The Difference Between In and Within

P1110344

This is what the inside of my head looks like lately. Leaping from task to task. In the midst of one, I get insight into another.

Saturday was spent typing in copy edits. From my proofreader and from me. Do you know the difference between “liquefy” and “liquify”? I do. And liquefy is the primary spelling according to Merriam’s.

“Within” and “in” caused me endless agony. “In” being a location, “within” being a limit. Which did I mean to imply? I rung my hands and worried. I changed it six times.

My beloved rhetorical device: asyndeton. Will readers think I just forgot the “and” in a series or will they get that the absence of conjunctions is to speed up the pacing?

Third and fourth guessing things. My brain whirled.

I needed to switch gears.

Emailed the promotional company for more quotes and samples for my promotional swag bag. Still undecided on the items. Have to get more numbers. Compare and contrast. Trim quantities and repeat.

Proofed all my revisions to the website copy and sent them to the web designer.

Contacted a book blogger requesting he review my book.

Did I forget to feed the dog? Yup. Luckily he barked at me at 3:24. Repeatedly–until I left my desk. 24 minutes after his normal lunch time.

Was I still in my pjs at 5 p.m.? Of course.

But it’s the difference between staying on top of everything and getting overwhelmed by it.

When I’m in the zone, knocking out tasks, there is nowhere else I want to be. As the brain mushifies, I hit the treadmill. The brain must take a break. So I can get back to Facebook and social media work in the evening.

I may be the toughest boss I’ve ever had. But I love every minute of working for me.

*****

As a thank you for all the Facebook likes, I’m running a giveaway for anyone who liked my Facebook Author Page. $10 Amazon Gift Card. You can enter this week by going to the Giveaway tab of my Facebook Page.

This entry was posted in Self-publishing, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to The Difference Between In and Within

  1. Lyra Selene says:

    It’s definitely a great feeling to be on top of tasking and spending the whole day accomplishing things! It can definitely be overwhelming sometimes, but it sounds like you’re kickin’ *ss and takin’ names! Keep up the good work.

    • I never feel more alive than when I am in the middle of a major project. I haven’t felt like this since I was laid off a few years ago. So useful and so able to get stuff done. ๐Ÿ™‚ I kinda thrive on work stress. It’s personal stress than pushes me over the limit. Thanks–will do!

  2. All very exciting, good luck with the edits!

    • Thanks! I finished them Sunday. Two days ahead of schedule. I love when I beat my own deadline. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Now I’m waiting on Createspace to deliver the final internal formatting mockup so I can approve it and upload all the stuff that goes inside the book. Switching to promotional stuff while I wait.

  3. Cat Forsley says:

    Most Invigorating K heart post ever – Knock em dead ……………..
    Exactly how i feel when i am in the zone ….. and yeah with the pj’s ๐Ÿ™‚ …………………… They Help You know ๐Ÿ™‚ Love xo C ………………
    Tres excited FOR you xx

  4. I so relate to this, Kourtney! Keep at itโ€”not that you or your boss need the reminder. ๐Ÿ˜‰ You’re amazing. And deserve breaks! (Not my strong suit either…)

    • LOL. I knew you would August! I finished the edits Sunday so I’m dialing it down a notch while I wait on Createspace to move forward. Switching to knocking out personal tasks and promotional stuff. And I learned so much by watching you. You really inspire me. ๐Ÿ™‚ I went to dinner last night and watched tv (while Facebooking). Today I have my Skype session with my crit partner. I try to force breaks or at least work out time into everyday. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. Carrie Rubin says:

    So much preparation to do, isn’t there? I felt overwhelmed before my book’s release, and I didn’t even have to do the technical stuff, so you must be extraordinarily busy. But you’re so thorough and dedicated, I bet everything will go off without a hitch. Best of luck!

    • I knew you’d understand. ๐Ÿ™‚ It reminds me of my full time job at busy season. Aw, thanks so much! I hope so. Plus, I’ve got awesome writer friends like you to remind me of anything I might let slip. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • Carrie Rubin says:

        I could really see you as setting up your own independent business helping others publish their books. You don’t do anything willy-nilly, and your research in the area is obvious. People would benefit from your knowledge and pay for your services. Like you have time for that right now… ๐Ÿ˜‰

        • I like that idea. I love being in charge. ๐Ÿ˜‰ And I spent a few years in consulting so I’m good at managing difficult clients. LOL. Only downside is it would take time away from my writing. But if it brought in some actual income it might be worth it!

          • Carrie Rubin says:

            Income is always good…

            By the way, I sent you a message on FB, but it went to the ‘other’ message category–whatever that is–so not sure if you’ll see it. I saw your friend request, but honestly, I don’t use my personal profile. I have a few family members on it, but that’s about it. I do everything from my author page unless it doesn’t allow it (for example, to enter your giveaway I ‘liked’ with my personal profile). So confusing this FB remains for me.

          • It is. Been way too long living off my savings. I got your message and wrote you back. Totally understand about the personal profile. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for entering. I always friend bloggers I recognize on their personal account. Totally fine to click ignore on my friend request. I used my personal profile for all my interactions over the past few years and just got going on the author page last month. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Pete Denton says:

    This is so exciting and a little daunting as I realised all the extra work required to launch your book into the world.

    But, remember. 24 minutes to you is like a LIFETIME to your dog! My cat made me type the last bit. He hyperventilates if we delay his meal times ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thanks. It’s so much to think and do. And I gave myself a 6 month period before the launch date. LOL. You would think so, but the little guy was actually asleep in my lap at my desk. He woke up at 3:23 and I said “Hey, did you eat?” (Sometimes mom feeds him for me). He started barking. And I got up and fed him. Usually he starts barking at me at 2:45 for his 3 pm feeding. Both of us were off our game that day. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  7. jmmcdowell says:

    If anyone can pull off all the juggling required to complete these tasks, my money’s on you! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m already impatiently awaiting June 1st’s Saturday Sitdown with you!

    All the professional work you are putting into the writing, editing, production, and marketing will shine from the cover to the final page of the book. I suspect readers will be enthusiastically recommending it to their friends and family. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thanks JM! I can’t wait for our Saturday sit-down! That’s my hope–to put out the most professional product that I can. And hope that it’s so good, no one really minds that it was indie published.:) Or at least they realize indies can be on par with a trad published book.

      • jmmcdowell says:

        You know, very few readers (other than writers, agents, editors, and publishers ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) pay attention to the publisher. All that matters is whether the book looks interesting enough to buy and then was worth the read. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. winsomebella says:

    You go, girl! ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. EllaDee says:

    As Confucius says โ€œChoose a job you love, and you will never have to work a day in your life.โ€ ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. 4amWriter says:

    Wow, I know days like that. Forgetting to feed the dog isn’t quite so bad as forgetting to feed children. Because they tell on you. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • LOL. Yes, that is definitely worse. ๐Ÿ™‚ In my defense, the dog also slept through his lunch time. He woke up in my lap and soon after commenced barking for food. He seemed mildly miffed that afternoon but recovered by the evening.

Leave a Reply

