Gobi Mongolian Grill

 

I’ve been jonesing for different foods that I used to have access to in NY. I don’t know why, but suddenly I can’t bear to eat Italian again.

Luckily S is a willing participant in my food experiments. This week it was Gobi Mongolian Grill.

I like the idea of selecting the ingredients and having the cook stir fry them up. It sounded fun. And it was.

The price is lovely. $17 for all you can eat salad bar, grill, and dessert.

The salad bar has every ingredient you could possible add to a salad and about 6 possible dressings. I went for the ginger one.

Two other bars are for the veggies and meats and noodles for grilling. The meats are frozen circles and take up a lot of plate space.

My advice? Start with the noodles and veggies and add the meats and sauce last. And even if you pile your plate high, it cooks up smaller, so don’t feel bad for heaping things on your plate.

You can also take a different approach and do small portions and sample different sauces and combination.

Either way, you bring your plate to the center of the restaurant to a giant circular slab of metal where it’s cooked before your eyes.

And do save room for dessert. There is a nice little make your own sundae bar. I opted for the green tea ice cream.

 

 

The service here was top notch. Even though it’s buffet style, our glasses of water were always refilled and our plates were quickly cleared. The servers were very helpful when we had questions. As we walked in they all greeted us and as we left they wished us a good night.

It was a lovely experience.

I’ll definitely be back again.

This entry was posted in Food and Cooking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Gobi Mongolian Grill

  1. Rhonda Lane says:

    Thanks for the review, Kourtney. I was wondering how that worked. Gobi’s in my town but I haven’t been because I’ve reduced my eating out to lose weight. Gobi looks like a place where I could follow the Paleo diet, which is what’s finally working for me. Thanks again.

    • I was too. Even when I checked out the website, I still wasn’t sure. 😉 I think any diet will work there because you are in complete control over what is on your plate. 🙂 Of course, I wanted to try everything my first time, but now I can go and stick to healthier choices.

  2. kford2007 says:

    We have a mongolian grill near us (not the same one) and the food is awesome! I love getting smaller portions and playing with the spices. My mongolian grill has ‘recipe’ cards you can pick with what to add and what spices and sauces to use. It’s great.

    • Oh that’s so cool! The one problem I had was not knowing how much sauce to include. Like Goldielocks my first dish had too much sauce, my second too little. I think the recipe cards would be super helpful when it comes to adding seasonings and sauces. 🙂

  3. You’re making me hungry!

  4. Carrie Rubin says:

    We had a Mongolian Grill near us, which we loved. It was a great way to pack in the veggies. Unfortunately, it changed owners, and now it’s just another buffet with so-so food. I miss the old one!

  5. We have something like that here – and I’ve been curious. I think the recipe cards sound invaluable – will have to ask for guidance ( prefer things spicy hot, but edible!)
    Thanks for the help

    • It’s fun. I had it back when I lived in DC circa 1998 and remembered it was tasty. Then I watched this new place opening up and thought, I have to find someone to go with me. 🙂 Yeah the spicy stuff is challenging. Recipe cards would definitely help!

  6. EllaDee says:

    Sounds fun and yummy. I hope Gobi Mongolian Grills come to Australia. I love DIY food, and although not an icecream fan, the exception is green tea icecream, which I enjoy. Great review 🙂

    • I really enjoyed it. The only downside is having to take your purse and coat with you each time you go up. I don’t like leaving anything at the table unattended. Fingers crossed for it to spread to Australia. Green tea is my favorite. Sigh one of the things I really miss about China–green tea blizzards at Dairy Queen. Thanks. It was a nice change from Italian.

  7. jmmcdowell says:

    Oh, there was a restaurant similar to that when I was in grad school, even though it wasn’t a chain. The cooking area was right there in the middle, and you watched your food being prepared. And it was good! (Hmm, for all I know, the owners went on to create a chain in New York!)

    But no more Italian? There are so many great regional variations—could you be serious about that? 😉

    • It’s so fun and fresh tasting.

      LOL. CT Italian gets old. We eat Italian 2x a week every week. Same places. Same meal choices. I like most Asian and European cuisines. But I need variety. 🙂

  8. Elliot says:

    I like a place where you can choose what to eat and watch it be cooked. Sounds like a nice place.

  9. Coleen Patrick says:

    Ok time to go eat something. What a yummy post. 🙂

    • Thanks Coleen. It was a nice change of pace. I liked deciding what I’d eat and what I wouldn’t. Having more chicken and less carrots if I felt like it. I like this kind of buffet a lot. 🙂

  10. zelmare says:

    Sounds delish. Wish I could go try it out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

