Voting for the Amazon Finalists Is Open

I want to thank every one of my amazing blog followers for supporting me throughout the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Contest. It was a terrific experience and I’m delighted to have been a semifinalist.

That being said, the contest is still going on…for the top three finalists in YA and in adult fiction.

And now is the really cool part, where you get to vote for the winner for YA and adult fiction. The two writers who gets a contract with Penguin.

I’ve read through the excerpts and there is a crop of wickedly talented writers for each category. I don’t feel bad about losing out to them. 🙂 I’ve place my votes and have my favorites I’m rooting for.

If you have time, stop by and vote for your pick of the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Contest Finalists . It’s pretty amazing to know your vote could change someone’s life by helping them reach the holy grail–a publishing contract.

 

This entry was posted in Contest and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Voting for the Amazon Finalists Is Open

  1. kford2007 says:

    I read the excerpts and voted. It was a no-brainer for me, but you’re right. What power we have, huh???

    • Thanks Jenny! Tremendous power over six people’s career. I wish them all the best of luck and I’m sure whoever is in 2nd and third place will be scooped up soon by publishers. 🙂

  2. thx Kourtney. I voted.

    • Thanks Louise. It’s good to support the finalists in their quest for publication. I like that each story was unique. It made it a tad harder to choose who to vote for. 😉

  3. Nice choice of picture for this post: so much like writing and publishing. A peaceful beautiful scene at first glance. A rocky shore full of sliding unstable surfaces, loose hazards that can make you fall and skin your knee – and keep some down…Finally getting to that cool water that looks clear, but hides secret hazards also in it’s depths – Some sink beneath the waves or get sliced up by hidden underwater obstacles or even get tangled in odd things lurking out of sight…Some exhausted, tire of treading water and surrender, walking away. But for those who dare, they realize those waters are full of nutrients and unexpected bits of life.
    Yea for you Kourtney swimming with the best in those waters. Know you’ll be refreshed and pushing through laps again. No doubt, you’ll make quite a splash.
    Meanwhile, you are right. Time to cheer on those in the final heat. Who knows. Someday…

    • Wow, that an amazing metaphor. And very true. Thanks! I wanted to support the final 6 today because this is truly a terrific accomplishment. I’m so glad I was able to make it a few rounds with them. I’m excited to hear who wins–they announce it June 16th.

  4. crubin says:

    The fact that you would go on to post about voting for the finalists in order to support these authors makes me admire you even more. Grandma H would be proud!

    • Thanks Carrie! I attribute it to my indulging all the emotions of losing last week. Sometimes you have to wallow to bounce back. I’ve also gotten a couple requests for my manuscripts since I added the contest to my bio paragraph. It makes it easier to be grateful and gracious. 🙂 Aw, thanks for saying so. She’s a tough one to make proud. She was pretty unimpressed by the entire contest thing.

  5. jmmcdowell says:

    You are an agent’s dream client, Kourtney! Helpful, hard-working, and all-around nice to work with, I’ll bet!

    And congratulations on those new manuscript requests! I’m thinking it won’t be long before we’re able to buy your first book, too! 🙂

    • Aw thanks JM! 🙂 I try to embody all those things. Thanks, I really think the Amazon contest helped contribute to those requests. 🙂 I added it to my bio and I even retooled my query for Six Train based off what the PW reviewer said. Hoping for all those good things to happen. But if they don’t, I’ll keep writing and query the next book when it’s polished.

  6. So gracious of you, Kourtney. I will definitely take a look at the finalists…(and hope that I am able to vote for you next year :))

    • Thanks Anne! It’s pretty cool to see which stories made it to the finals. They are all very intriguing. The adult fiction really ran the gamut with a time-travel thriller, a turn-of-the-century mystery, and a story about the Hawaiians retaking their land. Pretty hard to compare such vastly different books. Just went with my gut on what I enjoyed more as a reader. Maybe I’ll try one of my YA books next year! 🙂

  7. darkjade68 says:

    Hey Kourtney, I’ve just given you My “Dedicated Follower Award” http://darkjade68.wordpress.com/2012/05/26/dedicated-follower-award/ Thanks so much for all of your Support/”Likes”

    DarkJade-

  8. Debra Kristi says:

    Hopefully they are still running this. I had to take some time away. I just downloaded the excerpts and will get to reading shortly so that I can hopefully get a vote in on time. 🙂

    • I think it ends May 30th, so you should be okay to vote. I hope things are okay and you needed time to disconnect and write. 🙂 No worries if you can’t. I just wanted to support the finalists. And show my appreciation for the contest. 🙂

Leave a Reply

