Getting Groomed–A Writer’s Afternoon of Prettying Up

IMG_1257

So this is me…after a trip to Mr. Joseph’s. There are no before images because I destroyed them. Kidding. Let’s just say the day-to-day look of this writer is not documented.

Except in laughs between my parents and me.

Because on most days, I’m in my pajamas at 4 p.m. Haven’t brushed my hair. And am likely sporting a scarf because when my neck gets cold it crinks up.

Leopard print slippers complete the ensemble.

But every 8 weeks, I go to Mr. Joseph’s in Southington.

And slips into stylist Pamela’s chair for some much needed fixing.

I get my hair highlighted and lowlighted and trimmed and styled. I swear she sprays pixie dust on me because I always leave feeling and looking better.

The wild and untamed Einstein eyebrows are trimmed and waxed. The village of chin hairs is removed.

And I feel like a pretty person again.

‘Course I’ll be working into the wee hours to catch up on all the stuff I didn’t do during my three hours of getting prettied up.

But I think it was worth it.

Do you notice how much better you feel after a trip to the salon? Do they have magic brushes? It is the luxury of letting someone else take care of you? Or the joy of ย spending time on yourself?

This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Getting Groomed–A Writer’s Afternoon of Prettying Up

  1. Cat Forsley says:

    UMMMMMMMMMMMM wow wow wow wow wow wow wow ………………! hello foxy K heart ……………………. Love the look ………………………….. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! C xx
    What a fun day you had huh ? Gonna have to check out Mr. Joseph ๐Ÿ™‚
    Just a BIG wow …………… You’re beautiful inside and out ………………:)
    Love love love ….. C xx

  2. kford2007 says:

    I had my first facial EVER back in October. I wanted to bring George home with me. I don’t think hubby would have been impressed. I love being pampered and spoiled like that. My spa gives me wine the whole time I’m there. It’s mahvelous, dahling.

    • Congrats–was that to celebrate your short story being published? A little well deserved pampering. LOL. I wish Pamela could do my hair everyday. But at least the style she gives me is easy to do–when I do my hair. ๐Ÿ˜‰ It’s easy to forget about ourselves when we are immersed in our characters. I’m guilty of ignoring my Groucho Marx eyebrows until it’s out of control. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. kford2007 says:

    Oh, and I meant to say, you look gorgeous (though I can relate to being in pj’s until 4 pm. nothing wrong with that.)

    • I make a concerted effort to be in some form of actual daywear by 5 pm so when dad gets home, I look mildly presentable. But sometimes, it’s a toss up between getting dressed and getting more edits done. The edits win 99% of the time. Thanks. My mom loved that picture so much she put it on her phone. She’s so cute.

  4. Carrie Rubin says:

    You know you don’t pay much attention to this kind of thing when your stylist very sweetly says, “Um, hasn’t it been a year since we’ve redone your highlights?” Thank goodness she reminds me of these things. I’m sure just once she’d love me to do something different than ‘just a trim’, but I’m afraid my straight hair and bangs are here to stay. I love my ponytail too much.

  5. I can’t stand other people doing things on me, or for me! I even cut my own hair! Saves me a lot of money as well – I like to spend it on other things!
    Suzy ๐Ÿ˜€

    • Wow. That’s interesting. I once attempted to cut my own bangs. Living with the aftermath of that experience taught me the importance of hiring experts. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Cutting your own hair well–that’s a terrific talent.

  6. Yatin says:

    Except for a regular hair cut I never visited a salon. The place where I get hair cut does other “fixing”, reading your I might get tempted to get a facial ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. jmmcdowell says:

    My stylist would probably faint if I ever asked her to do something different with my one-length long hair. ๐Ÿ˜‰ But I splurge on the professional color. The look I get from the salon isn’t possible at home. And I had my first facial in January. That was loverly. ๐Ÿ™‚ Luckily, my skin’s in good shape, and she said I could go quarterly between sessions. April’s already scheduled!

    You look great in that photo!

