds like you’re going to have a great time!

    Going to a writer’s conferences has been a dream of mine for a long time. There aren’t too many around here, unfortunately, unless you belong to the different associations. It’s not a writer’s conferences, but I am thinking about going to DragonCon this year, which would be only a 4 hour drive away. Mainly because one of my favorite writers will be there. Still trying to convince the hubby it’s a good idea, though.

    • Too bad. They are a really great thing to do. Maybe you can save up and make a trip of it with your hubby? I’m combining the LA conference with visiting my close friend and meeting up with a blog buddy. It’s my big trip this year. ๐Ÿ™‚

      The associations are really good and have great regional stuff. I’m in RWA, MWA, and SCBWI. I don’t write romance but RWA is open to all genres. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Good luck convincing the hubby to do DragonCon! It’s so cool to meet favorite authors. I was so tongue tied when I met Charlaine Harris. So excited to meet Jay Asher at the SCBWI event.

      Thanks so much for stopping by and commenting too. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Since I do write mostly romance, I’ve been thinking about joining RWA, but their closest local chapter is more than 100 miles away. When I mentioned associations, I was actually referring to the smaller, regional ones. I would feel too much like a fraud joining since I’m not from the area, and will be moving again anyway in a couple of years.

        I don’t think I could ever talk the hubby into going to a writing conference with me. I couldn’t even get him to go to a local NaNoWriMo event. DragonCon is the compromise, for now. It didn’t take much convincing, even though he hates driving in Atlanta, he’s a bit of a sci-fi/fantasy geek. We’re just waiting to see if his work schedule and our finances will allow it..

        • I’d definitely recommend joining RWA. There are tons of things you can do online with them. Classes and workshops. Online critique groups. Even if you can’t get to the national or regional conferences, the online networking is top notch.

          I think it’s cool to join even if you only live in an area for a year or two. I was hesitant to join when i moved to a new area, but my local RWA was very very warm and welcoming.

          I can understand him not attending the conference with you, but maybe he could explore the city while you do the conference? Just a thought. Writing events are very dull to non writers. ๐Ÿ™‚ Totally understand about the scheduling and finances. Fingers crossed things work out for you!

  9. Cat Forsley says:

    YAY BABE —– SOUNDS LIKE FUNNNNNNNNNNNNN !!!!!!! XO

  10. Now that sounds like the perfect vacation! (Bird of Paradise? NIce choice of pix: wild, creative, exotic, and to the point)

    • Yeah definitely mixing business with pleasure on that trip! Lol. All my LA pics aren’t digitalized so I had to take a San Diego pic and I figure birds of paradise are common in both cities. And super cool looking.

  11. themadgayman says:

    Have fun! I am super jealous.

  12. Debra Kristi says:

    A California coastal drive sounds wonderful! As does the conference. I’ve been toying with that one in my head, but already have two in July. But it is right here. Sigh. There is always the kid watch issue to deal with. That is such a biggie. Outside of the initial cost, that is. You will have a fabulous time!

    • My friend and I love to road trip. ๐Ÿ™‚ I did two conferences in January in NY, back to back. It was tough but worth it. I try to space them out because there is so much to take in and learn. It’s hard when they are local too. But you can always attend next year. Aw, I’m very excited. I wasn’t planning to make a major trip like this but then I loved the SCBWI Winter conferences so much I had to do this one too. ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. val says:

    Excellent! Fantastic! Looks like a wonderful opportunity! Have fun.

  14. Cat Forsley says:

    KOURTNEY !!!!! I THOUGHT YOU WROTE 80’S PARTY !!!!!!
    ONLY JUST NOW I SEE 60’S …..!!! DUH SORRY ./…..
    !!!!!!! HAPPY SUNDAY ……..
    60’S REDHEADS ——– HMMMMMMM……. I HAVE NO IDEA …………
    XOXOXO

  15. Bluesander says:

    Sounds amazing. You must share with us your adventures there! (:
    I’ve nominated you for the Reader Appreciation Award. Please do pass it on if you have the time…though it looks like you’ll be busy for a while.

    • I definitely will! Aw thanks so much Bluesander! That’s so kind of you. ๐Ÿ™‚ I will happily accept and pass it along! I’m in NY all this coming week, but next week I’ll but together a post on it! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m popping over to your blog to read more about it. ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. 4amWriter says:

    Another wonderful conference I have to miss. Oh well, I’ll look forward to hearing your report when you return. Have fun, and I hope you get everything out of it that you want!

    • Aw, sorry you can’t be there. I’ll definitely blog the highlights. I am really looking forward to it. First conference where I actually have a couple writer buddies I know there. ๐Ÿ™‚

  17. Wish I could say I’d be there, especially since it’s in my backyard. I probably won’t since I really don’t think I’m writing YA. I know I’ll hear more about it from local groups as it gets closer and I look forward to reading your reports.

    • It took me a while to figure out what my ms was. Once I was sure it was YA, I went to my first SCBWI conference. LA has so many great conferences, maybe try one that’s open to all genres? It might help you figure out your genre. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

