Quarterly Check-In On New Year’s Resolutions

IMG_0088

I’m surprisingly pleased with my Q1 results regarding  my New Year’s Resolution Implementation Program. 🙂 Call it something serious and you take it more seriously–at least I do.

Here’s my quarterly update:

  1. Lose 35 lbs and keep it off.–Since last December, I lost a total of 10 lbs which I have kept off to date. 
  2. Exercise 4-5 days per week.–More like 3-4 days a week. Two days of cardio, two days of toning.
  3. Follow a low-carb eating regimen.–Hit and miss. But getting back on it again. It works, it’s just hard to limit sweets. They are my favorite reward.
  4. Self-publish my novel, The Six Train to Wisconsin.–60% done. Createspace is formatting interior, book cover is created, ebook is being formatted by me. Blog tour and book tour are being set up. Reviews are being requested. 
  5. Find a full-time job and move back to a major or minor city.–This got back-burnered while I work on #4.
  6. Submit my third manuscript to agents and publishers.–After I finished revising in January, I sent out to a few agents and editors from the SCBWI Summer Conference because they had a time limit on submissions. I’d like to get beta reader feedback before submitting to a wider range of agents. 
This entry was posted in Personal, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Quarterly Check-In On New Year’s Resolutions

  1. Carrie Rubin says:

    Congrats on doing so well sticking to your resolutions. Must be a great feeling. And you know I love the exercising part!

    • Thanks! I’m really proud of the ons I’ve done good with. My eating is my weak spot. I’m going to try tone more consistent there. I think 3-5 resolutions is my doable level. Anymore and things fall by the wayside. 😉

  2. Gwen says:

    Good for you for sticking with your resolutions. Those are some tough but attainable goals and you’re brave for posting the updates. I’m happy to beta read for you if you still have the need.

    • Thanks Gwen. Holding myself accountable is part pride, part shaming myself into doing things. 🙂 Thank you so much! I do need a beta reader for my new YA, but I won’t have time to reciprocate until June. Would you like to swap 30 pages of our WIPs and see if we are connecting with the work as a test run now? 🙂

      • Gwen says:

        I’m not working on a novel at the moment – at least I’m not writing the draft; I’m in the outlining stage. My WIP is a class I’m taking through the Institute of Children’s Literature, as well as the blog. Keeping up with this on top of work and home responsibilities is about as much as I can manage as far as writing. But I’m happy to be a reader if you need one. I don’t keep tabs. 😉

  3. You are doing so well. (remember the last 5 lbs are the hardest – don’t get discouraged)
    All you organized people make me feel like I should stop touring blogs and do something more productive….maybe later…
    No, seriously: YEA you

    • True. I’ve done it before. I was just sigh younger. Now it’s more dedication and commitment than in my 20s. But I’ll keep trying.

      It’s tough to manage online time. I have to be extremely time conscious or I’m reading blogs for 2-3 hours instead of working. 🙂

  4. winsomebella says:

    I’m impressed (and inspired :-)).

    • Thanks! 5 is way easier to stay on top of that 8-10. Previous years taught me that. I’m still succeeding more with some than others. But progress is progress. 🙂 and trying counts.

  5. Emmie Mears says:

    Looking great, Kourtney! Great work!

  6. Go Kourtney, Go! I am so impressed at your self-accountability! Looks like you are getting it all done! Looking forward to continuing to cheer you on 🙂

    • Thanks Anne! Public accountability seems to be the best way to keep myself on track with resolutions. Appreciate the cheering! Hope my next update is better on the weight loss goal. 🙂

  7. Sounds like you are moving forward at a great speed – way to go! 🙂

  8. jmmcdowell says:

    Congrats on doing so well with the resolutions! Watching the diet is the hardest part for me, too. I’ll do well for a stretch, and then I get derailed by some yummy dessert. If I’m not careful, I’ll follow up that one dessert with another the next night, and the next…. 😦 Why are the most delicious things the worst for us!

  9. Cat Forsley says:

    Full steam ahead 🙂 chooooo chooooooooo 🙂 ….xx

  10. 4amWriter says:

    Love your implementation program. I too love giving things fun names to things. I don’t know many people who really follow through on their goals, not to mention 6 goals! You’re doing great. 🙂

    • I really try to stick to my word. It’s a pet peeve of mine when people say things and never do them. So publicly announcing my goals is my way of ensuring I follow through on them. 🙂 Thanks! Everything is in different stages but at least I am circling back to them and making progress. 🙂

  11. Pete Denton says:

    Well done for having such great progress on your goals. I hope the next quarter is as fruitful 🙂

  12. Pingback: sweet retreat | elladee_images

  13. EllaDee says:

    You’ve done well. I agree, 3-5 resolutions is good – trying to do to much just makes me cranky. I’m excited about #4 and #6 🙂

  14. Pingback: sweet retreat « elladee

Leave a Reply

