Toronto in Pictures

IMG_0160

The view from my friend Lily’s living room–that’s Lake Ontario.

IMG_4061

Hockey Hall of Fame on Front Street. On route to TD Bank to get Canadian Dollars.

IMG_4067

The tastiest and most expensive cheeseburger at Bottom Line. Every topping was extra but they didn’t mention that until the bill came.

IMG_4072

Hart House was the most beautiful building on the University of Toronto campus. Made me wish I was going for a PhD just so I could hang out there.

IMG_4085

Dinner at a great Japanese place off Yonge Street with my old RBC buddies.

IMG_4107

CN tower and RBC building on Front St enroute to subway.

IMG_4112

Toronto’s subway–pretty easy to navigate. If I’d had a map. ย This was the afternoon I subwayed all over the city. I walked into two museums and walked right out because they were filled with screaming kids and/or crowded and hot. I won’t spend $25 to be miserable.

IMG_4132

Hart House was majestic. Made me long for my Georgetown days.

IMG_4184

Lake Ontario is stunning in the afternoon.

IMG_4210

Boardwalk by Lake Ontario was well blinding at 5 pm.

IMG_4242

Ginormous reuben sandwich and poutine.

IMG_4253

Forever Bicycles exhibit

IMG_0202

Photo by Lily Hum

Dimsum Shrimp shumai

IMG_0201

Photo by Lily Hum

Dimsum steamed pork buns

IMG_4263

Yonge Street at night

This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to Toronto in Pictures

  1. Gwen Stephens says:

    Gorgeous photos! I can’t believe the looks of the subway — is it as clean as it appears? Our subway here in Chicago is filthy and smells like you-know-what.

  2. Looks fab! Gorgeous blue sky, and all that yummy looking food is making me sooooo hungry. I’ve never been to Canada, well, apart from changing planes in Toronto once, but I didn’t leave the airport so I don’t think that really counts!

    • It was a really lovely city to visit. Snuck in a little sightseeing. The food was very tasty. LOL. I have to agree–airports aren’t really where you get a feel for a city. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. davidprosser says:

    Great pictures Kourtney.
    xxx Huge Hugs xxx

  4. Pete Denton says:

    Great photos. I always tend to focus on the food (why not!) but they all make me hungry ๐Ÿ™‚

    And, any lake view gets my vote ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Great photos, Kourtney! I love the Forever Bicycles exhibit. Did you get any background information on it?

  6. Aww thank you for sharing this, took me back Kourtney, 13 years when my hubby and I did the grand tour of Canada Coast to coast, staying in Toronto.for some of that time, Doing all the Touristy things, like going up the CN Tower and China Town along with travelling on the metro etc… Brought back some lovely memories and the Food was delicious .. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Thanks for sharing these pics, Kourtney. I love how you always take food pictures!! Ahaha I do too. When I go to the restaurant or when I eat something very good or special.
    ๐Ÿ™‚ I so wanna visit Toronto!!!
    xx

    • LOL. Half the fun of traveling is getting to eat new things. Exactly, if it’s a unique experience I photograph it. Notice the eggs and toast I made for breakfast were not photographed. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Definitely add it to your North America stops. ๐Ÿ™‚

      xo

  8. Arlene says:

    The food looks amazing! The architecture – beautiful, the subway- clean, the water – brilliant. But the view from your friend’s living room? Now that is a view I could get used to. Looks like a great trip Kourtney!

    • Arlene, I was so so lucky my friend could put me up, it was so much less stressful than a hotel. And so much cheaper. I got to enjoy Toronto. I’d definitely go back. Though I’d try to fly into the smaller airport next time. OMG, her view was amazing. I couldn’t get enough of it.

  9. Carrie Rubin says:

    It’s been 25 years since I’ve been to Toronto. I’d love to go back there. Might be a thought for a spring break trip. Great pics!

  10. Elle says:

    I’m not sure which pictures I like best… The food or the lake ๐Ÿ™‚

    Looks like you had a great time…what an awesome way to wrap up the tour!

    • It’s so hard to choose. I loved my friend’s apartment best. It was gorgeous! Though if I had to choose between the food and the lake…hmm…well I suppose on a full stomach the lake wins. ๐Ÿ˜‰
      Seriously, Hart House was so welcoming and totally reinvigorated me. Sometimes you save the best for last.

  11. jmmcdowell says:

    It looks like you had a beautiful day in a beautiful city! I won’t say the DC Metro is a bad as Chicago, but it doesn’t look as nice as this one. We’ll see what happens when the new trains begin to arriveโ€”supposedly next year, I think. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Hope you’re enjoying a bit of a break before diving into new writing!

    • JM, I remember back in 1995 when the DC subways were really nice. Sigh. Hope that new train does well. I’m trying to wrap up promo stuff and get some stuff tidied up in my life before I dive into writing again. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m speaking at my high school for career day on Friday so I’m trying to prepare a fun and interesting and appropriate talk. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  12. Ooooo, ahhhh. Such nice views! Hart House is beautiful – isn’t it interesting how architecture can encourage people to choose places?

  13. Tuan Ho says:

    Look at all that food!!! I’m very jealous! ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. This all looks fantastic, and now I’m hungry!

  15. Mayumi-H says:

    I always really enjoy seeing the way a real writer lives when she’s not stuck behind a typewriter or laptop. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Great pictures, Kourtney! I haven’t been to Toronto since my high school days, but this is giving me a hankering to go back. That sushi looks scrumptious!

    • LOl. Thanks Mayumi. I try to get around and see places. Each tour stop is part work, part fun. Try to get every cent worth. ๐Ÿ™‚ The sushi was really good, but for one white fish that turned slimey in my mouth.

  16. Kourtney – if only I’d known! Are you coming back soon?

  17. Great views and great looking food!

  18. Sheila says:

    I used to live in Michigan so I love those lakes too. The last time I was in Toronto I was a Brownie of all things. Your photos make me want to go back there!

    • Wow Michigan. Cool. Never been but I’d love to visit. LOL. I was 22 last time I was in Toronto. It was and remains a pretty city. Had a blast at U of T. Wish I could have stayed longer. ๐Ÿ™‚

  19. 4amWriter says:

    I have never been to Toronto, but it is a place I’d love to visit. Looks like a fab time!

  20. EllaDee says:

    I feel like I’ve been to Toronto ๐Ÿ™‚ You convey so much in so few pictures. The food shots of course are my favourite. The Japanese looks fresh and delicious. What was in the standard Bottom Line cheeseburger? Just cheese? ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Aw yay! I love trying to capture the highlights in photos. Mine too. What you eat can really define the place for me. It was just a burger and fries for 16$. Each topping was 1.50$ extra. Cheese, bacon, avocado. It all added up fast.

Leave a Reply

