California Coastal Drive Part 1

We started out on the 17 Mile Drive south of Monterrey. The drive has a red line down the middle of the road so that you don’t stray into the decadent neighborhoods and stay on the main route.

I was hideously ill with an upper respiratory infection. But I tried to smile.

The Lone Cypress

Pebble Beach Golf Course

Carmel-By-The-Sea

Me at my dream home in Carmel.

The road traveled.

Car shot of the iconic Bixby bridge

This entry was posted in Personal, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to California Coastal Drive Part 1

  1. Carrie Rubin says:

    Beautiful photos. What an inspirational drive that appears to be. And yes, I’d have to agree that house is quite dreamy. 🙂

  2. Jenny says:

    How beautiful. I love the pic of the lone cypress. It gave me a great insert into a story I’m working on. Sorry you were sick but it still looks like you had a wonderful time. Thank you for sharing the pictures.

    • It’s a really lovely drive. So many stopping points and vistas. The cypress was really cool. Very famous too–my friend said you must take this picture. 🙂 Glad it helped with your story. Mind over matter. I refused to admit how sick I was until I was at the doctor. The only way to get through a roadtrip and conference when you’re ill. 🙂

  3. winsomebella says:

    I am doing that exact route in October– loved seeing a preview of what’s to come. Nice pics!

    • I’ll add some more pics next week. Didn’t want to overwhelm, but there were AMAZING shots all along the way. Hope you have a terrific time–there will probably be less seaweed then too. We had some massive kelp invasion going on in some pics. 🙂

  4. I did this road trip a few years ago and it is amazing. thank you for reminding me of the beauty and opulence and nature in this corner of the world.

  5. klynwurth says:

    Great pictures, and I believe you did succeed in smiling–all the more impressive because of the illness. My son lives in LA now, and I’m even more convinced that I need to go to CA to see him. I’ve only been in the state once, seven years ago on our honeymoon, in San Francisco.

    • Thanks. Aw, I tried. I kept pretending it was just a cold when I was er not really breathing all too well. 🙂 You must. It’s an amazing state so many climates and so much to do. That roadtrip is a must do. From LA to Napa is picturesque and fun. 🙂

  6. Elliot says:

    I see you did the Carmel drive. Lovely round there isn’t it? The coast route down through Monterrey and Big Sur is beautiful isn’t it. I’ve been lucky enough to do the Big Sur stretch a few times the last one after we camped in Big Sur for a few days. We abandoned a day early due to heavy rain. The trip through Big Sur in heavy rain was hairy to say the least. At some points we could barely see more than a few feet in front of the car.

    Great drive when it is not raining though. Did you stop off in Monterrey?

    • We did stop in Monterrey for a night. I figured I’d save that for its own blog post on the aquarium and Cannery Row. Trying to break up the trip posts into shorter snapshots of different places. 🙂 I loved the 17 Mile Drive from Monterrey to Carmel. Carmel is so beautiful too! I can’t imagine driving that narrow highway in torrential downpours, you must be a terrific driver. 🙂

  7. EllaDee says:

    Thanks for the great virtual roadtrip. I took the train from LA to San Fran a few years ago, and was amazed at how close the ocean was to it and the road. It’s an amazing coastline. I’d love to do the drive and visit the places along the way 🙂

    • I’ve always wanted to do the train though I hear it takes a bit of time. I was amazed by how close the tracks are to the ocean in Carpenteria. It’s the coolest coastline I’ve ever explored. We did the drive in 2 days. I wish we had more time to stop and bask in the beauty!

  8. What gorgeous, moody photos, Kourtney. I could almost smell that ocean air. 🙂

    • Thanks August! The weather was pretty eclectic that day. We had overcast, we had fog roll in, we had perfect blue skies, and we had partly cloudy with a chance of sun. It never rained at least! :0

  9. jmmcdowell says:

    Beautiful country. We’ve made that trip a couple of times and stayed at the Grand View Inn in Pacific Grove (next door to the Seven Gables), which might not be open now. They were owned by the same family. We would walk down to Cannery Row for dinner in the evenings. I’d go back!

    • I’m jealous! This is my first time making the whole trip. We stayed in Monterrey at the Intercontinental (saving that for a separate post). Cannery Row was an experience. Your lodgings sound lovely! Double jealous. 🙂

  10. Mmm. This is one of my alltime favorite places in the world to visit. We went here on our honeymoon. And yep. That’s about what I’d say is my dream house too!

  11. 4amWriter says:

    My hubs’ family lives in California, but we don’t get out to see them that much because it’s quite a long trip from NH with two children. That scenery is certainly gorgeous and it reminds me how much I do enjoy the west coast when I have made the trip in the past. You’ve given me a hankering to go back. 🙂

  12. Debra Kristi says:

    What a fabulous trip! And gorgeous pictures. Thanks for sharing. I especially love The Lone Cypress. Makes me want to take another drive along the coast sometime soon.

    • It really was. Despite only being away two weeks, I’m getting serious blog fodder out of the trip too. The Lone Cypress is pretty cool. We pulled off to photograph it. I love roadtrips. They are so fun and you get to see so much.

  13. zelmare says:

    What a lovely drive. i wonder if I’ll ever get to see any part of the USA, but if I don’t, I’ve seen some of it through my blog friends!!! :0

  14. We flew out, rented a Mustang convertible not long ago and drove this. It’s a gorgeous trip – everyone should do it at least once!
    Love the lone cypress and pix of the waves…reminds me we need to go back!

  15. It’s always such a pleasure to take a virtual trip along with you, be it to a conference or on a beautiful drive…thank you!

Leave a Reply

