What’s Going on With Six Train

The Enfield Fair Author’s Tent was awesomely organized by Katy Lee. The signing table had a nice tablecloth. Each author’s book was displayed  in a stand and their bio was in a nice see-through placard. The books were organized in bins and the sales were processed with a card reader and a cash box.

Everything was set up to perfection!

Unfortunately, the weather refused to cooperate. It was 95 on Saturday with high high humidity.

I broke a sweat walking to the tent at 1 pm and never stopped sweating. Luckily, mom had frozen bottles of water, which I kept applying to my pulse points and under my shirt. It didn’t help much.

No one wanted to carry a book in that heat. Who could blame them?

Only a few people signed up for my giveaway. Several took bookmarks. And I sold 1 book in 3.5 hours.

I wasn’t able to sit with my sciatica so I stood most of the 3.5 hours with an occasional kneeling.

The upside was that I got to catch up with several fantastic authors. I’m talking about you Rebecca Rose, T.L. Costa, J Monkeys, PJ Sharon, and Katy Lee.

If I have to be roasting in hell, I’m glad I had you all there with me.

*****

I had a lively Q&A about alternating POV, my writing day, feedback, and my warrior lapdog with Susan of  My Withershins that posted on July 7th.

I guest posted on Cat Forsley’s blog about how Taoism influenced my personal philosophy and my writing on July 9th.

Today, I’m over on Coleen Patrick’s blog talking about how an introvert became a promoter.

*****

I just got a re-order for a dozen more signed books from the Novel Idea Bookshop in Park Falls, WI.

*****

June sales were pretty good. About 65% of my sales came from my events. I sold 100 books total in June.

*****

Right now, I’m preparing two talks for my time in Butternut. One is a nice meet and greet and the other is much longer and geared toward a local writing group, The Third Story Writers Guild, and  discussing My Path to Publication.

This entry was posted in author appearance, Promotion and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to What’s Going on With Six Train

  1. Stuart Young says:

    Well done Kourtney. When I launched mine last year I held a book launch party in my local country pub and invited family and friends to celebrate. Even though I gave each attendee a free copy I still sold another 50 copies on top – which paid for the party. I managed to get the local paper to write about the event too. 🙂

  2. Gwen says:

    So sorry to hear the local event was a bust for sales. Heat like that will encourage everyone to stay inside with the A/C cranked. Your numbers for June underscore the importance of marketing and self-promo. Looking forward hearing all about your visit to Butternut!

    • Both my outdoor events were bad sales. I’m calling a moratorium on outdoor events. They are just too unpredictable weatherwise. I’m still trying to figure out what motivates a person to buy my book. Some things just don’t seem to translate into sales. I’m looking forward to my visit to Butternut. It’s going to be a very busy week. 🙂

  3. Mae Clair says:

    The heat sounds miserable, but it also sounds like you made the most of it with some great writing peeps. Wishes for much success in Butternut and keep the Six Train rolling!

  4. Cat Forsley says:

    YAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAY
    onwards always K heart xxxx 🙂

    • Thanks Catherine. I’m going to keep on keeping on. It’s hard to be an indie author. Every sale is a victory. 🙂

      • Cat Forsley says:

        Hey xxxxxxxx Victory Victory Victory to You always xxxx
        same as being an indie singer right ? xxxx
        🙂 LOVE and have a beautiful day …..
        If You love what You do – which I KNOW you do 🙂
        its all an amazing Journey xxxxx
        xo C

        • Thanks Catherine! Have a lovely day. I do enjoy what I do. But money is always a looming concern. It’s been quite a journey so far.
          xooxoxox

          • Cat Forsley says:

            I know Your Journey has been amazing ………
            and continues to be ……………………………
            ………………………
            remember how much love you put into your book right 🙂 xxxx that’s what i do to remind me that what i do s really the essence of me xxxx
            It’s all really beautiful K Heart xxx
            always love xxx
            Cxx

          • Thanks Catherine. 🙂 Lots of ups and downs but worth it every day. 🙂 I do remember. It’s my legacy. Hopefully it will remain with people long after I’m gone.

            Aw thanks.

            Lots of love,
            Kourtney

  5. Carrie Rubin says:

    A book signing in the heat. Wow. That takes an already stressful event and makes it even more intense!

  6. klynwurth says:

    Again, you make me laugh. Sorry it was so hot, but I’m glad to know hell has the company of good writers. One never knows…

  7. Oh, the best laid plans of mice and writers. Once in a while it’s a mess – but you just never know. It does look like it was organized very nicely. This will have to be one of the “struggles of a newly published author” that is a lot more entertaining years down the road. Hang in there Kourtney! (Loved Cat’s post – will check out the others!)

