Life Lessons from Manga and Anime

Some of my best life lessons came from Japanese manga and anime. During the worst of my back injury, I inhaled them. There’s not much to do when you can’t sit. Most avenues of time spending are cut off–no dining out, no going to the movies. So you learn to distract yourself with what remains.

For me, it was manga and anime. Some of the phrases forever imprinted on me. They became my rallying calls. Even now, I still invoke them.

“Live the life you want.”

“Hold on to your dreams, tomorrow knows where and when.”

“You are not alone.”

Powerful moments in beautiful stories that I treasured. Life lesson imparted not through personal experience, but by immersing myself in their story world.

Any great story quotes you absorbed into your life?

This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Life Lessons from Manga and Anime

  1. Samir says:

    Well… there are two quotes that I heard in my teens and have lived by – and said aloud on occasion, but they were from a movie. The irony is that is was a Steven Segal action movie and both quotes are from it! Go figure…!?

    Here they are:
    1. Assumption is the mother of all fuck ups.
    2. Chance favors the prepared mind.

  2. Manga and anime are very cool. Quite complex if the reader takes time to appreciate them. Cool quotes

  3. Carrie Rubin says:

    Of course, I can’t think of any phrases now, but I’m sure I will at 3 am tonight. 😉

  4. Elliot says:

    I’m not one for absorbing quotes, but I like the source of the lesson. They do some great and under appreciated works because there seems to be this impression that it is for teen geeks. I also like a lot of the Studio Ghibli works, which have some great stories, and a style of animation that I like.

  5. jmmcdowell says:

    Hmm, this is why I’d be terrible with interviews. Answering unexpected questions on the fly is not my strong suit. May the next commenter be more articulate! 🙂

  6. berry says:

    Serenity peace relax

  7. “Climb every mountain.” 🙂

  8. zelmare says:

    I’ve a few favourite quotes, but I find ‘living’ them to be quite difficult…

  9. chiquitar says:

    Did you watch any movies? Miyazaki’s version of Howl’s Moving Castle, a WONDERFUL book by Diana Wynne Jones, is full of great quotes and great stories. I love all the Studio Ghibli stuff.

    Nice to meetcha, by the way!

  10. EllaDee says:

    I thought I couldn’t think of any but I went to ttp://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/AFI’s_100_Years…100_Movie_Quotes it might and realised half my vocab is movie quotes…

    Two of my favourites “There’s no place like home.” & “I’ve got a feeling we’re not in Kansas anymore.” I sadly had to explain to the G.O. who Toto was 🙂

  11. berry says:

    You can never go home again. So true.

    You need to feel the bad to appreciate the good.

    Absence is to love
    As wind is to fire

    It extinguishes the small and kindles the great.

Leave a Reply

