Taylor Swift Concert–22 Hours in New York

IMG_1836

 

My friend Ant had to work, so I ate Empire Cake treats (chocolate chip cookies and mini red velvet cupcake) at his apartment and watched Wizards of Waverly Place. This is how I pre-game for a TS Concert.

We Path-trained it over to Newark and got to the Prudential Center at 6:53.

I have to apologize for the photo quality.

We had awesome seats, but the super bright lights made everyone on stage ghostly white.

 

IMG_1841

 

The Florida Georgia Line were the first opening act. They were great. I wasn’t super familiar with their music but it was infectiously fun.

IMG_1847

 

Ed Sheeran was next. I enjoy his music but he tended to extend every song by double its original play time.

And he had the audience so confused telling one section to sing the high melody and the other the low melody. They still loved him though.

My favorite part was when the mom of a a couple tweens started doing tai chi moves to his song. The kids kept grabbing her and trying to get her to sit down.

She refused to stop until his set ended.

IMG_1892

 

But Taylor. OMG she was amazing. Ant turned to me and said, “She’s one of the few artists who’s actually better in person.”

 

IMG_1947

 

Her show was an extravaganza!

 

IMG_1976

 

She even brought Ed Sheeran back out for a duet at the back of the concert venue.

She makes sure everyone has a good seat regardless of where they sit.

 

IMG_2107

 

She closed with a bang. Lots of fireworks and confetti. No encores so we wrapped up at 10:30.

The show was pretty on time. Ofc taking the Path at night meant we got back to Chelsea around 12 am.

Just in time for dinner at a diner.

The next AM, I broke up a catfight.

IMG_2133

And headed back to CT.

This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Taylor Swift Concert–22 Hours in New York

  1. Carrie Rubin says:

    My kids should consider themselves lucky. I would never do tai chi moves out in public in front of them…

  2. I love the way you take us on your adventures. 🙂 Sounds like this was a fun one, with tasty treats!

  3. Quite an event – her shows are supposed to be good.
    But the ending “dinner at the diner” (brings back some memories) and then back to earth: thud.
    Cats keep you down to earth.
    Delicious April 1st snack!

    • My dad got dragged to her last concert courtesy of yours truly and even though he was stuck next to tweens, he had a good time. He saw the Beatles as a kid and he said she put on one heck of a show. 🙂

      LOL. They also remind you how universal jealousy and turf wars are. Though I’ve never body slammed someone into a coffee table before like the orange tiger did to the poor white one. Both were fine (thank goodness) and the orange tiger got a time out in his room.

  4. jmmcdowell says:

    Sounds like you had a great time. Isn’t it fun to do things like this, even if reality intrudes the next morning in the form of a cat fight?! 🙂

    • I really love moments with the people I love doing stuff we love. 😉 I did get a hug goodbye from my friend in the morning too. So of course a cat fight was due to break out. 😉

  5. OMGGGG Ed Sheeran was there tooooo?!!! Ack I would have been flipping out – I just love his music! i feel like i was there with you – awesome 🙂

    • Yup. I love his duet with Taylor on her CD. And I really liked his CD. But OMG, the tweens were intense, they knew every word in his rap songs. I really like him too. Aw, I wish you could have been. 🙂

  6. So jealous! Desperate for the tour to come to the UK, love Taylor!

  7. Pete Denton says:

    Makes me want to go to a concert. I haven’t been for YEARS though have a ticket to see The Who later this year. I can’t wait now 🙂

  8. Looks like so much fun!!

  9. EllaDee says:

    I love seeing the evidence of your jaunts… the large and small detail. There’s something about the energy of a big (and good) concert that makes them stay in your mind tangibly… you can revisit them long after they’re past 🙂

    • Thanks EllaDee. My day to day life is a bit dull. But there are super fun moments I have to capture and share here. This was one of them. 😉 Every time I hear Taylor’s songs, I flash back to being with my best friend at the concert. The best memories! 🙂

  10. Ohhh! You’re so lucky. I like Taylor’s songs. 🙂
    Thanks for sharing! xxx

Leave a Reply

