Wonderful Happenings in Kourtneyville

It’s been a mad crazy ride the past two weeks here in Kourtneyville. And I’ve loved every second of my life. A big thank you to my publicist, Jennifer Fusco of Market or Die Author Services–none of this amazing media stuff would have happened without you!

I had a full page feature in the local newspaper, Republican AmericanApril 22nd. That gave me a media burst!

IMG_2220

I appeared on CT Style May 2 with Teresa LaBarbera to talk about my book and my journey from Wall Street to Wolcott.

IMG_2277

I wanted to have the ebooks ready for the appearance, so the last week of April was 12 hours days of proofing and tweaking and perfecting with Rik Hall.

Newsday Long Island picked up the AP article about me “Author Turns Wall Street Layoff into Second Career“!

Createspace has been absolutely awesome too. I reverse my previous opinion of them. They got things to me faster than I expected and I had the physical proof in my hands on May 2. I held it and flipped through it. It was a quiet, almost religious moment. Then I approved the book for publication and order copies for my signings.

Big thank you to Createspace for helping me meet and beat my deadlines.

They estimated me a 5-7 business days for the book to be on sale on Amazon, and it was available the next day!!! AMAZING turnaround time on their part. They turned out a top notch interior and despite being a big company they were responsive to my needs and exceeded my expectations in meeting my crunch time deadlines! Go Createspace!

I also received my shipment of BookBaby books. I’m torn on which interior formatting I like better. BookBaby’s is simpler and more streamlined. Createspace is more artistic. I’m super pleased with how both versions turned out.

 

IMG_2284

You might have noticed the buy links for the books that appeared on the blog with no real fanfare. The fanfare is coming, I promise. 🙂 I’ll tell you more in Thursday’s post.

So mini-drumroll please…

The ebook is now available from Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and Smashwords. The ebook is the simpler version. Just the story. No bonus content.

*Big Wave* Thanks to Pete and Cha–my European friends for purchasing the ebook! And thanks to my terrific blog buddies in the U.S. for buying it too! I hope you enjoy it.

The paperback is available on Amazon and it comes with fun bonus content–photos I took of the places Kai and Oliver visit, a book club discussion guide, and the original short story I wrote in 2010 that became this novel. And it’s got fun fonts and glyphs.

I figure if you pay more, you should get more. 🙂

I haven’t been this busy or this happy in a very long time. Thanks for being a part of my journey! I wouldn’t be able to do any of this without all the bloggers and readers who’ve supported me and cheered me on. 10,000 thank yous!

This entry was posted in Promotion, Self-publishing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

54 Responses to Wonderful Happenings in Kourtneyville

  1. Marc Schuster says:

    Amazing! Congratulations on all you’ve accomplished… and are continuing to accomplish!

    • Thanks Marc! A year ago, I never thought any of this was possible. Heck, six months ago, it sounded like a daydream. I still can’t believe everything that’s happened. I’ve been incredibly lucky with the media. My publicist, Jennifer Fusco, wrote a top notch press release and we were so lucky it caught Tracey O’Shaughnessy’s eye. And that she wrote a terrific article. 🙂 It really takes a team of dedicated people, a ton of luck, and timing for things to come together like they have. 🙂

  2. Gwen says:

    It’s a great week in Kourtneyville! I’m super excited for you. But you deserve every bit of your success, because you put in the time and did things right. Good things really do come to those who wait! I just clicked on over to Amazon and ordered my paperback copy (thank you for the link!) Should have it in my hot little hands by Wednesday (thank you Amazon Prime)!

    Again, many, many, heartfelt congrats.

    • Aw thank you, Gwen. I am glad I didn’t rush the book out and keep working on it and working on it. The marketing plan was started in January. Laying the groundwork takes a while. Nothing has happened overnight for me, I swear. 😉
      Thank you so much! I can’t wait to hear what you think. It’s a lot different from my YA writing. 😉

      *Grinning from ear to ear* Thank you Gwen! All your support has meant so much to me. I would not be at this point without my blog buddies and my writing friends. You all believed in me when I didn’t and helped me every step of the way. 🙂

  3. Maxine Kleinsteiber says:

    Finished this morning! Didn’t want it to end. I would love The Six Train to Wisconsin, had the setting been any other community. Holy Moly, what would we do in this quiet special place if we did have such excitement?

    • Oh Maxine that’s awesome! 🙂 So happy you enjoyed it! I’m hoping to write a follow up at some point. The actual real world Butternut is such a lovely, wonderful place! But my fictional version of the town had to have more darkness to fit my story world. No real town should have to deal with that kind of excitement. ;P

  4. Congratulations on your success, just bought a copy for my Kindle after seeing it on JM McDowell’s blog and being intrigued by the title and the cover – look forward to reading it.

    • Thanks, Andrea! I love JM’s blog! She’s such a talented writer and supportive blog buddy! That’s what I was hoping the cover and title would do! Yay! So glad to hear that. Hope you enjoy it. 🙂

  5. Congrats on the new book, Kourtney and all the wonderful events of the past month or so. Well deserved! :0

  6. Carrie Rubin says:

    Enjoy your wave. You’ve earned it. And it’s nice of you to give others their due props. I know how helpful others can be. If it wasn’t for my wonderful blogging buddies, I wouldn’t have got the initial boost I did. It doesn’t happen in a vacuum, that’s for sure.

