How to Eat Tostitos with a Hint of Lime Properly

There are certain foods that are forever linked with my best friend’s beach house: oatmeal chocolate chip cookies, peanut butter kiss cookies, pasta, and Tostitos with a Hint of Lime.

So many summers were spent snacking on those delicious foods. For me, Tostitos with a Hint of Lime are the ultimate beach memory.

They are salty, sweet, tangy, bitter all at once. A carnival for my taste buds.

I bought a bag and risked ruining the memories by eating them inland.

And it happened. They weren’t unputdownable. They tasted okay but nothing like how they taste at the beach house.

So I tried to figure out what was wrong.

It couldn’t just be the magic of Ant’s beach house. Or could it?

Dum..de..dum…

Actually, it was a trick of the taste buds.

We always eat something sweet–like Ant’s mom’s cookies before we dive into the Tostitos with a Hint of Lime.

So I experimented by eating chocolate chips and then eating the Tostitos with a Hint of Lime Chips.

UNPUTDOWNABLE.

For some reason my taste buds have to have a hit of sweet first in order to appreciate the limey goodness of the Tostitos.

Still, I think I might keep them for beach time. It’s such a perfect beach food. And I don’t want to be gorging on them when inland since I spend most of my time inland. ๐Ÿ™‚

This entry was posted in Food and Cooking, Personal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to How to Eat Tostitos with a Hint of Lime Properly

  1. Samir says:

    Funny, I’d be the other way, first tangy or sour, then sweet. But what are Tostitos?

    • They are a corn tortilla chip. Tostitos is just a brand name. ๐Ÿ˜‰ My friend’s mom always puts out a spread of sweet desserts after dinner. Brownies and cookies. Smores pizza. It’s amazing. But after all that sweetness, we craved salty to balance it out. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Yatin says:

    Summer Time snacks! My wife & elder one loves sour, even for snacks. They both add a dash of lemon to almost everything! Couple of weeks back I picked up a bag of chips (regional brand from south) from an ethnic grocery store, it was lime flavored spicy & they loved it a lot. And here’s another idea in your post! Looks like I am looking forward to a “sour” summer ๐Ÿ™‚ I need to find something equivalent to suit mine & younger one’s taste bud!

    • Have you tried salt and vinegar potato chips? There’s a nice sourness there too! LOL, With all the sweets around at summer picnics you need the sour to to balance it out. ๐Ÿ™‚ Hmm. What do you and younger one prefer?

      • Yatin says:

        Yes we’ve tried that too. Vinegar is not that popular around us. I like to balance the sweet with spice & younger one’s on board with that too. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. kford2007 says:

    never tried that. Hmm.. I love Tostitos with lime. I eat mine with either a mango or watermelon salsa. Yum!

    • Ah that has to be delicious. Both have a hint of sweet to compliment the chip. It’s weird because I never realized the connection. We just always snacked on sweets and then hit the Tostitos with lime. Then I tried them alone and was so disappointed. Until I realized the sweet connection. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Tostitos? I think they’re something we don’t get over here!

  5. Funny, I have several things that when I inhale their aroma I am immediately taken to the place I associate them with. You make me positively yearn for the ocean, and the Tostitos with lime are working for too.

  6. crubin says:

    Ha ha! Yes, some temptations are best left to the beach. We sometimes go to Old Orchard Beach in Maine where my step-dad has a condo, and although I’m not normally a fanatic for pizza-by-the-slice, there’s some food vendors there that make a slice of pizza taste more fantastic than it ever would in Ohio. So I know just what you mean. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Especially since you can burn those calories off swimming or walking the sandbars. ๐Ÿ™‚ Yum. There is nothing like a truly fantastic slice. I’m more of a doughy crust person. It’s a whole memory thing. Like apple fritters and cotton candy should be reserved for state fairs and carnivals.

  7. klynwurth says:

    So you, like Proust, had “an episode of the madeleine!” Given my own devotion to chocolate, I’m not surprised that it had an important role in summoning your beachside bliss. Good post…again.

    • It was so frustrating when the taste wasn’t right. I felt like a detective trying to re-create the perfect Tostitos moment and then I laughed at how methodical I was about getting the taste right. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Thanks!

  8. La La says:

    I had this experience too, and my mouth is watering just thinking about it!

  9. Unputdownableโ€”great word! Pairing salt, fat and sweet makes for the most appealing foods for sure. Restaurants know it, and apparently so do the Tostitos makers! Fun stuff, Kourtney.

    Hmm… And since I just tasted a blueberry brownie, the salty snack sounds good. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • LOL. We keep circling the bag at the beach. It’s hysterical. Definitely true. It amazes me how different they taste based solely on what you ate before them. ๐Ÿ™‚ Ooh, blueberry brownie sounds great.

  10. Great phrase – it says it exactly! “A carnival for my taste buds” (Oh those tostitos – don’t last long around here – they ARE summer …but we’ve found they go great with chili in winter)

  11. jmmcdowell says:

    This is the kind of experience that would make a great character “quirk” in one of your books. I could see a character trying to figure out this sort of thing as part of a “sidestory” in the book. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I will eat baklava anywhere I can get it, but it never tastes as good as it did at my cousin’s house when my aunt would bake it. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Great idea JM! I try to funnel my weird moments into my characters. This was one of those really intensely serious detective moments over a ridiculous case of tastbuditis. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Yum, backlava. ๐Ÿ™‚ That sounds like a terrific memory.

  12. EllaDee says:

    Sometimes food is about place. When we take a break to our house up on the coast, we eat an almost entirely different menu to in the city. Even though we’re at home, it lends a holiday rather than everyday feel. Tortilla chips with home made salsa and/or guacamole, mmm… Summer time.

    • Very true. It’s important to change everything when you get away. It makes it more memorable and special to separate daily life from vacay life. Tortilla chips and home made guac rock. ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. 4amWriter says:

    Sounds to me like you need to make a sweet/tangy concoction in Grandma H’s kitchen and try to market it! ๐Ÿ™‚

    But I know what you mean, how certain tastes and smells correlate perfectly with your memories. You can’t truly replicate it anywhere else.

    • It’s so true. A rum and diet coke at the beach tastes better. So do the chips. But at least they taste pretty good now. Lol. Grandma H’s stew is the thing I remember most about her kitchen. Gotta get her to make it again. ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. Oh, dear. Now look what you’ve done, Kourtney…It’s bedtime and all I can think of is Hint of Lime Tostitos! Maybe I will dream about them. Fun post!

  15. zelmare says:

    I have NO idea what you’re talking about, but it sounds good. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

