Market or Die: Book Review

marktdie

As someone planning to self-publish in the spring, I’ve been doing lots of research. Including marketing and brand building. Yes, I have this blog, Facebook, Twitter, and a website. Did I have a brand statement?

Uh no.

So I dove into Jennifer Fusco‘s Market or Die with gusto. I’d met Jennifer at the CTRWA and knew her to be a lovely southern lady with a tremendous talent for marketing.

Her book is a straight-talking, workshop-style experience. I felt like Jennifer was leaning over my shoulder helping me form my brand statement.

And let me tell you, I was dubious about coming up with one. I wasn’t sure I could. I’d been trying to for years. And never had any luck.  Then I answered the three questions she outlined in her book and a gem popped up in them. I’ve rebranded my blog, Twitter, and Facebook with it.

I was so excited by this success, that I bought the rest of the books in Market or Die series and plan to read them soon.

Thanks Jennifer for sharing your amazing branding experience!

As a side note, Jennifer has started up a author services called Market or Die too. I will definitely be considering using her services after I finish her books.

This entry was posted in Book Review, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Market or Die: Book Review

  1. Thank you, Kourtney. Marketing is really the most intimidating aspect of being an author. I look forward to hearing what you think and learn. Thanks for sharing.

    • Marketing is the scariest part of self publishing for me. I’m so glad I knew Jennifer and had her book on my Kindle. 🙂 She makes it a tad less scary. 🙂

      • It’s a whole bunch less scary now . . . comes down to building relationships, real ones, and having a good product . . . and a whole lotta courage. We’ll do fine!

        • Very true El. Courage is the thing I vacillate most on. I’m pretty sure I’ve got a good book. It’s been through enough iterations. I think I’ve made some amazing contacts and friends on the journey. So yeah, courage. I’m working on that part. 😉

  2. kathils says:

    As someone planning to release a book next month (ergh) I think I may need to look into this! Thanks for the tip.

  3. winsomebella says:

    Happy to add this to my list—thanks for the tip 🙂

  4. Carrie Rubin says:

    I’ll have to check it out. Thanks for introducing us to it. 🙂

  5. Thanks for the review, Kourtney. You are very kind. Please email me if you have any marketing questions in the future.

    • You’re very welcome. 🙂 It’s the honest to goodness truth. I spent years thinking how do I brand my books they are so different. And then I had a little faith and followed your instructions and bam came up with a brand statement. I really appreciate that. You’ll be the first person I email, Marketing Yoda. 🙂

  6. berry says:

    Good info

  7. I’m intrigued, Kourtney. Thanks! Off to check her books out… 😉

    Happy New Near!

  8. Um…Can you tell I have a cold? Glue brain, big time. YEAR, that was. *sigh* 😉

    • Ugh, sorry to hear your sick! I just autocorrected when I read and swore you typed year. 😉 Last night my cousin offered to stop by to help, but autocorrect put in elope. It was hilarious.

  9. jmmcdowell says:

    This looks like an excellent resource! And since my goal is to get one WIP in shape in 2013 and at least on its way to publication, I’d better get serious about the marketing, too. 😉

    • I gave myself a 6 month timeframe to get familiar with indie publishing and to let the small presses reject me. Right now I’m 2 months into the rejection waiting game. But I figure just plan to self-pub and move forward learning as much as I can. And I’ll have to market no matter what so that seems like the best place to start. 🙂

  10. 4amWriter says:

    This can be the most intimidating part of publishing a book. I’m glad you found someone whose advice seems like a good match for what you’re looking for. Good luck with everything, and looking forward to watching you journey toward the self-publishing goal!

    • Once you find a way to rationalize that your work is good enough to put out there, this is definitely the next biggest hurdle. 😉 I’m so glad I know Jen and had her books to go to. Thanks Kathryn! It’s really scary but I’m finding other writers are really helpful and willing to share their experiences in indie publishing.

  11. thanks for the review…I checked out the website and it looks great. I’m going to check the books first though.

  12. Excited to hear you’re going to self-publish, I can’t wait to read it!

    • Thanks Victoria. 🙂 It’s the book I had in the Amazon contest. It’s the most polished thing I’ve written and I think it’s the best thing I’ve written. So I’m going to let it out in the world and hope others enjoy it. 😉

  13. Jamie Dedes says:

    Thanks for this. 🙂

  14. So what would be a sample of the kind of advice given in the book, K? Is it really for ‘brand’ books – like young adult?

  15. She gives an overview of what branding is and how it applies specifically to an author. Your brand statement must be something that applies to all your books. For example, she mentions how Kristin Higgins’ brand statement is “Real Life, True Love, & Lots of Laughs.” From this statement you know what you are getting every time you pick up one of Kristin’s books. It’s an implicit promise to the reader that her romance novels will be contemporary and humorous.

Leave a Reply

