The Next Big Thing

Big thanks to Victoria of Victoria Writes and Pete Denton for deeming me worthy of The Next Big Thing tag!

In order to participate, I must answer some questions about my manuscript and pass it along to five other bloggers.

So here goes…

What is the title of your Work in Progress?

The Six Train to Wisconsin
Where did the idea come from for the book?
I was cleaning my toilet when the idea of how hard it must be to be married to a suicidal telepath popped into my head.
What genre does your book fall under?
Literary fiction with a commercial bent or fantasy with literary flare.
Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?
Two absolute unknowns to play the wife and the husband.

What is a one-sentence synopsis of the book?

To save her life and her sanity, Oliver brings his telepathic wife to the hometown he abandoned–an escape that threatens to reveal the secrets of his past.
Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?
Ask me again in April. ๐Ÿ™‚
How long did it take you to write the first draft of the manuscript?
I was working full time in NYC so drafting was in my spare time spread out over 1.5 years.
What other books would you compare this story to in your genre?
It’s in the vein of The Time Traveler’s Wife and Lovely Bones, a beautifully written book with a strong plot.
Who or what inspired you to write this book?
I wanted to write a love story that was real and messy.
What else about your book might pique the readerโ€™s interest?
Have you ever had a discussion that spiraled into an argument with the person you love because you were having completely separate conversations and not realizing it? A Publisher’s Weekly reviewer called it an “emotionally intense, candid exploration of devotion, forgiveness, and acceptance.”
***
I am now going to tag 5 bloggers. *Please don’t feel any pressure to participate.* But if you want to, I’d love to hear about your WIPs.
This entry was posted in Award, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to The Next Big Thing

  1. Cat Forsley says:

    YAY CONGRATS ๐Ÿ™‚ xoxoxoxoxoxooxoxoxoxoxxoxooxoxoxooxoxo
    Don’tstopbelieving …..Hashtag ๐Ÿ™‚ lol xoxoxoxoxoxooxoxoxxoxooxoxox
    Love you lots and Congrats xoxoxo
    C xo

    • Thanks Catherine! I really appreciate all your support. I’ve got this manuscript out to several small presses and am waiting to hear back. In the meantime, I’ll getting another manuscript ready for submission and also researching self publishing. I’m going to have my book out there someway someday. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Love
      Kourtney

  2. CC MacKenzie says:

    Great premise! Looking forward to reading it!

  3. Carrie Rubin says:

    Isn’t this the one you entered in the Amazon contest? Such an intriguing premise.

  4. Running from Hell with El says:

    Oooooh this sounds fantastic!! Love the hook and the concept! I look forward to reading it!

  5. klynwurth says:

    Wow, Kourtney, I’m intrigued with what you’re writing! Inspiration from cleaning the toilet. I may have to try that. Thanks for the nomination. I shall respond…

    • Thanks Kelly. I do some of my best thinking doing chores. On the treadmill, I came up with two more book ideas last week. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Happy to pass it along. Please post whenever you have time. No rush. Though I’d love to learn more about what your working on. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. 4amWriter says:

    I thought this sounded familiar until I remember having read your synopsis on the Amazon contest — right? Or am I telepathic, too? ๐Ÿ™‚

    Sounds wonderful and I can’t wait to read it *WHEN* it is published. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • LOL. It should. Yes indeed it is the same book. Though you may be developing telepathy as well. ๐Ÿ˜›

      Aw thanks. It’s out to several small presses. I’m researching self-pubbing as well and will go that route in the spring if none of the presses want it. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Impressive you are so concise with focused answers. (and yes, what is it about treadmills – the oxygen? I don’t know, but it works for me, too.)

    • Thanks. ๐Ÿ™‚ I aim for concise. So it’s good to know I hit the mark. I think it’s repetitive action too. There’s not much to do but focus on the music and let my brain wander. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Same with scrubbing a toilet bowl.

  8. jmmcdowell says:

    I have such a hard time reconciling those triple-digit rejections with that Publisher’s Weekly reviewer’s comment! And those are two intriguing books to offer as comparison.

    Whether you find a sensible agent and press or go indie, I will buy this book. It sounds great!

    Now, maybe I should go clean a bathroom and see if inspiration will follow…. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Thanks JM. I felt like I was going to have an aneurism in October when I realized how many nos I’d gotten. I clung to that review. I have trouble explaining the book because it has elements of several genre. But so do those books. I think sometimes a story refuses to color within the lines. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Cleaning the bathroom and working out seem to be the time when inspiration strikes me. I’ve fight the urge to jump of the treadmill and write a thought down. Mostly because I have such poor coordination, I’d probably twist and ankle or fly through a wall.

  9. So honored to be asked. And it helps because my blog-post-in-progress is giving me trouble. I’m going to do this first. Thanks!

    • LOL. I have those days too. Where I don’t know what to write about or I’m not ready to write about what’s percolating inside me. Happy to help out with a topic idea. Looking forward to hearing about your WIP. And planning to pick up a copy of your book. Carrie Rubin sang your writing praises and left me very intrigued. ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. EllaDee says:

    You must get this book published. I’m dying to read it. I laughed when I read your answer to the last question… we have this happen in our house from time to time, it’s amazing how 2 people who have known each other for so long and are so close can sometimes have completelty different ways of comprehending the same words…

    • Thanks EllaDee. I feel the same way. It’s out to small presses now. That’s 3-5 months before I hear anything. But I’m going to prepare to self publish in April. ๐Ÿ™‚ It happened to me so many times with my significant other and I’ve seen it happen to so many couples. It was a really big part of their relationship. Even with telepathy she is sometimes so caught up her emotions she’s not able to hear what he’s saying. ๐Ÿ™‚ And he’s so into his logic he doesn’t realize what she’s reading into his words. I love this couple. ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. Loving the sound of your story, very exciting!

  12. Pingback: Saved by “The Next Big Thing” « Audrey Kalman: Writing of Many Kinds

  13. berry says:

    Fun blog. Great info. Ypu always provide detailed info.

  14. Hi Kourtney,
    Your novel sounds really interesting. I wish you great success in your writing. Thank you for the tag. I will post a response to this, probably sometime over the holiday. Warm wishes for a happy holiday, and a bright and successful New Year.

  15. Pete Denton says:

    A belated thanks for posting on this and accepting my nominating you. I like the sound of this book and I did enjoy the exerpt on Amazon. I look forward to buying the full novel ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. Pingback: Market or Die 2: Book Review « Kourtney Heintz's Journal

Leave a Reply

