Brenda Novak’s Charity Auction Prizes for Writers and Readers

Every May, Brenda Novak has an on-line auction to benefit diabetes research. This month long auction includes editor, agent, NYT bestselling author critiques of your query, synopsis, partial, and full manuscript. There are lunches with pubbed authors too. And signed books. And vacation getaways. Hundreds of items are listed there.

I won a few of the auctions back in in 2010. I got feedback on my first 50-100 pages of my manuscript from agents, editors, and published authors. Their feedback helped me rework the beginning and go on to enter that manuscript in the 2012 Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Contest, where I made semifinalist. I don’t think I would have spotted the issues without their feedback and made the tweaks necessary to get the manuscript in shape for this contest.

As part of my auction wins, I didn’t just receive written agent feedback. I got to do a half-hour follow-up call with two top notch agents–Jessica Faust and Scott Eagan. Being able to ask questions helped tremendously in interpreting their feedback.

The pubbed authors (Julie Kenner and Gemma Halliday) who critiqued my work still check in with me from time to time on my progress. They gave terrific feedback and made me feel a part of the writing community!

If you are at a place where your manuscript has been completed, revised, and revised a few more times and you can’t see anything else wrong with it–this is a great way to give to charity and get industry feedback.

Here’s where you find all the critiques for writer

Ifย  you’re an insatiable reader, you might want to check out all the cool stuff for readers, which include signed ARCs and gift cards.

There’s also vacation getaways and Once in A Lifetime Experiences that might be your dream come true.

The auction lasts the entire month of May, but throughout the month there are different auctions opening and closing and some are open for very short periods, so make sure you check them out and bid for yourself and for diabetes research.

This entry was posted in Auctions and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Brenda Novak’s Charity Auction Prizes for Writers and Readers

  1. Cat Forsley says:

    MISS K XO
    YOU ARE DOING SUCH GREAT STUFF ……….
    SO GLAD TO BE YOUR BLOGGING BUDDY XOXOX

    • Aw Catherine, thanks so much! This was a terrific auction to participate in and win prizes. The money went to charity and I got invaluable feedback from industry people. Win-win. ๐Ÿ™‚

      And you’re a lovely blogging buddy.

      XOXO

  2. Yatin says:

    What a novel idea!

  3. crubin says:

    Thanks for bringing this to my attention. I don’t think I’m there yet, but I’ve tucked the site under my favorites for next year. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. jmmcdowell says:

    What a wonderful auction idea and for a great cause. I lost a childhood friend to complications from diabetes in her early forties. So it’s high on my awareness list.

    • JM, I’m sorry to hear about your loss. Diabetes research is so important. Brenda’s son has diabetes so this is a cause that is very near and dear to her heart. She does a fantastic job with this each year. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. What a cool idea – certainly wIn-win. Thanks for sharing!

  6. What a great opportunity and cause, Kourtney. I’ll definitely pass this on!

  7. 4amWriter says:

    Great post. Diabetes runs in my family, and I personally have to be careful with my carb intake because of the risk of getting the disease. I love auctions like this, and will certainly check it out further. Thanks.

    • Thanks Kathryn! It runs in my family too. And I do the low carb lifestyle (most of the time). It has to be hard to get it as a child. These auctions are really awesome opportunities. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. It's the little things that make life great.berry says:

    Thanks for such helpful info. You give us great resources.

Leave a Reply