    • LOL. I usually go from short messy bob to shoulder length layers. Bangs to no bangs. It shifts every year or two. I have like 5 hairstyles I migrate between. Right now it’s longer than it’s been in years. Yes, the color is key. My hair is super fine, so I color it to give it extra volume. Oh facials are awesome. I used to do them twice a year when I worked in the city. Now er, once every year or two if I’m lucky. Aw thanks. My Iphone takes some good pics of me. I shot thirty for that one good one. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  8. EllaDee says:

    Fabulous photo… woo hoo ๐Ÿ™‚ You remind me that my hair needs some attention. It’s actually very similar in colour and fineness to yours but mostly straight although will scrunch into a bit of a wave. I’ve been avoiding the hairdresser as they cut a wider & wider fringe which I’m trying to recover, so my hair has gotten SO long. I’m very no frills and usually do as much as I can beauty-wise myself but it does make you feel so good to be well groomed ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Aw thanks! It’s easy to forget. Mine used to be very straight and then in my early 20s it started getting wavy. With a little curl cream and the right cut it curls nicely. Oh no. I hate when a hairdresser doesn’t do my hair right. Glad you were able to grow it back out. I love a little pampering but I’m not as cash rich as I once was so my hair is my one big splurge. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  9. You know, I’ve been thinking about this topic lately. For all I don’t miss of my previous fashion/acting career, I definitely miss having my hair, makeup and wardrobe taken care of. I don’t mind doing it all, but man, how nice would it be to have a salon take care of us before events?!?

    You look lovely, made up salon-style or not, Kourtney!

    • Oh my goodness yes. That would be lovely. I try to get my hair to be very easy to style on my own. But still it’s always flying out of place at the worst moments.

      Thank you August. Much better than how I look at conferences. If the choice is good hair or breakfast, I’m eating. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  10. 4amWriter says:

    You are boo-tee-full!! I always schedule my salon appointments for morning time so that I can enjoy the after-effects for the entire day! Once I had my hair done at 6:30pm, but I was in bed 3 hours later and it seemed like such a waste of great-feeling hair!

    • Aw thanks, Kathryn! LOL. I go at noon. Not a morning person so my day usually goes until 1 am. Oh that’s horrible just 3 hours of enjoying your salon beautiful hair. ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. Pete Denton says:

    Good for you. A bit of pampering does us the world of good. As I’m sure you can imagine, I spend hours on my hair every day. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Thanks. I think we have to do something indulgent for our selves occasionally. Whether its a massage, pedicure, facial, hair cut and style, etc. LOL. I wish I could rock your hairstyle. ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. Your hair is beauuutiful!! Look at you, a cover model!! Hope you are having a great weekend ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thanks Christy! My new stylist does amazing work. I have super fine hair and she gets that I want it to look full and curly and makes it a reality. Had a really hectic but fun weekend. ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. you look VERY pretty!

  14. Whoo-whoo. Glamour shot for sure.
    The problem with having a dog is that you have to get dressed to go out for that morning walk – especially since it’s light now. Leopard slippers sound heavenly.
    (my fine hair is a curse…looks great when my stylist does it – but I can’t seem to get it across that 2 days later all those layers looks like I got hit by a weedeater…growing it out again…really miss where I used to live and the guy who cut my hair did the best cut that held shape no matter what…I tend to be like Carrie)

    • Thanks! ๐Ÿ™‚
      Oh I solved that problem when he was a puppy. He’s wee-wee pad trained. He pees on the pads in the house whenever he needs to go. My parents and I clean them up. But I feel you–leaving the house quickly is tough. I am a big fan of hats. Oh I hate that. My current stylist is really good, but I had one before who couldn’t make me look good to save my life. I find that Moroccan Oil curl cream helps me have soft curls and a bit of volume. Ugh–growing out is such a pain in the butt. Then you are in excellent company! ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Molly is a rather large dog now, but she is trained to potty on command outside. But she still has so much energy she needs that long quick morning walk or drives us nuts…and tends to eat things – like baseboards. Hats rock! (must look for that Moroccan Oil)

        • Ah yes. My parents have golden retrievers. They can’t have them doing their business in the house. My dog is 22 lbs. Wow, that’s a really good dog to go on command. My parents have the same thing with the goldens–they are desperate for outside time. One of them, Rora loves to redecorate with her extra energy. She’s shredded the rug on the stairs and dozens of bedspreads. ๐Ÿ™‚ Yes, it’s great stuff. You can get it online to moroccanoil.com is the website. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