    • Thanks Carrie! My publicist said the same thing–we don’t really know why it started and we don’t know when it will end. Just that it will. Every good thing that has happened to me wouldn’t be possible without the terrific people helping me. Yes, I worked hard, but I couldn’t have done it without everyone else working hard and supporting me too. Blog buddies are the best–I made sure to include them in my acknowledgements. 🙂

  7. Pete Denton says:

    What a week you’ve had!

    Brilliant to get this ball rolling and long may it roll. 🙂

  8. Wonderful, indeed. Go, go, go!

    • Thanks Carol! I still can’t believe this is my life. Five months ago, it all seemed so impossible. I was just pulling together talent people to start this undertaking 🙂 From your lips to the universe’s ears. 🙂

  9. Woo hoo! Buying it TODAY! I can’t wait to read, review and support your fabulous book, Kourtney. (I can speak of its fabulousness, having read a portion already. :)) Huge congrats on your release and the wonderful opportunities you’ve attracted. It’s an exhilarating time, right? Spectacularly proud of and excited for you. GO YOU!!!

    • Aw thank you so much August! You know you taught me so much about blogging and social media. I would be a lone blogger with an audience of 5 without you. 🙂 *Blushing* Thank you! I still can believe how lucky I got with the press. It’s so scary and exciting and exhilarating. I don’t know how you did it all and never lost your cool during your launch! 🙂 Thank you for being such a wonderful and supportive blogging Yoda. 🙂

  10. jmmcdowell says:

    Yours is the type of story that shows how hard work and dedication WILL make dreams come true. Writing a book is hard. Writing one that will catch an audience’s eye is even harder. But you have done everything to make the dream become reality.

    It’s a long journey, and the progress may be slow at first. But your momentum is building, just like that snowball’s on the mountaintop. You may soon have an avalanche (of the best kind) on your hands! 🙂

    • Thanks JM! Great simile there. I truly hope I become an avalanche. 🙂 It took years to make the book a reality, months to lay out the marketing and promo stuff. Hopefully the next 6 months will see sales growing too. 🙂

  11. kathils says:

    Totally awesome and very inspiring. 🙂 Are you still flying high?

  12. klynwurth says:

    Kourtney, this is all so wonderful. I loved reading more about you in the Newsday article. This has been quite a path for you, hasn’t it? Someday we’ll have to chat, either on the phone or in person, about how health issues can change one’s life. Congratulations on your hard-won dawn of success. As always, you inspire.

    • Thanks Kelly! I’m so glad you’re here to share it with me. The reporter, Tracey did an AMAZING job. I can’t believe it got picked up by the AP too. It’s been a very long and cliff ridden path. Sometimes I didn’t see a way forward. Lots of stops and starts to get here. I would like that! It’s so weird. My back injury certainly rerouted my life. Now, I look back and I see all the ways it shaped me. Thank you, Kelly. 🙂

  13. Catherine Johnson says:

    Hooray! Congratulations, Kourtney. I can’t believe it’s out already.

  14. I just ordered the Nook Book, Kourtney! Can’t wait to get started. I’m so excited for you! Congratulations!

  15. YEA! Dreams can come true! (with a lot of work!) (insert more cheers and applause here)

  16. EllaDee says:

    Well done. To celebrate, I started reading it this morning. It jumped up my reading queue as I couldn’t wait. You are fantastically, wonderfully, incrediblly awesome, and so is The Six Train to Winsconsin 🙂

    • Thanks, EllaDee! Oh I love jumping the queue, it’s wrong, but it’s such a relief to move forward. 😉 Aw thank you thank you thank you. 🙂 Best compliment ever!

  17. Fantastic, Kourtney! Congratulations on everything . . . there’s nothing quite like front-page coverage! What great accomplishments!

    • Thanks Simon! It was a huge surprise. I lucked out that the reporter saw something in my press release and decided to do a feature on me. I still can’t believe this is all happening to me. It’s a wonderful exciting ride. 🙂

  18. Congrats, so exciting!

  19. jbw0123 says:

    Yeah! About time. A lot has happened in the last three weeks! Doesn’t sound like you need a blog post anymore, but let me know if you’d still like one. Congratulations!

    • Thanks! Certainly felt like it took forever to get here. 😉 It was a long drought before the deluge. I definitely need all the guest posts I can get. It takes a while for stuff to translate into actual sales so I plan to be promoting my butt of all summer. 🙂 I’ll email you to figure out what day works best. 🙂 Thanks!

  20. robbinsrealm says:

    Congratulations! I look forward to reading your book.

  21. Congrats, Kourtney! Wishing you all the best on your journey. 🙂

    • Aw thanks Coleen. It’s just starting *fingers crossed*. I’m so excited for your guest post on Monday. It’s all ready to go and will load at 7am. You have a spectacular journey underway too with your debut YA novel, Come Back to Me! Glad we can share our experiences. 🙂

  22. Cat Forsley says:

    awesomeness ………. You know how i feel about all this 🙂 x

  23. Whahoo! This is so exciting. Congratulations on your release and media appearances! I’m glad your experience with CS improved. The paperback looks lovely. 🙂 🙂 🙂

    • Thanks Elizabeth! It was a bit of a scramble to line things up, but I was lucky Createspace could accommodate me. 🙂 They really did a terrific job with the end product and I’m really happy with how it all turned out. Getting here was just a tad stressful. 😉

  24. Dear Kourtney, I rejoice for you! I intend to purchase the paper copy on Amazon, and look forward to reading it.

Leave a Reply

