Pink Taco: Restaurant Review

While at the SCBWI Conference in LA, we were in walking distance of the Century City Westfield Mall. We saw the Pink Taco restaurant and were intrigued. Kat and I promised to check it out before we left LA.

On our last night in the city, we got a roomy corner booth and dug into some of the tastiest Mexican food I’ve had since leaving San Diego in 2004. I had to have my guacamole and chips and margarita. So worth the calories. The chips were warm and crispy with the right amount of salt. The salsas rocked!

 

The restaurant is super fun inside. Reminds me of a festival of quirkiness.

But the carne asada. Dear Lord the carne asada. I’d been craving it the entire two weeks I’d been in California. It was Fan-Freaking-Tastic!

For dessert, Kat and I split churros with chocolate and caramel dipping sauce. So decadent.

This was what our booth looked like. We sunk into those cushions and didn’t move for almost 2 hours.

And as is typical of LA, our waiter was smoking hot. And flirted with us just enough to add to the dining experience.

Such a wonderful way to wrap up a conference!

This entry was posted in Food and Cooking, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Pink Taco: Restaurant Review

  1. Carrie Rubin says:

    Now I’m craving Mexican food. Well, it IS the weekend, which means a break from cooking and a meal out. You’ve helped me make my choice for tonight. Too bad it can’t be the Pink Taco. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Sounds like they did it just right: food, atmosphere, – and waiter!

  3. 4amWriter says:

    I love a cool Mexican restaurant with all the trimmings. This one looks great!

  4. berry says:

    Cant eat mexican.

  5. jmmcdowell says:

    A girls-night-out dinner with great food and a hot waiter. How does it get better than that? ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • The food and the waiter were delish! ๐Ÿ˜‰ The best part was hours of talking with Kat, a fellow writer and the best crit partner I’ve ever had. We can talk about POV and feedback and what realistic fiction means for hours. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Elliot says:

    Sounds nice. Got to like some tasty Mexican food.

  7. Debra Kristi says:

    I love mexican food! I need to check this place out. That’s the thing about living so close, you never go to these places.

    • I miss good Mexican food. The east coast has a serious dearth of it. We stumbled on it due to proximity to the conference. ๐Ÿ™‚ When I lived in NYC, I was a Zagat fiend. I loved trying as many places as I could. But that was my 20s. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  8. Well, now my stomach’s gumbling…:)

Leave a Reply

