Brenda Novak’s Charity Auction For The Cure

P1210838

Back in 2010, I needed agent and editor and published author feedback on an early version of The Six Train to Wisconsin. I stumbled across an ad in Writer’s Digest about Brenda Novak’s Online Auction For The Cure of Diabetes.

The proceeds of the auction go to a great cause–to find a cure for diabetes. It’s a cause close to Ms. Novak’s heart. Her son was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes at 5 years old.

The prizes are every writer’s dream. Lunch with a NYT Bestseller. Having a Big 6 editor critique your first 50 pages. Having an agent critique your pages and getting a follow up call with them.

For readers, there are signed copies, previews of new work, author interaction.

The online auctions will be going on throughout the month of May. But individual auctions have different opening and closing dates. Make sure you set up an account and get alerts so you don’t miss out on your dream items.

I think the feedback from this auction played a huge role in my being an Amazon Breakthrough Novelist Award Semifinalist last year.

She has thousands of items and experiences up for auction. Worth every penny. And those pennies go to such a great cause.

Check them out, you might just find something that propels your work to heights you never imagined.

http://www.brendanovakforthecure.org

This entry was posted in Auctions and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Brenda Novak’s Charity Auction For The Cure

  1. Gwen says:

    Great cause with lots of wonderful incentives! Every year we look for new charitable donations, and this one looks great.

    I see the Six Train is available! When can readers look forward to the paper copy?

    • It’s awesome. I’m so glad I bid and won a few auctions. It is. Just the ebook right now. I moved up the release date to coincide with my CT Style appearance. 😉 The paperback will be available from Amazon by 5/28. I’ll also be selling signed copies on my website starting 5/28.

      • Gwen says:

        OK thanks. I’m waiting for a paperback copy.

        • Completely understand. I prefer paperbacks too. PLus it’s cool to get a signed one. I just approved the Createspace version yesterday so it should be online in two weeks. Fingers crossed. I ordered some copies from Createspace and from BookBaby, so I’ll have some autographed ones to sell on my website too later in the month. 🙂

          • Gwen says:

            Yea! The whole thing is becoming so real. Can’t imagine the feeling. Soooo happy and excited for you. Happy weekend. xo

          • It’s weird when you’ve been planning for so long and just completing tasks and suddenly you have the book. The physical proof from Createspace came yesterday and I just sat with it in my lap touching it. I can’t believe I have a book. 🙂 Happy weekend! Hope you enjoy the great weather! 🙂

  2. jmmcdowell says:

    That sounds like a win-win event for everyone. When I get a manuscript clean enough for an agent/editor/published author to see, I will keep this in mind. Six Train is downloaded on my Kindle!

    • I learned so much from it. And I made friends with authors who critiqued me too.

      Aw thank you! I really hope you enjoy it. And I truly appreciate all of your support with the book launch. You’ve given so much of your time and energy and intelligence. You amaze me. I wanted to get it available for the tv appearance, but the official release date of the paperback is still end of May. There will be a cool contest for the book’s release starting in mid May too. 😉

  3. Sounds like some awesome prizes for a good cause!

  4. EllaDee says:

    The auction is certainly a great fund raising idea… I think the exchange is a great one. And, I hadn’t realised The Six Train to Wisconsin was availbale as an E-book but I have downloaded now 🙂

    • It’s amazing to see how it’s grown since 2010. 🙂 I wasn’t sure I’d make it, but I worked all last week and the past weekend to push up the ebook release to coincide with my CT Style appearance today. 🙂 My paperbacks won’t be out til later in the month but the ebooks are available. I’ll formally announce it on the blog on Monday. Aw thank you! I hope you enjoy it!

  5. 4amWriter says:

    Just learning that Six Train to Wisconsin is available!! Woo hoo! I’m off to download it. 🙂

    I really like the idea of the auction. I wish there more out there like it.

    • Yes, I was so busy trying to set up all the links on the blog and website before my tv appearance, I never officially announced it’s availability. Monday’s post will explain more. 😉 Auctions are cool. They usually are organized around an event. I know they did them after the Nashville floods and the earthquake in Japan. 😦 Sad stuff, but heartwarming how authors came together to raise money to try to help with the recovery.

  6. Pete Denton says:

    This definitely sounds like a win-win. Really good idea and raising money for charity at the same time. Good to hear it worked well for you and your book.

    Speaking of which, WooHoo! Congratulations on the e-book publication of your book. Speaking selfishly, I’m glad the e-book is first because that’s my choice of book buying these days. I’m off to Amazon 🙂

    • Pete, at the time I was desperate for industry feedback. And not just the first 5-10 pages. I won auctions where the first 50-100 pages were critiqued. It really helped me retool Six Train.

      Thanks! Yeah, I worked 14 hours days last week to get the ebook out a few weeks ahead of time! And then Createspace leapt into action and the paperback is up too. I’m still having my official release at the end of the month, but since I got media attention now, I wanted to make the book available ASAP. 😉

      Aw thanks! I hope you enjoy it! Love to hear a guy’s perspective on the husband.

  7. Danita Moon says:

    Thank you for helping us to spread the word about the auction and I’m glad to hear about your success with your book. This is going to be a record breaking year it’s the year that we break the $2 million mark.

    • Hi Danita! I’m so glad I won a few auctions in 2010. Learned sooo much! Thanks for stopping by and letting everyone know about this record breaking goal. Hope you blow through it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

