Shop Small–Support Indie Authors

IMG_1042

I’ve been reading EllaDee’s posts on shopping locally and it got my mind churning. Then last Saturday was the shop small initiative where you go to local small businesses in your community and show your support by shopping there.

A lightbulb flared in my mind. It would be great to extend it to your favorite indie authors, who are all running small businesses.

I work out of my parent’s dining room, where I keep copies of my book and all the shipping stuff, and my bedroom, where I have a postal scale, my laptop and printer to create stamps for shipping.

When you buy directly from me, I earn the best royalties too. So you are making sure more money goes to the author.

From now until December 21st, I will gift wrap each signed copy of Six Train and include a holiday card with your personalized message to the recipient. You can place an order with me by following these instructionsย for Paypal. If you don’t use Paypal, email me at kourtney(dot)heintz(at)yahoo.com and we can work out a payment method.

If you have a favorite indie author, please check out their website and consider gifting a signed copy of their book to friends or family too.

If you are an indie author selling personalized copies of your book, please leave the title, a one sentence summary of your book, and the ordering info in the comments and I will add it to this post so people will know what authors are hand selling signed paperbacks this holiday season.

This entry was posted in Promotion and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Shop Small–Support Indie Authors

  1. davidprosser says:

    What a wonderful and generous idea Kourtney.
    xxx Hugs Galore xxx

  2. Carrie Rubin says:

    Really great idea. I love how you think outside the box. Did you hear about those best-selling authors who worked the day in an Indie bookstore to help boost exposure? I thought that was really cool.

  3. EllaDee says:

    Well done ๐Ÿ™‚ Oh, and anything that means someone else wraps the gift is a winner for me, I have zero skills there.

  4. What a great idea! I am adding it to my “Kourtney file” of great marketing ideas to steal… Sadly, I don’t have any books to promote this holiday season. The “Fault Zone” anthology I edited is being sold by the publisher, Sand Hill Review Press and my novel is undergoing a redesign.Next year!

    • LOL. You have a Kourtney file? I’m blushing. Ah well, yes, let’s do it next year. I’ll try and plan ahead and be more organized too so we can showcase indie author talent. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • I feel honored that I “knew you when” and also impressed with your success. I’m not above copying what works–why reinvent?

        • Aw thanks Audrey. You helped me so much to get here. ๐Ÿ™‚ Remember when I had no idea what CreateSpace was? LOL. Neither am I. No need to reinvent the wheel. I see what other authors do and try it out too. Sometimes it’s not right for this book, but I heard someone say the first year of promoting you really don’t know what you’re doing. LOL. That takes the pressure off.

  5. Very thoughtful of you Kourtney, another great example to us all of working to promote fellow authors.

  6. jmmcdowell says:

    This is such a great idea, Kourtney! I love the idea of buying local and helping out smaller businesses. It simply makes sense to extend that to book buying! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. 4amWriter says:

    Wonderful idea. I recently made a purchase through Etsy, and I was so surprised to receive my item hand-wrapped in tissue paper and decorated with fun stickers and tied with a bow! Normally you have to purchase the gift wrapping, but this was simply included as part of the purchase. It was a nice personalized touch that stuck with me so much that I would recommend the seller to friends. I think your idea with books is terrific.

    • It’s those little things that can mean so much. I would have loved to receive that Etsy purchase. I thought for the holidays, I’d offer free gift wrapping and gift cards. If it proves popular, I may extend it. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks. I’m always trying to find new ways to sell books.

  8. Sheila says:

    I’m reading your book now and I love it! I’m at the Thanksgiving part so it’s funny to be reading it during the same time of year. It’s a perfect holiday gift!

  9. Pete Denton says:

    Great idea. Happy holidays ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

