I’m a Semifinalist in the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Contest!

Yesterday at 12:50 pm, I found out I made the semifinals of the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Contest. The top 50. Of the original 5000. Wow.

E and I did a happy dance. I was still in shock. I’m slow to process things. It takes me a few hours to really realize what happened.

I called my parents to share the good news. They were super stoked. Me too.

I’m now the only entry left in fantasy. Wow. I had several amazing fantasy writers with me yesterday in the quarterfinals.

So now the entire manuscript gets read by Penguin editors. They pick the top 3 in late May. And then Amazon voting commences to pick the winner.

I want to say a huge thanks to my blog friends and my personal friends and my family who took the time to read my excerpt and leave a review. It meant so much to me to read your reviews and feel your support. You guys are the best! 1 million thank yous. :)


This entry was posted in Contest, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

80 Responses to I’m a Semifinalist in the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Contest!

  1. limebirdbeth says:

    That is SO awesome Kourtney! So proud of you and what you have achieved!! Don’t forget the Limebirds when you’re a famous author now will you! :P We’ll be right behind you when the voting commences.

    You can do it sista! B x

    • Thanks so much Beth! It’s been a happy surprise every month when I see I’ve somehow made it another round. Fingers crossed I get to the voting round. :) I’ll always remember Limebirds for being so supportive and providing stellar info on writing. You’re bookmarked for life!

      Limebirds rocks!

      Thanks again,

  2. kford2007 says:

    I am so stoked for you!. Good going, girlfriend!!! :) high five. *dance around*

    • Jenny, I still don’t quite believe it. I sent multiple friends to check the website just to be certain. High five back. I never ever thought I would get this far. Thank goodness I said what the hay and entered the contest back in January, :)

  3. jmmcdowell says:

    Woo Hoo! You rock, Kourtney! No matter what happens at this point, you know you have a great book! Can’t wait to read it when it hits bookstores!

    • Thanks JM! Thank goodness for Amazon because agents haven’t really shown much interest in this book during the query process. I think I’d have back-burned it months ago if not for Amazon. :) finger and toes and all possible appendages are crossed for me to be in bookstores. :)

      • jmmcdowell says:

        Do you think reaching at least the top 50 out of 5000 is worth adding to your query? I don’t know what other kinds of awards/publications you can already show to agents, but maybe this could help? Especially since you’re the last fantasy author standing?

        • JM, awesome idea. Great minds think alike. :) Just last week I added the quarterfinalist to my query. I figured it shows I’m serious about writing. Even more excited to be able to write Semifinalist now. I can’t believe I’m the last fantasy person. Weirdly, I love seeing #1 next to my title, even when there is no #2. :)

  4. Congratulations!! That is an amazing accomplishment. I really hope you win :) Good luck.

  5. Sally Panayiotou says:

    That’s amazing. Congrats, you must be so excited. When do you find out?

    • Sally, I’m so so happy and grateful. May 22nd between 12 and 1 pm EST they post the names of the three finalists. Then Amazon voting commences to select the winner. So I get a month to be a Semifinalist. My family is taking me out to dinner to celebrate. :)

  6. kiperoo says:

    Congrats!! It says great things to make it that far. :-)

  7. stuartart says:

    Woohoo! Go get’em.

  8. Marc Schuster says:

    This is really great news! Congratulations!

  9. La La says:

    Wow that’s great. I am so happy for you. Go get ’em!

  10. Cat Forsley says:

    ROCK IT ….!!!!!!!!!!!! GIMME A K
    Y ? CUZ YOU ROCK :)
    CONGRATS ……………….

  11. kathils says:

    That gets both a *squee* and a major, no holes barred, *happy dance* in the grandest Snoopy manner! Heck, I’ll even get the champagne flowing but it’s early yet so we better make it mamosas!

  12. Samir says:

    How amazing is that… the only fantasy entry left! Wow! Many congrats and I hope you’re in the top 3 ;-)

    • It’s so crazy to be the last entry left in fantasy. Gotta say I love that #1 next to my title. :) *dream*
      Thanks so much Samir. fingers, toes, and all limbs are crossed. I’ll be a pretzel for the next month!

  13. Congrats Kourtney! I’m so excited for you! :D

    • Thanks Traci! I never have ever placed in any writing contest. It’s pretty awesome. To think several judges thought my writing was good enough to get me to the semifinals. I’m just shocked. And really really thankful.

  14. Congrats, Kourtney! I knew you could do it! So well deserved. LOVED, loved your excerpt—in case I haven’t mentioned that yet. ;)

    • Thanks August! I’m so glad you were at my side cheering me on. There were times self-doubt crept in and you helped me combat it.Your Amazon review and your Twitter and your FB support have been so generous and wonderful. You made it impossible not to believe in me! :)

  15. crubin says:

    Big, huge, congratulations!! This is exciting for me, and I’m only a peripheral observer! But it’s always fun to root for others, especially those so deserving. It is obvious how much work you put into your baby, and just getting this far is an amazing accolade. But I’m still keeping my fingers crossed for that final win for you. :)

    • Thanks Carrie! My family is getting wicked excited. They love winning stuff, even by proxy. :) Aw thanks! This book has been the hardest to get agent interest in. I thank goodness daily that I tried this contest back in January. Otherwise, I might have given up on it. I love that I get to keep the title. Regardless of what happens next I am a Semifinalist. Though getting to the top 3 would be beyond my dreams. And it includes a trip to Seattle. OMG, if I won, I think I would pass out. :) but it would totally be worth passing out for. :)

  16. Debra Kristi says:

    Woohoo! Super fantastic! That is amazing Kourtney. Way to go!