    • Exactly. Katy did a phenomenal job organizing and running the tent. The weather just didn’t cooperate. I hope so. Doing my best. July sales have been a bit sluggish. Aw thank you! Cat picked the topic based on the feature the reporter wrote on me in May. It was fun to talk more on that topic. 🙂

  8. Arlene says:

    It was a HOT weekend – sounds like it wasn’t the best book selling event but at least you got the benefit of shooting the hot, sticky, humid breeze with other authors 🙂

    Nice guest blog over on Cat’s blog. Loved the insight into how Taoism influenced your writing and your character’s experience.

    • OMG, serious heatwave. I had a great time, minus the lackluster sales. Not only did I get to connect with cool authos, I got to become intimately acquainted with the bottle of frozen water nestled between my bosom. 😉

      Thanks! She picked the topic and it was a joy to write. 🙂 She knows me too well.

  9. EllaDee says:

    It’s so easy to be thrown off by the weather… sometimes I feel like such a princess… it’s too cold/hot/wet/foggy… I blame my airconditoned existence. You were a trooper in that heat where I would have wilted… sadly being the one to say “oh it’s too hot think even think about buying, let alone carryoing a book” 😉
    I’m off to look at your guest blog posts and interviews 🙂

    • I hate intense humid heat. I’d rather be freezing and shivering any day. LOL. We do live the life with temperature controlled homes. 🙂 Yeah, we had a good spot, nice traffic flow, great displays. All that I could blame was the heat and the cranky people. Thanks! Hope you enjoy them.

  10. Gemma Hawdon says:

    Sorry to hear that particular event didn’t go well, but we can’t do anything about the weather. 100 sales in June on the other hand is a great achievement, so well done! I’m sure you’ll learn more about what works and what doesn’t and, no doubt, I’ll be turning to you for advice!! Keep up the great work 🙂

    • It’s okay. I’m still feeling my way through author events. It’s a big learning curve. Aw thank you. It is a good number, it’s just much less than May. I’m new to this so I’m never sure what’s a harbinger of doom and just a normal happening. 😉 LOL. It’s incredibly hard to tell what is driving sales. But I’ll keep trying things and see what the results are. 🙂

  11. Mayumi-H says:

    Unfortunately, outdoor events are always unpredictable. Sounds like you’re making the right decision with the moratorium. Great that you managed to keep a positive outlook, though, and there were friendly folks with whom to share the day. 🙂

    • The last one was too sunny and windy. This one was miserably humid. It’s just too difficult to work around. And both had my lowest sales. It was an experience. Another opportunity to get my book in front of people. I did get 5 entries for my free ebook. Several people took bookmarks. Maybe there will be a few more online sales down the road from it. The other authors made the unbearable heat almost bearable. Some of them were there all day. Ugh. I don’t know how they did it.

  12. jmmcdowell says:

    The weather can ruin so many outdoor events. I know a hundred sales in June may not feel like many, but I suspect many indie (and traditional) writers are looking way up to see those numbers.

    But I’m going to focus on saying congratulations on the bookstore requesting more copies of The Six Train! That could very well be the beginnings of a new regional audience. 🙂

    • So true. And it’s so fickle. I guess it’s relative. I thought I’d see an increase in sales each month. But June was alot less than May. That scared me.LOL. You’re probably right. It’s so hard to judge if I’m doing well, so-so or abysmally.

      That was pretty cool! There are 5 million people in Wisconsin. If I could get an audience there I would be thrilled. 🙂

  13. Sorry to hear that sales weren’t better. But it was still part of the published author experience. And it sounds like you were able to enjoy it for that. Great that you could share the time with other authors.

    • Some events are roaring successes and some are just a trickle of positivity. Yup, more experience selling the book is always a good thing! I definitely enjoyed hanging with other writers and seeing how they market their books. And catching up on their lives. 🙂

  14. Pete Denton says:

    Sorry about the event. Having to stand for that length of time in the heat. Good sales for June. Hope July continues 🙂

    • Thanks Pete! It was a challenge. And left me quite heat intolerant for the rest of the summer. 😉 Thanks. I’m never quite sure what are good or bad numbers for an indie published author. Anything in the triple digits sounds good to me though. 😉

  15. What a bummer Kourtney! The set up looks beautiful… but what a disappointment, after all of the hard work. Keep trucking! You know it’s the only way… and you clearly have the chutzpah! 😉

    • Katy did a fantastic job organizing and setting up the tent. If it had been cooler, I think we’d have done much better. Thanks. Aw, I try. Some days I have more chutzpah than others. 🙂

Leave a Reply

