June’s Blog Hop for Six Train

TheSixTraintoWisconsinCover_kindle_Final

So this month, I’ll be guest blogging and doing interviews 5-6 days a week. I’m going to post links, so please check out the guest posts. They are some of my best posts + there will be giveaways on some of the stops.

I’ll also keep you updated on the highlights from my publishing adventures on my blog.

Here’s a list of all the blogs I’ve visited to date: https://kourtneyheintz.wordpress.com/the-six-train-to-wisconsin-blog-tour-2013/

After each post goes live, I’ll provide the exact link on that page.

I’ll also be announcing upcoming posts in my biweekly posts.

Here’s where I’ll be this Mon to Wed:

6/3: 4am Writer Blog guest posting about the importance of being on your own side and believing in yourself and your work

6/4: Small Press Reviews Blog interview with Marc Schuster on being a Type A, why I write, how Amazon’s contest impacted my writing, and what’s next

6/5: Paranormal Lounge guest blog on Kayla Curry’s blog about how going where you don’t want to can enrich your writing
Giveaways

The fabulous JM McDowell had a terrific Saturday Sit Down with me on 6/1. She is running an ebook giveaway for Six Train that ends June 6th. Stop by and comment on our interview to enter.

Updates

IMG_2465

I had my first official book signing at John Bale Bookshop in Waterbury, CT. Mom worked the cashbox so I could chat with readers. It was awesome. I sold a dozen books in 2 hours. Biggest surprise? My fifth grade teacher, Mr. Anderson, showed up!

It was great to see familiar faces, to meet new readers, and chat about my book! Thank you to everyone who stopped by, picked up a bookmark, entered my raffle, and bought a book! Many thank yous to John Bale Bookshop, Krista, and all the amazing staff who helped me set up and fed me the best lunch I’ve had in CT.

I got to meet the head of the Silas Bronson Library in Waterbury too. He graciously invited me to do a book signing there this fall!

Best of all Mom and Dad were with me for the entire event. They’ve been supporting me for so long. I’m so glad they could be there to celebrate my  success!

Big thank you to K.L. Schwengel for a beautiful review of Six Train by a reader who got everything I was trying to do.

My Taylor Swift giveaway wrapped up  on 5/31 and Rich Weatherly won the tickets! Couldn’t have gone to a better person. 🙂

My next book signing is at the Meriden Humane Society during their Adopt A Pet Day on 6/8 in Meriden, CT. I will be donating a portion of the profits from the book sales to the Meriden Humane Society and raffling off a free ebook and author swag bag too. Stop by from 12-5 if you can!

And if you ever wanted to hear my voice, here’s me reading the first scene from The Six Train to Wisconsin.

This entry was posted in Giveaways, guest blogs, Promotion and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to June’s Blog Hop for Six Train

  1. Gwen says:

    Busy, busy, busy! Congrats — must be so exciting! Let me know if you’d still like me to be a part of the tour, and what day you’d like to squeeze it in! Life calms down here this week after school is released for the summer on Wednesday. Happy Monday! xo

    • Hi Gwen! It’s a tilt a whirl. 😉 Yes, I’d love that–how is 6/17 for you? We could a Q&A or guest post–whichever you prefer. 😉 Yay to life calming down. Have a great day! XO

      • Gwen says:

        6/17 would be great! Do you want to do a guest post? I’ve never featured one. We could also do a Q & A. I could throw my self-pub questions your way. You choose.

  2. kathils says:

    You’re most welcome, Kourtney. I can’t wait for your interview on the 11th. It’s going to be great fun. 🙂

    • Aw, Kathi, I had no idea you were devoting a post to a review–it was such a wonderful surprise! I’m excited for our interview too. I had a blast working on your questions. 🙂

  3. Another busy and exciting week for you – you make me realise how the hard work really doesn’t stop once you’re in print!