  17. CC MacKenzie says:

    Woo Hoo! Great news! Keeping my fingers crossed you go all the way!

  18. jbw0123 says:

    Rooting for you!!

  19. Jonathan M. Wright says:

    Congratulations on the achievement. This is an amazing bit of news! Good luck and I hope you make it to the top 3 so I can vote a billion times for you.

  20. It's the little things that make life great.berry says:

    Great job. Wow wow. That’s awesome.

  21. That’s so wonderful, Kourtney! As someone else said, no matter what else happens, you’re a winner.

    • Thanks Carol. :) I do like the rounds being staggered out over 6 months. It really let’s me experience a win. I love being a Semifinalist. That is so beyond my wildest expectations. My works in front of Penguin Editors. This is my dream. If I get to go on from here, that’s awesome. If I stay here, this is a great great place to be. :)

  22. Pete Denton says:

    This is fantastic news. I will be keeping my fingers crossed, Kourtney.

  23. 4amWriter says:

    So awesome. I’ve got my fingers crossed and wishing the best for you!

  24. Laura says:

    Congrats congrats congrats! Virtual high fives !

  25. klynwurth says:

    Kourtney! This is amazing! I am so excited for you… You’re such an inspiring and generous person, here online, it’s easy to believe in good things for you. I’m really rooting for you to go the distance. This is so great! I can’t stop using explanation points! ;)

    • Kelly, thanks so much! I think this is one of those times where exclamation points are a necessity! :) Aw, I try to share what’s been given to me by fellow bloggers. Just reciprocating. :) I really appreciate your support. Hoping to make it further, but delighting in how far I’ve come in this contest. :)

      • klynwurth says:

        Delighting is just right, as well as realizing that your writing must be VERY good to compete this well. I hope it encourages you. And speaking of encouragement, I’ve submitted one of my stories to eight literary magazines this week–in part because you “listened” and cheered me on. Thanks for that. More exclamation points !!!!!!! for you!

  26. Congrats Kourtney! So exciting! Good luck good luck!

    • Thanks Victoria! I’m still absorbing this. Lol. I can’t believe my novel made it this far. I never thought when I entered I would go 1 round let alone 3. :) Hopeful to make it further. But really happy I made it this far.

  27. Emmie Mears says:

    That is so awesome, Kourtney! I am super happy for you! What an awesome feeling! I wish you all the luck in the world.

    • Thanks so much Emmie! And thanks for the awesome review! I’ve been thinking about you all week being back in NY. I went to the Thai place we ate at in January. They have a 7$ lunch special that rocks. I still can’t believe it. This book felt like my best work, but agents haven’t been super responsive to it. Amazon is my hero. :)

  28. zelmare says:

    Awesome! And I’m sure a dream come true. Congratulations!!! :)

  29. Woohoo! That’s wonderful, Kourtney, congratulations, and big happy dances for you from over here in Toronto, Canada :) You go girl!

  30. OK due to assorted nonsense, I’m slowly catching up on email/reading. Still- whoo whoo! Congrats!!! Will happy dance with German now for you…see…oh, see large dog toe nail imprint on top of my bare foot – am hobbling happy dance.
    Any way – great achievement – all fingers crossed!

    • No worries. I was in NY all week and got behind on my blog reading this week. :) Very much appreciate your congrats and the lengths you went to to celebrate. Ouchy! Doggy claws on top of bare feet. Please stop the dance for your own safety! :P Just twirl in a circle a few times. :) And thanks so much for the positive thoughts. I find out May 22 if I am a finalist. Dare I dream? :)

  31. J.C.V. says:

    Congratulations Kourtney! Your work has paid off. Congrats on making it to the top 50, that is amazing! Keep up the good writing!

  32. subtlekate says:

    Can’t wait to find out how this went for you :) OK not as much as you can’t wait, but I’m excited for you.

    • Aw thanks so much Kate. :) I found out last week I didn’t make the final 3. But I am really happy I made the semifinals (Top 50). Hoping this contest is the beginning of more good stuff for this book. :)

      • stuartart says:

        Fantastic news! I wish you every success! I know what hard work getting yourself out there is. :)

        • Thanks Stuart! :) It gets easier with each time. This is the first contest I actually advanced a few rounds so that was a really thrilling experience. :) I didn’t make the finals but the top 50 is still great to me. :)

  33. Pingback: The Beauty of Something New « August McLaughlin's Blog

  34. Pingback: Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Contest: The Quarter-Finalists’ Excerpts Are Up | The Write Transition

Leave a Reply

