The Six Train to Wisconsin Book Trailer

Drumroll please…

So this has been one of the projects occupying my time in September.

The book trailer for Six Train!

It’s something I’ve wanted to do for a while but never found the time to work on.

Thank goodness for Frank Malice. He executed my vision and helped me go from idea to actual video. So glad I met his mom at Killer Nashville and she introduced us!

It took us about a month to put the whole thing together. We used all my personal photos and I wrote the lines for the video. I found the music at Audiomicro and paid for it. The song just felt perfect for Kai and Oliver.

Frank did all the video stuff. I have no idea what that entailed, but he did it really well.

If anyone is in need of someone to do their book trailer, I definitely recommend him.

We had an initial Skype session to discuss big picture concepts and what I wanted in the video and what he would need from me to make it all happen. His fee was quite reasonable–it really depends on the type of video you want.ย He stayed in touch, met deadlines, and made sure I was as involved as I wanted to be in the decision-making.

 

This entry was posted in Promotion and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

52 Responses to The Six Train to Wisconsin Book Trailer

  1. Gwen Stephens says:

    Wow – fantastic! I love the simplicity of it. Really well done.

  2. Sandra Tansley says:

    Where Can,We Find it

  3. Carrie Rubin says:

    Great trailer! I never put one together, but I’m always impressed by the ones I’ve seen. Smart to use all your own photos.

    • Thanks! It was one of those things I wanted to do, but didn’t have time to do in the beginning. Trying to keep costs down and keep it personal so it made sense to use my own pics. My eyes were killing me from scrolling through all my photos in search of the right images to evoke the emotion of each screen. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Mae Clair says:

    Stunning! I love the sense of emotions it invokes. Everything about it is perfect. Love the script!!

  5. Great job! I loved the music, too… Perfect selection to go with the words.

    • Thanks. We looked at free music, but nothing hit the right note. Then I was looking into melancholy music on Audiomicro and stumbled on this one. Frank agreed that it was the right song for what we wanted to do so I bought it.

  6. jmmcdowell says:

    That is so cool! The music really fits the mood of the story, and I like the simplicity of the trailer. I think you hit upon the right one!

    • Thank you JM! ๐Ÿ™‚ I really wanted something that captured the emotions, was inexpensive to make, and quick to watch. I have limited patience with videos and I hate when I click on one and it’s 5+ minutes. Yay! Thank you!

  7. Great job, Kourtney! It really came out well. How did you get such illustrious reviews for your book? Kudos! Some really great writers. It all looks so professional. Nicely done!

    • Thanks! I paid a lot of money to get a Kirkus Review. I submitted to Publishers Weekly and was lucky enough to be selected for a review. Paige and Jennie are two amazing authors I’ve built friendships with over the years. I was so so happy they were both willing to blurb the book for me. Frank made it all flow and look like that. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Gemma Hawdon says:

    Lovely evocative mood created here, Kourtney. The photos and music work beautifully together x

  9. It’s so good! The music is kind of haunting and adds a great atmosphere to it.

  10. Nicely done, Kourtney! You and Frank did an excellent job. And the reviews…very nice!

  11. Sheila says:

    I love the sad, suspenseful mood that’s created with the music and the way the photos move. It’s great that you were able to make your book sound so intriguing with just a few words. It must be so exciting to have a book trailer out there – congratulations! I haven’t been able to read your book yet but it just moved way up on that to-read list.

  12. 4amWriter says:

    I love that you used your own photos. I agree with Vanessa–the music is very haunting. Love the trailer.

    • Thanks. I wanted to make sure it had the personal nature that only photos of the places could provide. The music was a very lucky discovery. I had to listen to hours of music to find that gem. ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. kathils says:

    Awesome trailer, Kourtney.

  14. Lori D says:

    Very cool, Kourtney. I’m going to send this out to some friends. Great job.

  15. Fabulous! The music and images are perfect! I haven’t seen many text-only trailers that I love, but yours completely rocks. (Or maybe I mentioned that. ;)) Congrats, Kourtney!

    • Thanks August! That is really high praise coming from you! You always do everything top notch! ๐Ÿ™‚ I really want my readers to imagine my characters without me putting images of them out there. I know it’s not as popular but it felt really right for this book to focus on the setting and the emotion. Aw thank you!

  16. Arlene says:

    I have to agree with everyone’s comments. The photos were perfect and the music set such the right mood. It was emotional, sad, haunting (as some already said) almost eerie – like you know something is about to happen any second … but you have to read the book to find out what. It’s perfect! If I hadn’t already read your amazing book, I’d move it right to the top of the list. Great job! And good luck, I hope it leads to more readers.

    • Thanks so much Arlene! Yay! That was exactly how I wanted it to come across. ๐Ÿ™‚ I hope enough readers see it. I’ve put it in every profile online. Time will tell I guess. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  17. Great trailer – the phrases you’ve used really capture the book while also giving it a great hook and in such economy of words.

  18. It’s really good, Kourtney!!
    It even makes me want to read the book again, so GREAT JOB! ๐Ÿ˜€

  19. EllaDee says:

    The trailer is just fantastic but I’m not surprised… everything you turn your mind and hand to, you do 100% ๐Ÿ™‚

  20. Pingback: Book Trailer Needed! | The Claire Violet Thorpe Express

  21. Pete Denton says:

    That does look really good. You must be so pleased. Music works too. ๐Ÿ™‚

  22. Pingback: The unexpected year | Harvesting Hecate

Leave a Reply

