What’s Your Magic Word?

There is one word.

One word I utter one time.

No matter where in the house Emerson is, he comes running.

It’s his magic word. The thing he drops everything for. The thing he loves most in the world.

Strawberry.

I’m not sure how it became the ultimate for him. It just is.

Blueberry might get him to come on the fifth call.

But strawberry is like a beacon in the night summoning Bat-Dog.

Which made me wonder, what is my magic word? Coconut? Publishing-deal?

And what is yours?

This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to What’s Your Magic Word?

  1. kford2007 says:

    peanut butter. No matter what they’re doing, they’ll come running for that.

  2. Wow…a magic word! Well, I don’t know if it’s magic but it is my favoriteโ€”Love.

  3. right now my magic word is “library” – works to get me out of the house – and able to leave without any additional list of errands…(respect for the written word?)

  4. La La says:

    Cookie. Perhaps your dog and I should switch.

  5. Elliot says:

    I think if you shouted chocolate, I would come running.

    How was your trip?

  6. mj monaghan says:

    Hmm, this is a great question. “Blog” may be my word. For my little Duke, if I say “treat” he comes running.

  7. Carrie Rubin says:

    I’m ashamed to admit it, but it’s probably “chocolate.” Oh, and maybe “beach.” ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. jmmcdowell says:

    I’m with Elliot on this one: chocolate. I’m there. ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Another vote for “chocolate,” here. That is my serious weakness.

    My dog knows a few words, though sometimes I wonder if he knows his own name, considering the way he responds. His favorite is definitely “cookie.” I swear he can hear it from a mile away. He also knows the word “bath,” but that one makes him hide under the bed.

  10. CC MacKenzie says:

    Vet!

    OMG, even spelling it makes my mother’s dog cringe and do a belly walk under the bed. It’s so funny because the vet is lovely and treats him like a king. But nope, he knows even when my mother wrote the word down on a piece of paper that he was going to the vet for shots.

    Bless him. He’s a West Highland terrior. I still miss him too.

    Great post.

  11. zelmare says:

    How delightful! I will have to think about that – interesting question…

  12. Right now? Probably “Olympics.” What a great question!!

  13. tough question – I’m going to have to give it some thought. Perhaps ‘thanks” would do it. or help….but I’ll give it some thought

  14. EllaDee says:

    “Happy”, of course but “wine” gets a look in too ๐Ÿ˜‰ Wine means it’s time to stop for the day.

  15. 4amWriter says:

    Hmm, I don’t know if I have just one. But I have to say, the word “Mommy” does me in every time.

Leave a Reply