    • It’s funny, for so long I thought the journey was to get published. And that was a huge part of the journey, but it doesn’t stop. It just takes a new turn. Kind of like a video game, you win on one level and realize there is a whole other level that begins now. 🙂

  4. Carrie Rubin says:

    Busy, busy, busy. 🙂

  5. Lots of fun stuff, Kourtney! And I’m really happy for Rich—a suitable winner, for sure. 🙂

  6. Catherine Louise Gurganus says:

    Kourtney, it’s so wonderful and exciting to hear how everything is going for you. It’s something a pub’d-wanna-be like me loves to see, it gives me encouragement. I’m in the process of reading Six Train right now on my Kindle. I say process, because even though I usually wip through a good book in hours, this one is taking longer because I’m visiting with family and I have to grab minutes when I can to read. I’m loving it and thought I can’t wait to get to the end I don’t want it to end 🙂 .

    I’ve never done a professional book review before (I haven’t done a book review since elementary school!) but I think I would like to try my hand at one with Six Train once I’m done reading and have the time to work it out. I’ll let you know if it works out for me to do.

    • Thanks Catherine! I originally created the blog to chart my journey to publisher author, but I realized the next half of the journey is just as interesting and fun to share. Glad you find it encouraging,I hoped it would be. 🙂

      Wow that’s great to hear! Oh take your time and enjoy your family–that’s the most important thing. My book is happy to wait until you have free time. Aw, that is truly awesome to hear, that’s how I feel about my favorite books–wanting to get through it but not wanting it to end. I promise there will be a follow up book, but it isn’t drafted yet so it will be a few years. 🙂

      Wow, thank you! I appreciate you giving it a shot. Let me know if you are happy with how things turn out.I’d love to link to it if you post it. 🙂

  7. Kourtney, I am so impressed with your organization! Not only have you finished your book, but you have followed through with such professionalism. I wish you great success. I will be following these links to your interviews, and I do want to hear your voice and buy your book.

    • Hi Naomi! Thank you. It’s a lot of spreadsheets, calendars, and Post-its holding everything together. 🙂 When you’re indie, there is no big publisher behind you. It’s all on you to get the word out and to hope people hear you. Thank you! I appreciate you checking out the interviews. Hope you enjoy the reading–I shared it at my FB Online Party for all the people who couldn’t get to an author reading. Aw, I appreciate that! Love to hear what you think of it whenever you read it. 🙂

  8. I love this picture of you at the book signing. All of the books behind you, the red and white tablecloth, your display … and you. The setting is friendly and inviting. So glad you had a great day. And what a nice job reading the first scene. I haven’t been able to get back here, but I see I a missed a post about Grandma H. I’m off to check that out. 🙂 Have fun on your blog hop!

    • Thanks! That was the nicest bookstore ever. They gave me prime space right near the door so everyone had to pass by me to get lunch. 🙂 Mom wanted something to make the book stand out so we went with the red and white tablecloth would be friendly and picnicky. Such an awesome day! Oh, thank you! I thought it would be fun for anyone who wasn’t able to make an event. My friend Cat Forsley suggested creating the audio file of me reading. 🙂 Really enjoying the blog hop. Meeting so many awesome people–like you!

  9. Loved listening to your reading! Wonderful. I will order the book, and think it would be great to see you visit our local book store. The owner, was President of the American Book Sellers for years. He’s still huge in the independent book industry. It might be a wonderful stop for you, if you travel. If you do, you have a place to stay, if you’d like. You’ll have to trust that I’m just another writer, not a psycho. 😉 Congrats on all the exciting things coming your way!

    • Thanks! It was really neat to make an audio recording and share it. Thank you so much for ordering the book! What’s your local bookstore? Wow, he sounds like a terrific and important contact in the book selling world. I do travel, but I’m on a budget with the book launch. Wow, thank you so much! That’s such a generous offer. LOL. I can do that! Thank you so much! I look forward to hearing more about your writer journey too–just followed your blog. 🙂

      • Village Books, Bellingham, WA… owner and big wig: Chuck Robbinson. Tell him Dawn Landau sent you, if you decide to head west. 😉 Thanks for following my blog! Hope you’ll check out some of my posts and let me know what you think. Working on final edits of my first novel and 3/4 through my 2nd, a memoir of one year.

