A weekend of Tech Glitches

This is pretty much how my entire weekend has been. I thought switching from my MacBook Pro to a new MacBook Pro would be much easier than converting from a PC to Macbook Pro 5 years ago.

WRONG. So utterly wrong.

First mistake: Transferring files from Time Machine. I backed up everything to my external drive on Time Machine at noon Saturday. I should have had all my files there to transfer over. It took about an hour. But guess what? Some files didn’t transfer. Not new ones. But old ones. Scratching my head here.

I do not have time to do a file comparison of both laptops and determine what did and didn’t transfer over.
So I call Apple Tech support.

They advise me to set up a new profile and transfer from Mac to Mac.
They ask if I have a fire wire. NO um and if I should have one shouldn’t you have included one or added one on when I made my online purchase?!

Mistake #2: Trying to use wifi to transfer files. At first the computers wouldn’t talk. Then they start talking and tell me it will take 72 hours. 72 hours where I can’t use either computer. It drop to 40 but remains there for 9 hours.

Mistake #3: I attempt to buy a fire wire. I bring a photo of my old laptop fire wire slots and I bring the new laptop manual and I know its an 800 port. Great. Except Wallmart (which sells fire wires online) has none in the store. Despite selling laptops there. Then I go to Radioshack and they tell me the fire wires are sold based on pins (4, 6, or 9) and come in combos of 4 to 4, 6 to 6, 9 to 9, 4 to 6, 4 to 9, 6 to 9. They each sell for $35. I have no idea what an 800 port translates to in a pin system. Nor do they. Great.

Mistake #4: I start to add my pictures over and realize that won’t work because they are under the profile I will have to delete because that profile is an incomplete version of my files.

A third call to Apple Support gets me the translation of an 800 port being a 9 pin fire wire. They also look up what fire wire my old laptop takes. Turns out it’s also 9 pin.

So 24 hours into the setup process and nothing has been accomplished. Actually worse than nothing because I have to reset up everything. Beyond back to square one. I think I’m at square negative 10.

My dad picked up the fire wire Sunday afternoon, but hello Mother’s Day so I couldn’t work on this stupid crap. So now my laptop movement is put off until Monday when I have meetings. So Tuesday–nope plans. Maybe Wednesday. So beyond frustrating. Thank goodness I only do this once every 5 years. Otherwise, I would lose my freaking mind.

This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

61 Responses to A weekend of Tech Glitches

  1. I feel your pain! I just got my first Mac and spent all day yesterday trying to get my iPhone to sync. In the end I had to do a restore and forgot to save my contacts so have no phone numbers now!!

    • Ugh that horrible! Did you contact Apple? Sometimes they have a backup of the phone. My Droid deleted all my contacts once and I restored them because Verizon was backing up the list continually (and I had no idea). I finally got the fire wire but am having issues getting my iphoto library off my back up drive and back onto my laptop to transfer it over to my new laptop. Grrr. And the new laptop can’t just take it directly off the back up drive because it has trouble maintaining the connection.

  2. stuartart says:

    I hear you. Technology is great – When It Works!!!!!!! When it doesn’t it’s the most frustrating thing on the planet. And breathe….. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Samir says:

    Ouch! It’s never a straight forward process…

  4. Ottabelle says:

    Woohoo for electronic bs /sarcasm

    • Seriously, what would I have done with my weekend without it? Or this week? Gasp. I might have actually written something. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Ottabelle says:

        Hahahaha! You could have gotten some notebook paper ๐Ÿ˜‰

        • Sadly, I am used to drafting on my laptop. And my mind can’t put aside this tech issue yet and focus on another. It refuses to move forward until this tech crap is resolved. Though if it goes on a few more days, I may take pen to paper to keep working. I hate having a plan for a week and having tech problems screw it all up. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Cat Forsley says:

    K———–
    LOTS OF GLITCHES GOING ON
    WAS READING ABOUT SOLAR FLARES
    YES I AM A SCIENCE NERD

    MAKES ALL COMMUNICATION GO WACKY
    LET ME KNOW IF YOU WANT THE ARTICLES I WAS CHECKING OUT
    HUGGS
    XX
    C

  6. Yatin says:

    I am an IT professional & Apple still frays me! iPhone/iPad is good but using itune is not intuitive for me.Last time I used mac was in college more than a decade ago and became fan of Bill Gates. I hear your pain.

    • Thanks Yatin! Good to hear you’ve had issues too. I find itunes not intuitive as well. I love my MacBook after my third PC laptop erased its own hard drive. It was just too much for me. My MacBook lasted 5 years. Unfortunately this transition to a newer model has been nothing but agony. I have a scheduled call with Apple tonight. LOL. And I’m with a senior tech person because this is my 6th call in 3 days.

  7. Quaking and shivering…waves of nausea. Sending tech healing energy!

  8. Elliot says:

    That sounds like a lot of hard work. The last time I switched from one Mac to the other, after a quick time machine backup I just plugged a cable into both (not even sure what cable), and a couple of hours later it was done.

    I had more problems updating the software on my iPhone.

    • That’s the dream Elliot. ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s supposed to be a nice quick transition like that. It was last time. This time, er, not so much. The problem is there are several problems. My iphoto library is too big to be on my old laptop and my new laptop is having trouble reading stuff off my external drive where the iphoto library is now. Oh and before that I didn’t have a fire wire. USB is too slow to transfer the profile and applications. Ugh. I’ve learned more tech terms in 3 days than I ever wanted to learn.

      Eek, I was contemplating switching from Droid to iPhone. Maybe I’ll delay that a few months until this is a distant memory. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  9. deanjbaker says:

    good to see this – helps to understand more..