        • Thanks Dawn! I’ll add him to my venue list to contact. It might have to be next year that I swing the trip out to WA though. I’ve already booked trips to WI and TN for this year for book signings. 🙂 Happy to support a fellow writer and hear about you adventures. Will definitely be swinging by to read and comment. 🙂 Oh that is so exciting. Are you indie publishing or shopping it to agents? No wait, I’ll check out your blog and find out. 😉 Congrats on getting going on the second one too. So important to keep writing. Especially when you are putting a book out there. It kept my spirits up, knowing I had something else in my arsenal.

  10. Pete Denton says:

    Wow you are busy aren’t you?

    Great to meet one of your old teachers. That’s a nice touch from him 🙂

    • LOL. Feels like I haven’t stopped to catch my breath since the end of April. Tomorrow I’m going to rest a bit. 🙂

      I can’t believe he took the time to show up and buy my book. So touched. I was a nerd so my teachers were so special to me. So glad he could be there for my first signing. 🙂

  11. EllaDee says:

    It just gets better and better… The responses you have had and the support is heart warming. Yay for your Mom and Dad 🙂

  12. jmmcdowell says:

    You must be exhausted with all the work of publishing and promoting The Six Train, but it also has to be the best kind of tired. 🙂 And Kathils’ review was amazing. She could do them professionally!

    • I’m hitting that point. I love what I’m doing, but I’ve been going 7 days a weeks since mid April. Got myself a bad sinus infection. Started antibiotics today. Not taking a day off, but will take a bit of time in the next two days to rest more. 🙂 It always feels like there is more I should be doing. 😉

      OMG, Kathi’s review touched me! She summarized my book as good if not better than I could. 😉 She got all the things I hoped a reader would get. Totally turned my frown upside down. 😉

  13. I keep bumping into you! YEA!
    (oh, the picture here is striking: red check contrasted with black is great look …and of course the picture on the banner) (sinus infections are horrid this year for some reason – hope you feel better fast)

    • I know. I’m going to hopping around all of June. 🙂 Awesome. We wanted something to make the white book stand out. I always feel more confident in black (carry over from NY I suppose). I let this one drag out, hoping I’d fight it off. Instead it took me down something good. Hoping 24 hours on antibiotics will help me bounce back tonight. 😉

  14. Arlene says:

    Another book signing that I won’t be able to attend – so bummed. But if you keep having them, I will eventually make it 🙂 I love that you are donating profits to the Humane Society! That is awesome!!

    So sorry to hear about the sinus infection – get well quick! Sounds like you got so much more to do. It’s been great fun watching from the sidelines (for now 😉 and getting the chance to witness your successes! Great blog post over at 4amwriter by the way.

    • Aw that’s too bad. I have a couple more coming up: http://kourtneyheintz.com/news/
      I’ve tried to put together a mix of events that will appeal to all different people. I’m a dog lover so it just made sense to team up with the Meriden Humane Society (they are a no-kill shelter).

      That’s been a big pain. Hopefully a few days of medication and I’ll bounce back. Thanks. 🙂 It’s been fun to document this next phase of my journey. So different from the years of querying. Thanks–I wanted to do a guest post that fit the themes of her blog.

  15. Mayumi-H says:

    Hi, Kourtney! I’m slowly working my way (backward) through your shared journey. But, I had to take a moment to say how very cool it is that you are so open about the blessedness of having your family and friends with you, supporting you all the way. That is a quite rare thing, regardless of who we are or what we choose to do with our lives. It makes me happy for you! 😀

    • Hi Mayumi! Sometimes it’s more fun to know how things turned out and then go back and see all the almosts before this happened. 😉 It is. I’m blessed to have two super supportive parents. It’s cool when people are there for you while you’re struggling and then see it come together for you. It’s been quite a long time and I’m so surprised everyone stayed with me all this time and believed it was possible! 🙂

  16. 4amWriter says:

    For some strange reason I thought I’d already commented on this post, but ack! I didn’t. Everyone seemed to love the post you did on my blog, and I really am enjoying seeing you hop all over blogosphere. But you’re moving around so quickly I’m having trouble keeping track! 😉

    • LOL. That happens to me too. I’m so glad they liked it! I feel like I’m on a pogo stick hopping all over the place. LOL. I wanted to be everywhere in June to get the word out. 😉

Leave a Reply