  10. zelmare says:

    And they say technology is supposed to make things simpler… ๐Ÿ™‚ Good luck with all of that.

    • LOL. Right now, I kinda want to smack them for lying to me.;P The MacBook migration issues are continuing. It may take up another couple of days to straighten this all out. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  11. crubin says:

    With all of that frustration, I imagine you would have come out the victor in a mixed martial arts ring had you stepped inside. Whether you’ve trained in martial arts or not! I can feel your pain, believe me. Technology is a blessing but it can also be a huge time-suck.

    • Now would be the appropriate time to recruit me as an assassin ala Black Widow. All this anger and frustration could really use an outlet. ;P

      • crubin says:

        Ha ha! You’ve got my vote. In fact, I’ll sponsor you. ๐Ÿ™‚

        • LOL. Thanks Carrie! ๐Ÿ™‚ I keep remembering how she took out all those guys while tied to a chair. Did you see The Avengers yet?

          • crubin says:

            I’ve seen it twice. And before that makes me look too geeky, remember I have two boys (that’s my defense and I’m sticking to it.) Loved the movie!!

          • Carrie, I want to go again and again. It was sooooo good. And don’t feel geeky at all. I have boxes of comic books in my basement. I wasn’t huge into The Avengers, but I remember them from the epic crossovers with X-Men. ๐Ÿ˜‰ My friend Kat pointed out how amazing it was that each character had their own arc in the movie. I think they did a terrific job of showing instead of telling too. ๐Ÿ™‚ LOL–what happens when writers watch movies.

          • crubin says:

            I agree. And on a less sophisticated note, the eye candy wasn’t bad either…

          • Oooh, let’s get less sophisticated. Who was your fav hero? I loved Iron Man’s wit and Robert Downey Jr is so yummie. Captain America was properly haunted and I adore Chris Evans.

          • crubin says:

            Believe it or not, it’s Hawkeye. I just like that little dude for some reason. Well, once he was good again. And Jeremy Renner is a great actor. I used to watch him on a TV cop show called “The Unusuals.” It only lasted a season, which was too bad, because it was very clever.

          • I do believe it. Honestly, each of the heros had their own unique appeal and attractiveness. I love archery so I really liked him for that too. Isn’t that what always happens to the clever shows? ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. Laura says:

    Ugh computers are such a pain sometimes!

    • Laura, I had a bit of a breakthrough last night. Somehow all my pictures (60GB) transferred to my laptop in a matter of hours. Unclear how this is possible over a USB. But I consider it an Apple miracle. ๐Ÿ˜‰ One more hurdle left.

      • Laura says:

        I’ve been toying with the idea of getting a new iMac (Had mine since 2007) Luckily I can’t afford one right now or I think I’d be in the same painful boat you’ve been in LOL glad you’ve made it thru a hurdle. There’s light at the end of the tunnel!

        • Laura my old one was from 2007 too. It started getting the rainbow pie of death, safari stopped working right. Word got glitchy. I knew they were warning signs of an impending death. So I switched. Honestly if Apple just told me I needed a fire wire to transfer files and made sure I purchased the right one before my online checkout everything would have been much smoother. The iphoto library being on the external hard drive causes a problem because the new mac kept trying to make the external drive it’s time machine backup and wouldn’t read the files off it correctly. Once I turned time machine off, the external drive worked great and all my photos transferred in a few hours. Today was 3 hours dealing with a Microsoft issue. The CD for Microsoft Office had a malfunction. An hour on the phone with Microsoft tech support resolved it. So to be on the safe side, when you have the funds, just allocate 4-5 days to dealing with tech crap. Also have a book to read. I finished a YA novel while I was waiting for things to download or waiting for tech support or waiting for the migration to finish. LOL.

  13. It's the little things that make life great.berry says:

    I’d call apple corporate and demand money to compensate the aggravation. You should tell customer what they need beforehand. Poor business. Sounds incredibly frustrating. Sorry.

    • The first few issues were definitely Apple’s, but the iphoto library being on my external drive and being hard to transfer is my fault. The fire wire is all them definitely. They have terrific customer support and I mentioned on a survey and to an advisor that they should make it clear that a fire wire is needed before I make the purchase. Yeah, it was a definite stress inducer for me. The duration of this coupled with the inability to work for several days is not cool.

  14. jmmcdowell says:

    It’s horror stories like this that keep me old school. My computing is very straightforward, so once my software’s loaded on a new computer, I just pop the files on a thumb drive and copy them that way. Slow, yes. But it wouldn’t take the whole weekend!

    Hope it starts going smoothly so you can get back to writing!

    • JM, when it works, and I stress when–it’s 2-3 hours to move all your applications and your settings to a new MacBook Pro. It’s pretty cool. Itunes moved over. All my boookmarks in Firefox too. For some reason the new laptop hated my old external drive and they were not getting along. Once I figured out what fire wire cable I needed and got it, the actual transfer time was 2.5 hours. It’s just the hours of frustration that would not have happened had Apple simply told me I needed a fire wire at checkout and looked up my serial number on the old MacBook Pro to tell me which fire wire I needed.

      I think all my photos 32,000 (60GB) moved over last night. Unclear on how. Now I’m fixing the microsoft office installation. Then it may be able to work. ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. Oh, I can so relate….I control-alt-deleted wayyyy too many times today… ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • At one point, Apple Tech Support is like you need to hit Command, option, R and P and the start button simultaneously. I was like okay we are now laying twister with my fingers. It seemed to help though. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

